We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel fun.”
Review of Hotelito Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotelito Oasis
charleston sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hostel fun.”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is a hostel Beachfront on the Pacific. If you need more than this Hostel right on the beach go somewhere else.
I loved it. My room was clean, the food so so , the staff great. If you complain, your expectations are too high. Go to a full service hotel. This is a hostel. I love it.

Room Tip: It is a hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwiden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

First of all, if you value small little things, like a friendly staff or the amount of time you wait for your food to arrive, then this is absolutely no place for you.
The staff is constantly in a bad mood. During the 15 hours I was there, there were a couple of occasion where they tried to trick me by calculating wrong amounts of payments or not refilling a glass properly (not always with ice but with plastic!). The room was dirty, stinky water (or no water) and the bed sheets were not washed upon arrival.
I waited 45 minutes for my (in comparison quite expensive) food to arrive, and as it did, 2 strolling dogs came OUT OF THE KITCHEN literatly sitting on my lap to try to gain attention.

I wasnt looking for the 5star Hotel when I arrived, in fact I am a backpacker myself but few little things one can expect from a Hostel (and its not even a Hostel it is a HOTEL!) For $6 a night, I stayed in accomidations with a kitchen, free wifi, cheap food and even a pool. This is nowhere near it.
Sorry but never again!

Positiv review:
--Great location
--Clean beach
--Good bus connection to Leon

Room Tip: Dont choose a room, choose a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reiseampelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Penitas hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

the room was clean and simple, staff friendly, and the location is one of the best on the beach. the beach itself is average, i preferred the beaches north of chinandega towards aposentillo and jiquilillo.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was a great place to spend 4 nights. The food at the restaurant here is actually very good. The staff people helpful and keen to chat. The rooms are very basic but adequate. Location is the real selling feature...right on the beach, quiet, and also very secure. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NateVan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have to say that I am astounded that this is the number one rated place in Las Penitas. I feel bad giving it a mediocre rating, but despite the sweet family that runs the place, it is in disrepair and is riding out its recommendations from guide books. My room leaked substantially and the bathroom in my door was separated only by a shower curtain. Again, the people working there (locally run) are kind and helpful, but they really need to do a better job keeping the place in working over.

The food is good and there is a great deck overlooking the sea. Surfing is just a few meters away.

But, looking at the new Quetzal Playa as well as Barca de Oro, Oasis just doesn't live up to the same quality. The other two are more or less the same price, but the atmospheres and facilities are much better.I felt bad about moving to Quetzal Playa to camp for the night, rather than staying another night at Oasis, but such it is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellini23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is a Hostel on the beach. Besides several rooms in the main building they have two separate small bungalows with bath, shower and their own small covered porch facing the beach. Basic is the style but for $20.00 a night a great deal! There is a bar/grill and the food is very good. Lots of places to chill in the shade with a view of the beach including a second floor deck. I went to just check out the beach at Las Peñitas and ended up staying here for two nights. The beach is great here and the waves large but I would not recommend it for casual swimming because of the very strong currents. Staff was friendly and the rooms are very basic but clean. I am returning you bet!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

It's worth the drive out to Las Penitas! About 40 minutes from Leon, be prepared for some unpaved roads, but once you get there, there are lots of cheap places to stay (we scored a beachfront room at Oasis for $25/night - just two cots in a bare cement room, but what else do you need when you're on the beach?), and a beautiful beach for walking and watching the sunset. Five bucks at Hotel Oasis gets you whole grilled fish loaded up with fried plaintains and a couple of beers.
We rented kayaks from Barca de Oro and took a great paddle through a bird sanctuary.
This is NOT a luxury destination, but a really great place off the beaten path to spend a few days.

Helpful?
1 Thank elisedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#3 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lazy Turtle
The Lazy Turtle
#3 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bombora Hotelito y Restaurante - La Cueva del Tigre
0.1 mi away
Hotelito Dulce Mareas
Hotelito Dulce Mareas
#6 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelito Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelito Oasis

Property: Hotelito Oasis
Address: On the beach, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotelito Oasis is a beach Hostel, located at 20 km from Leon, Nicaragua. All rooms are with sea view and private bathroom. A single room is 20 usd, doble room 25 usd, and triple room 30 usd. Bungalows with private hamac and terrasse : 28 usd/2 and 33 usd/3 people We have a small dormitory with private bathroom : 8 usd/ pers The restaurant offer a large variety of product : fresh sea food, pasta and beef, breakfast, home made hamburger, lobsters curry or coco sauce ... Natural juice and coktails with run or vodka . Many hammacks and beach chairs are available for free. Free wifi inside the Hostal. Happy hour every day from 6.00 pm to 7.00pm. We rent surf board, surf lessons available, boogies and kayacks. We organize tours to Juan Venado Island ( watch birds, turtles, crocodiles...) Welcome to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotelito Oasis Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing