We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing luxurious house, in the friendliest...”
other travelers have booked this property
Right at the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Right at the beach
Beach access straight from home. Swimming pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Right at the beach
Beach access straight from home.
Swimming pool.
Dinner set.
Cozy home
Wooden kitchen. Easy, complete, modern. Both see and mountain views. All is brand new.
Hard drive with more than 2000 movies, songs and videos.
Reading corner
The master room is upstairs over Avana Harbour views. it is heaven.
Master room.
Panoramic views from the master room.
The master room wardrobe and toilet clear wall on the staircase side.
Garden room set up with king bed, over the papaya, lemon, orange, fig trees and herbs garden.
Garden room.
Main bathroom.
Double aquarium featured shower.
Main entrance.
Extraordinary dinning table.
Toilet at the master room
Ocean on the left side of Avana Harbour, lagune at the right side, the house is in the middle.
Vaka means boat in Maori. This is ours.
Picture taken from the island in front of the house.
You will see Captain Moko coming back from fishing. Then you now fresh tuna waits for you.
Drone view of the site
Home at the right side, beach at the left side of the pool.
Swimming pool.
The swimming pool area is between the house and the beach.
Double hammock
Semicircled private beach area.
Coral table at our beach.
We are the best holiday rental in Rarotonga!! This is the Air New Zeland Trophy.
Views from home.
Sunset.
Sunrise from home.
Milky way gets iluminated like this just some seconds before sun rises!
Like to fishing a GT?
Our organic bananas, in Kaireva Beach House' garden.
Pineapple growing in pot.
Kaireva Beach House entrance
Location of Kaireva Beach House
Rarotonga.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Muri, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kyleg1495
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lack of privacy/house not as expected”
Reviewed April 24, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I was so excited to travel from the States to the Cook Islands and enjoy a peaceful vacation with family in a luxury private home. I thought I would be lounging at our private pool, looking at 360 degrees of beautiful scenery from the balconies, and walking steps out to be on a lovely beach/ocean. Driving up to the house and parking the car, I see a very junky side lot, (huge metal container used for storage but not aesthetically appealing at all, along with other unsightly items) and a completely open bottom floor of the owners' home. While it is stated that the owners live on the ground floor of the home, what was not made clear was that their level is completely open, allowing them to view/hear anything we were doing at all times. As there are no screens or AC, we had to keep all windows and doors open at all times (even at night) to get air flow. I felt that we had no privacy and that we were being watched (and heard) at all times. As well, I felt like I was intruding on them! I would try to enjoy the pool, yet I'd be watching the owner sitting on her computer or sitting and smoking just near the pool. Is smoking eco-friendly? I was also disappointed upon arrival seeing that the beach, although steps away, was completely rocky, on shore and in the water, making it impossible for children (and adults) to swim. This house is located on a lagoon. Lovely in its own right, but not good for lounging/swimming. It was great place to spot eels off the dock though! We left the house every day to go to one of the nearby pristine, white sand, non-rocky beaches and have privacy. The house has no AC, no screens, no mosquito netting over the beds (yet the owner has mosquito netting over their beds!). There are only two fans-one for each bedroom. However, there are no ceiling fans or other fans for the main rooms (where our son slept) and we had to leave the glass doors wide open to give him air flow, which worried me quite a bit during my stay. There is no Wifi (the owners had it-why not offer it for guests for a fee? People do work while on vacation and this is a basic amenity these days.) There are lots of movies available, but most are in Spanish! The towels were a hot commodity. It was hot, humid and we were at a beach every day. We finally got fresh towels mid-week (because I asked.) Again, I find this to be a very basic amenity when staying at a "luxury" home. Charge for other laundry if you must, but towels should be refreshed or there should be plenty available in the house. The pictures you see of the house are lovely, but it's important to provide the full picture.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2018
You need to read the description listed before booking. From there you can't rate things that are not offered, like the aircon or the ceiling fans; the house in the wonderful environment of Avana Harbour that you never dare to discover or swim (everybody does) as per your posh attitude or free Wi-Fi that doesn't exist in the Cook Islands. We were very disappointed with you and your group not respecting the rules of the house: NO DRUNK BEHAVIOUR. We regreted not to fired you out when we saw all the damages you made. That is why we charged you the Damage Deposit You would be always disturbed by anyone around you because you and your group can't hide your 24h. drinking and see the real life without paranoia, or treat our apartment with respect (you left a mess, broken things, marks on the floor and dried glue all over the dinning table).
Fortunately, the rest of reviews are written by "normal" people with "normal" nice behavior. (May can I have your gratitude for watching your 3 year old child left alone (with a life jacket on just in case he could fall down into the swimming pool) while you all were drinking upstairs).
And
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric G
1 review
“Lowered Expectations”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I agree about the lack of privacy from the other reviews, found owners smoking cigarettes a few feet away and there most all times quite stifling (sorry); property is really wedged in, too sloppy, and it’s nowhere near the beach. Please check out the satellite view from Google Earth before booking. Also see pic of your actual morning coffee view; junk all around...rusty ship container..etc. (unfortunately worse view on the other side of house). For a top rate to book it, you should provide you guests nice towels, a yard that is picked up, the internet, A/C, and a washing machine that’s not $15/load right? Think low end motel. Since Kaireva was deceptive, all factored in, the accommodations are one ⭐️ (out of five ⭐️), quite below average and should be rented at a far reduced rate. We discovered the best service and beauty for the $ on the island are the spots on (real) Muri Beach. Good luck. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thank you for advising that if we did charge you the Damage Deposit, you would write a bad review, but I don't accept your blackmail, even if it is all your family who is making all this bad reviews (you are the third person in his group reviewing that bad way). Your damages on the floor were over the amount in reserve.
There is people like you in this beautiful world that lies just to harm, but fortunately there are 2 years of previous good reviews to find out which the true is. One prove about your lies: your brother states in previous review that we smoke at the beach; you say we smoke a few feet away but the house it's nowhere near the beach. So we smoke at the beach a few feet away. Consequently, the beach is a few feet away, certainly. And yes, we smoke hidden at one corner of the property at the beach because we don't want to disturb our guests.
This country goes with satellite Wi-Fi. There is no free Internet anywhere, if you want to be well informed. Guests everywhere buy vouchers, we don't charge for it, we only offer a hot spot in the property, as everybody else in Rarotonga.
Do you know why Air New Zealand, the Cook Islands Industry and the judges from New Zealand gave us the Award to the best Holiday Rental? Because of good reasons: unique house made of natural treated nobel timber, beautiful complete house, wonderful location in a unic environment, edible organic gardens, etc. etc. These are great values to talk about.
And for your information, accommodation with similar level of quality in Muri Beach are 1,600 nzd per night, only 1,000 dollars more per night than Kaireva Beach House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manionabe
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO PRIVACY”
Reviewed April 21, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

NO PRIVACY is the major take-away from this rental. The owners are immediately underneath this house, and they never leave! But that's not all:

- The property has junk on it.
- The beach is rocky and not ideal for swimming. We ended up driving to a different resort every day to enjoy a better beach and to get away from the hosts. Shout out to the Moana Sands who welcomed us daily and allowed us to use their facilities and equipment.
- The family will use the private swimming pool during your stay.
- The hosts try to charge $15 per load of laundry.
- Wifi is not provided by hosts.
- You ARE expected to clean the house when you leave, otherwise they keep your deposit. This was not communicated.
- Hosts do not routinely maintain the home during your stay.
- You DO need a vehicle.
- I wish the hosts had prepped us with advice about the island, including common tourist activities prior to our arrival.
- This review, in part, is fueled by the hosts aggressive, untrue and unprofessional handling of our stay. As paying customers we are very disappointed in how they operate their business.

The Cook Islands and Rarotonga are beautiful. Muri beach is lovely, and so are the people. But this house was the reason why our visit wasn't great, especially for the price. You're much better off staying anywhere else.

Two thumbs down, two stars, D grade.

Abe M. - Portland, OR

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2018
This review is from Eric's wife. They are doing a second bad review similar as the previous one. We prefer not to answer to this one as it is so much to say. For reviews readers: pls account all our reviews before this family's one and you get the true. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edarin
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NOT AS EXPECTED - BEWARE!”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Lots left to be desired here! Pictures look great but do NOT tell the whole story: most importantly, the Owner's family lives on the entire bottom level in an open-air apartment and is always home; so every time you step out you're being watched and are compelled to engage. The "beach" is actually tiny and rocky--not suitable for kids, lounging, or swimming--and the owner chain-smokes there. The house does not have air conditioning, ice maker, ceiling fans, screens or netting, and the kitchen lacks even basic utensils. Views are NOT 360°! In fact Owner keeps a huge rusty container in the front yard, and there's dense apartment housing right next door. Before booking be sure to read between the lines!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2018
Thank you for your point of view. Fortunately it is in opposition with two years and a half of guests leaving wonderful reviews.
We all understand your revenge for not having back the damage deposit. We are sorry, you and your family caused a lot of trouble and damages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borjalarr...
Ngatea, New Zealand
1 review
“Relaxing luxurious house, in the friendliest atmosphere”
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Top experience. The location of the house is just amazing, right in the lagoon and in a very quiet area. It's a very good spot for fishing and snorkelling too (Robert gave us the best tips for that), they even let us use the polynesian style canoe they have, so that we could explore all the islands in the lagoon by ourselves. Susana and the Roberts are super friendly and always ready to help with anything. And they have the best organic garden... we tried so many tropical fruits and veggies there. Perfect place to relax, but with many activities to do around for those who don't want to lie on the beach the hole day :) Thank you very much and I hope to see you again soon!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
A guest to remember for his easy going everywhere! Excellent in everything you would ask for a guest to be perfect. Lovely on top.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txikito
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
1 review
“The beach house of our dreams”
Reviewed March 29, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We spent a few days in Kaireva beach house during or recent Cook Islands trip and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The house is simply amazing, with probably one of the best views in the island. You know it is going to be a great day when you start it by having breakfast on the terrace looking to the motu (island) and the Muri Lagoon. The beach is just at the doorstep and they also have a pool!!
During our stay we also had the opportunity to experience local life with our hosts. Learning how to husk a coconut was a great experience, the impossible to be more fresh yellowfin tuna sashimi was the best we ever had in our life and the herbs and fruits from the ecogarden were delicious. We also enjoyed fishing on the jetty and snorkelling around looking for trevallis, turtles etc. We even were offered to go on an adventure to the motus using the little boat, even if we proved ourselves not to be the best rowers in town.
This place offers you the possibility to stay in a 5star resort and enjoy the quietness of being in a private beachfronthouse. It is simply great.
Highly reccommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
Special guest from Spain, we couldn't enjoy his company more. Great pleasure to have this group at home, memorable experience and friendship for ever. Top guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dp750
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise Gem!”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The beach house is in a fabulous, secluded spot on a lagoon near Muri Village. The house itself is immaculate and the owners are very gracious to assist in any way. They also share fresh fruits and vegetables from their garden as desired and provide helpful tips on the best day trips around the island. If you are going to the Cook Islands, I highly recommend this wonderful house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2018
Thank you, Donald, for this top review. Can I repeat so easy and delicious was to host you and Katheryn? Thank you for being the best guests and take such a deep care of the house. You are fabulous!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing