We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent accommodations, but be careful in Las Penitas - we were robbed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Barca de Oro
Ranked #5 of 10 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent accommodations, but be careful in Las Penitas - we were robbed!”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Barca has friendly staff, good food, and decent accommodations --- rooms are a little rough, but beds weren't bad. View from the cafe is nice.

However, while we were checking out a room, ALL of our luggage was stolen out of our locked car trunk directly in front of the hotel around 6pm. A man told us he worked for the hotel and acted like he was helping us park our car. No valuables were in sight and everything was locked in the trunk. We were in the hotel for less than ten minutes. When we returned everything was gone, including the man who said he worked for the hotel. No signs of forced entry. This was a professional job. We dealt with the local police, etc... for three hours. They were little help. The owner of Barca helped us a lot, but we never recovered any of our stuff. Be very careful with your belongings here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionnbahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    65
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
76
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent two nights recently at Barca de Oro. We are a family of four, and the only rooms that sleep four are the eco-cabins. They are a great idea, but the reality is very tough. There is an overhead fan that runs by solar power, and so therefore runs very slowly, and the heat was unbearable. The owner Sandrine was kind enough to run an extension cord out to our cabin and put a fan in for our second night, but then we were absolutely attacked by mosquitos, and since the nets had some holes in them, we just couldn't get a good night's rest.

I think only one room has a/c, with a king bed. The other rooms have a double bed and a twin (single), and an overhead fan - March and April are the hottest months of the year, but at other times perhaps it would be bearable.

Sandrine was very nice, and the food was surprisingly good. It's perhaps a step up for backpackers (in fact, many backpackers seemed to be a little ways down the road at the Oasis hostel), but perfect for say young couples or other folks on a budget that want a beach getaway. The sea is VERY rough here, especially in March/April we were told, so even surfing was difficult, but it might be good at other times of the year.

If we could have gotten a decent night's sleep, we would have been happy with the hotel, it has a nice relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Clean rooms, not expensive (20$ for a big room and 7$ for a bed in a dormitory), very safety...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaffiVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This place has the best food we ate while we were in Las Penitas. We had some delicious oysters and my girlfriend even found a pearl in one of them. The owner Sandrine was great fun and super friendly. The staff were friendly and helpful too.
They offer lots of trips and a range of rooms, from bamboo huts out back, to rooms in the main building. We enjoyed our time here, in the company of nice people. Recommended. The massages are also fantastic and great value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikespod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I've stayed in Las Penitas for a while and really enjoyed the village life there. Very friendly people and laid-back atmosphere in this little paradise! I spent a lot of time at La Barca de Oro as this is by far the most welcoming place I've seen there. Sandrine, the owner, helped organize my activities there, from horse riding on the beach at sundown to fishing on small boats with real fishermen. Amazing experiences. She was also my best advisor for any question I had on the local life or in case of issue. The hotel itself is wonderfully located just on the bay; there is a hamoc right in front of it from where one can observe the quiet life of the fishermen and the fantastic scenery. The restaurant is by far the best of Las Penitas - fish dishes are the best blend of fresht fish and French cuisine I've ever experienced! Last but not least, the personnel is lovely; always willing to help and make you feel at home... making La Barca de Oro a sure bet!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent_Rochat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

The staff and owner were wonderful. I wish them the best with their endeavors. Nicaragua is a tough place. Poor, struggling, political and beaurocratic corruption... Maybe by the time we got to this part of our trip we were ready for creature comforts. But the dirtiness got to me. The eco huts are adorable and the yard attractive...but honestly, how can you expect someone to sleep with their head ten feet from a pit privy? And the kids were covered with a rash of little bites until we left. I'd recommend it, but with caveats that you're expecting a more, um, Nicaraguan-type stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueWheelsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great staff, such a nice atmosphere, beautiful views and great food. We also took a boat trip with the guide of the hotel, well worth the money!
We had a double room with no airconditioning - warning! Do take the AC even though it's expencive (as it is everywhere in Nicaragua), we ended up leaving the hotel at 5a.m. since we hadn't slept at all and were all sweaty and burning hot.

Despite that experience, I would definetely stay in Barca de Oro again!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lazy Turtle
The Lazy Turtle
#3 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#3 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bombora Hotelito y Restaurante - La Cueva del Tigre
1.0 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#1 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Barca de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barca de Oro

Property: Hostal Barca de Oro
Address: Fte a la Bocana, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hostal in relaxing fishermen's village, facing Juan Venado natural reserve.The food and attention are excellent, with breeezy balcony with hammocks overlooking the ocean.Bright and comfort rooms or eco design bungalows.Nature,Activities, massage, games, in Barca de oro time stops.......... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Barca De Oro Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing