We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Barca de Oro
Nearby Hotels
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayal Lodge(Las Penitas)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aaki Hotel(Las Penitas)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Cardhu Del Mar(Las Penitas)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simple Beach Lodge(Las Penitas)
$29
$9
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Belga Loco(Las Penitas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lazy Turtle(Las Penitas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Mano a Mano Hostal(Las Penitas)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
95
73
22
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
73
22
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tableeco bungalowtriple roomhigh tideshort walk from the beachamazing foodair conditioningceiling fanfood and drinkschicken bbqbamboobarracabinnetshutsdormitoryboats
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 207 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The first time it was the 5 of us and booked a 6-bed room. Allthough they offered us this room and we told them it was okay if there was a 6th person, they charged us for the extra bed. but it wasn't much and they did a good job by spliting our bill daily. Food is good and well priced.
they location is perfect. it's nice to hang out there because there are lots of hammocks and tables& chairs. wifi all over. they view is on the lagoon and during the day you can walk through it to the beach.
no kitchen for guests but food is okay.
book exchange, pool table and board games.

the second time we were in a canana behind the building in a nice garden. we had an eco toilet. wasn't mad about that but it did the job. shower was okay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our very first night in Nicaragua was pleasantly ended by the soft sounds of local fishermen taking to their pangas and doing just what they've done for a hundred years - going out to sea. Las Penitas is little more than a fishing village still; with a recent smattering of small hotels and hostels. It is an icon for "getting away". Barca is a great little place with a great location and great food. The price is right, and it was such a wonderful introduction to the ocean side life in Nicaragua. The management was helpful and was able to set up any number of tours and excursions for us. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Try for Room #1 - it has the window on the bay and some nice cross ventilation!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you are looking for a good place to stay on this beach Barca de Oro is a very good option. We had a look at the rooms and the eco cabins, both of them were priced reasonable. The accommodations they showed us were clean and not too small.
As we did not want to stay next to the restaurant we have chosen the bamboo made eco cabins, which are perfectly ok if you don't have a problem with compost toilets. Beds in there are all covered by mosquito nets and there is enough air coming in in night time so you can get a refreshing sleep after a day on the beach. If needed there is a small ceiling fan in the cabin.
An absolute plus is the restaurant, we had fish tacos and different whole fish plates during our stay and each meal was delicious. Even if you don't stay at Barca de Oro, the food is worth a try. Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere, nice easy going music. It is probably also the only place where you can get a cold beer after 8.30pm during weekdays as the village seems kind of sleepy.
One, minor, thing which should be improved is the mojito. They
All in all a very recommendable mid-range hotel and my place of choice on this beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We thought that it's beach front but theoretically it is beach front, the water is very far off and you can't hear the waves. My point in booking this place is to stay in a place to hear the waves and walk to the beach ...both failed.

We stayed in the eco room (made up off bamboo) no sound proof so we were waken up every morning by the bus horn and the road noise. The rooms are not frog proofed (the doors have a huge gap), so we had a frog in our bed in one of the days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is NOT the place to expect quick service and all inclusive amenities. This is a place when you can expect quality food, simple accommodations at a very affordable price. Although not advertised, Barca is an excellent base camp for the Northwest Nicaragua sites. Does it help to know Spanish? Yes. I saw a few Americans who hired local guides to take them around. Sandrine arranged the mangrove tour and the volcano tour with locals, not major tour companies. This keeps the money local and you are making a difference. FYI, you do not need all that fancy equipment to surf the Cerro Negro Volcano. I fed 4 young adult in their 20's ( booze included ) for less than 90 dollars that week! This was quality food and drink.
All I have to say is if you decide to travel to this part of Nicaragua, it is not San Juan del Sur. you must keep an open mind. Time stands still. If you need the amenities, then you will be disappointed. If you enjoy immersing yourself in the culture of the country you visit and want to truly escape the stress of daily life, then I highly recommend Barca.
Once again, thank you Sandrine and the staff of Barca. It was the best New Years ever.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews