We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hard place to leave”

The Lazy Turtle Restaurante & Hotelito
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Las Penitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a hard place to leave”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I went to stay in Las Penitas for a few days and ended up staying for 2 weeks. Very lucky that Ryan and Val had room for the whole time. After traveling through Costa Rica and much of Nicaragua I fell in love with the vibe of the place. The food is great and never once was I disappointed. This place gets two thumbs up for me and the only bad thing about everyone knowing how great it is, is that there may not be room for me when I come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NUGGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sierra City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You've got to stop here....”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great time with Ryan and Val while staying in nearby Poneloya. We swung on over nearly every day for some fine food, drinks and conversation. I totally agree that the Canadian burger was one of the most welcome sights in our 18 day stay in Nicaragua. Real cheese, bacon, great beef....who does that in Nica? Delicious. Val was also very helpful in getting us hooked up with a great tour guide of the nearby estuary which was awesome! If you're in the Las Penitas area, or even Leon for that matter, do yourself a favor and swing by the Lazy turtle and meet some wonderful open hearted people. If you're lucky enough to be there at the right time, a sweet lady brings by homemade cookies and candies every so often for 10 cords a bag that are delicious. Oh and say hi to that sweet girl Lupe with the beautiful smile and buy a necklace or two from her! Fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing owners! ”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Came here trying to nurse a hangover and the post-birthday/solo traveller/homesick blues...

Ended up spending the day eating a great burger (The Canadian-with real maple bacon and cheddar with a homemade BBQ sauce) and delicious potato salad and having a variety of mixed drinks.

Lazed around having nice conversations with the owners Val and Ryan all day in an absolutely beautiful atmosphere right on the water.

If you're in town, you must stop here-you know, if you like healthy/delicious food and having a good time with great people in a beautiful environment and stuff.

Helpful?
Thank JackieVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Canadian Burger is one of the best burgers we have had!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Everything we ordered here was delicious. It was great to meet canadian owners from the same area as us and they were very welcoming and accomodating. Mexican food was incredibly tasty, make sure to say how spicy you like it, they know how to make it hot! And the Canadian burger was perfect for my husband- served with potato salad which was a neat change from same old fries. We loved it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“dinner”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

went here for dinner. for me it wasn't the best (probably my taste) but my friends liked it. Very very friendly owners!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Turtle Restaurante & Hotelito also viewed

Las Penitas, Leon Department
Las Penitas, Leon Department
 
Las Penitas, Leon Department
Las Penitas, Leon Department
 

Been to The Lazy Turtle Restaurante & Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing