We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and bad client service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Olazul Las Penitas
Ranked #10 of 10 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
América, Managua, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service and bad client service”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I went to their restaurant and they took over 15 minutes to make a mojito, when i ask why they were taking so long they answer me with very bad attitude that they were full and if i wanted i will have to wait... come on!!! it's a mojito!!! how long can it take to make it???
and his waiter don't know the price or the menu of what they are serving

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
8
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The person (Marc) whom I assume was the manager that we booked the 'hotel' room
with did not show up at all, it appears that he doesn't show up much. The staff
didn't seem to even know who Marc was. In any case it is not a hotel. One level
buildings are cabanas or motels. The rooms are overpriced (at $50), they are almost clean but the whole property smelled like sewer backup the day we
arrived. The staff is rather unknowledgeable and not very professional, through
most of them are friendly enough for the context. The pool looks disgusting,
dusty, murky, and dirty, not usable, only for the birds to pick up some easy
(flies for) dinner. There is also bits of garbage scattered throughout the
property. It is nicely situated on the beach - and about a 15:00 walk from the
other hostels/eaterys etc - but it was practically too windy to enjoy the
ocean. The breakfasts were small though well prepared (but no coffee). The place
is run-down and needs a lot of clean-up work - it looks way past its prime.
Besides that we had a very poor sleep, the bed was good and firm but the dogs
barked off and on all night as if in chorus with the dogs down the block. I
can't believe that the Lonely Planet picked this property as 'their choice", but
that guide book edition is out of date anyways as we've found out in the last
few weeks of traveling around Nicaragua, it sorely needs updating. I would
recommend anyone visiting Las Panitas to check out all the other places along
the beach strip first, before choosing the Olazul. There seems to be some other
properties opening up - and a lot of vacancy when we visited in March - so
competition is bound to increase and thus maybe quality will as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Penitas hotels

Regina, SK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Owner was very friendly and helpful, as were the staff. Private cabinas were small but clean and comfortable. Shower area was quite nice. There seemed to be more bugs around this hotel compared to one we stayed at down the street the night before. I'd have to say however, that at $40/night for the cabina, with a fan (no A/C: those are $50/night), this hotel is overpriced significantly. Compared to other hotels in the area at $25 - 35/night (which we also stayed at and looked at), this hotel provided no wifi, the pool did not look desirable to swim in, the yard was in average shape. Also, if you are allergic to dogs and cats (which I am), this hotel might not be the place for you. This is Lonely Planet's "our pick" for Las Penitas. And although it was a generally nice hotel, you can find the same cleanliness and services for much cheaper at other hotels in this town. Lastlly, the food here was yummy, but again, we found the same dishes, just as good, but much cheaper down the road at other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and our hut was clean and comfortable and the communal areas (retaurant and pool) were quiet and relaxed - the beach here is beautiful too and the views of the beach at sunset are stunning. All in all, a lovely weekend.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very nice and quiet place with splendid wiew towards the pacific beaches and horizon. Beautiful sunset. No mosquitos (there were millions of them just 1 km longer south but I think that they hated the small breeze coming in from the sea). When we stayed there late novembre we were almost alone on the beaches. Good food for all meals and friendly staff. I borrowed a camera because I had problems with my own. And the owners were also very helpful when we needed transport to bring our luggage from another small hotel where we first checked in.
And there were a couple of friendly dogs that were like guards when we had our sunbaths.
We can really recommend this small hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a great place to just relax. Good food, right on the beach. Great option for those with transportation as it is a ways out of the town. That said, there is really no big reason to go into town which consists of several small restaurants and some other hotels. No real activity except fisherman and mangrove tour. We enjoyed the beach, reading in the palapa. The rooms are individual cabins, but really only room for the bed, not much else. We would stay here again, but you just need to know what you are getting. This is a 3 cabin hotel, not a resort. They do have a small pool, but we never saw anyone in it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

we stayed for 5 very relaxing days, the little huts are designed with a lot of attention to detail and very cute and cosy. Food and service in the restaurant right on the beach are really good. The owners help with organizing pretty much anything you can think of wanting to do (horse back riding, nature and volcano tours, surfing, etc), which makes it easy to get to know Nicaragua, since most of the activities are run by locals.
The beach is lovely and we hardly ever met anyone, wandering about...
It really is a little paradise...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#3 of 11 in Las Penitas
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#3 of 10 in Las Penitas
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Roca Beach Hotel
Playa Roca Beach Hotel
#7 of 11 in Las Penitas
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bombora Hotelito y Restaurante - La Cueva del Tigre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olazul Las Penitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olazul Las Penitas

Property: Hotel Olazul Las Penitas
Address: Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olazul is located on the majestic beach of Las Peñitas. Located near the Juan Venado Ecological Reserve, this village is known to be a haven of peace and quiet as well as a surfer’s paradise.Come enjoy the pristine beach, the heat and the exceptional sunlight of Las Penitas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Olazul Las Penitas Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing