We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Sunrise On The Island!”
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
pool # 1 - relax in your own large lagoon facing pool just steps from the famous Muri Beach ! pool #2 our newest pool also included for your use! it is also set well away from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
escape to paradise and stay right on Muri Beach for your island holiday !
pool # 1 - relax in your own large lagoon facing pool just steps from the famous Muri Beach !
pool #2 our newest pool also included for your use! it is also set well away from the house
and at night, there are solar and spot lights outside, great sunsets too!
award winning holiday home on a large private beach front section with your own lagoon facing pool !
the pool is 9m long x 4.5m wide and faces the lagoon & Taakoka Island (motu)
the large salt pool is directly in front of the house
this 3/4 acre section is secluded and off the main road and leads on to Muri Beach!
view from the lawn on to the private beach access
BBQ & outdoor dining facing the lagoon
large spacious deck with BBQ facing the lagoon
stairway leading up to upstairs bedroom/ensuite and balcony
large comfy couch in a open plan bright airy room leading out to bi fold doors onto the deck
modern pacific island themed decor
full kitchen, large fridge freezer and - yes a dishwasher!
two modern bathrooms, one up, one down. the downstairs bathroom has a washing machine.
upstairs looking to the bedroom
white sandy beach
taakoka island, right in front of the house and section
Muri is renowned for its white sandy beach
stroll down the lawn and onto the beach from your own private access
downstairs bedroom and ensuite, screened door leading to deck & pool
upstairs bedroom and ensuite with screened sliding door to balcony
open plan and modern living
landscaped with lots of lawn and garden
looking up from the beach to the house
its all about the pool !
view from the beach!
i never get tired of the view from the end of the lawn !
ever changing island style bed covers, door leads through to bahtroom
all landscaped and well maintained by the owners :)
6 kayaks to use
lush tropical landscaped gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Muri, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheree H
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sunrise On The Island!”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just completed our "fourth" holiday at Taakoka Villas in Muri Beach. It is our most favorite place to stay on the Island. I highly recommend this Villa for its spacious rooms, private swimming pool, spectacular views of the Morning Sunrise rising from the Lagoon which is on your doorstep for snorkeling and kayaking which are provided. Sarah and Adam are the friendliest, efficient and most caring hosts. They will make your holiday one to remember.
We hired the bicycles and cycled everyday. We had everything on our doorstep, Cafes, rental car/scooters/bikes offices and the food night markets are only few doors down. If you want a great Rarotonga Holiday memory, then Taakoka Muri Beachfront Villa is the place you want to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxation of the private pool and lagoon on your doorstep along with all the amenities.
Liked least: Loved it all!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
kia orana . thank you for your comments and for coming back to stay ! it is always great to see return guests and yes we do have everything within walking (or cycling distance) at Muri . look forward to seeing you again in paradise. kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMorans...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I know this review is late but after a lot of thought I feel I should nonetheless report. When we arrived, my husband and I scored the upstairs bedroom due to one of our friends (we were two couples) not being able to encounter the stairs. We got upstairs and were immediately hit by the heat. There was a ceiling fan that was incapable of meeting the requirements. There was nowhere to store our clothes (we had a two week booking) and there was a skimpy curtain separating the bedroom and ensuite - no privacy at all. We complained (somewhat bitterly) to Adam and they brought in some shelving for storage of clothing.

The house overall was very nice apart from the unhealthy heat in the upstairs bedroom, lack of storage and curtain to the ensuite - please a door can't cost that much, nor a split air-conditioner.

I might add that we were there in late April so it wasn't even the hot season.

In the circumstances, over-priced. In the event you have put in a split air-conditioner upstairs and installed a door to the ensuite, we would definitely stay again.

Sorry Adam.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
kia orana. thank you for your review. your comments are based on your very early morning arrival from a long haul flight during a unusually hot period of weather. for security reasons we had the house closed up overnight. upon your arrival you called us and were extremely rude and abusive to both of us to which you apologised to me for later on in your stay. since your stay almost two years ago we have extensively changed and re modelled the house and is not the same house you stayed in hence the many excellent guest reviews in addition to yours. meitaki maata
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gofish333...
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Muri Magic”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is one of the best holidays we have been on. Taakoka Muri Beachfront Villa was the perfect place to stay with our family. Our villa was beautifully presented and had everything we needed and more. On arrival we were met with a bowl of local fruits, beer and bubbly which was a lovely way to start our holiday. The pool was great and it was only a few steps to the beach. Everyone enjoyed the swimming and snorkeling which is at your front door. It was excellent to have the use of kayaks to explore Muri and the Motus.
Our hosts Adam and Sarah were extremely helpful with local knowledge. They went that extra mile to ensure we were enjoying the best of Rarotonga. Nothing was too much.
Some highlights for us; Our accommodation, sourcing local food to cook, exploring the island on scooters, scuba diving with Pacific Divers, snorkeling and The Nautilus resort (Next door) happy hour. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location but also the pool
Liked least: notinck
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
kia orana and thank you for your comments. we love to hear how you made the most of the direct access to muri beach from the lawn and the complimentary kayaks are always there for you to grab and go ! would love to see you again in paradise. kia manuia. adam & sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zipen
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Live the luxury life like a local on Muri Lagoon”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and two big sons stayed at the largest of the Taakoka Muri Beachfront Villas last December. It was the perfect size, and had all the amenities we could need: large private in-ground pool; sun lounges; direct beach access; kayaks; two bathrooms; full kitchen; washing machine; wi-fi (although expensive); ceiling fans (no aircon though!); off-street parking; easy walk to Muri shops (the bakery is divine!) and hotels, and so on!

Adam and Sarah Nixon, who own and manage the property, both visited during the period of our one week stay, and made sure we had all we needed.

It's the best place to kick back and relax, right on Muri Lagoon. Very highly recommended.

Would I change anything if I owned it? I'd add air-conditioning for those who just can't live without it. And reasonable Wi-Fi prices, but I guess this is supposed to be a small tropical island, and you're not there to be surfing the web or reading work emails!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a pool right next to Muri Lagoon
Liked least: No aircon, but we quickly got used to life without it by jumping in the pool~!.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2015
kia orana and thank you for choosing to stay in our beach front house in December 2014 and for your encouraging comments.

the house sits facing the Muri lagoon and enjoys the cooling breeze throughout the house. all bedrooms have insect screened doors to enable you to safely leave them open to make the most of the breeze and hear the crashing waves from the reef.

WIFI is expensive throughout the island and we recommend minimal use.

we look forward to having you back in paradise one day. kia manuia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyMupp...
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, Location .... just perfect..”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in both the Taakoka Beach Villa for the first 6 nights with our friends (before they flew out to Aitutaki) and the Garden Villa. Taakoka, what a wonderful place stay, very clean and spacious, beautiful views out to the lagoon past the pool. We really loved the location absolutely perfect, right on the edge of Muri village so everything was within a few mins walk but so private, we couldn’t have asked for more. The Garden Villa was equally as lovely inside just without the pool and lagoon View, but with a lovely little garden perfect for chilling after a day out. We would definitely want to stay here again just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
kia orana and thanks for your comments. it was a pleasure to meet you all and you had great weather!

its great you made the most of our accommodation options on our large beach front section by staying in two different villas, we have something to suit all budgets. look forward to seeing you again in paradise !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelleyJ2...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely breathtaking! The best holiday accommodation in Muri”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Without a doubt this was the most awesome holiday with our family.

The accommodation was superb, the cleanliness was 110% but the best part is the private pool and beachfront location and views - simply stunning!

Our friends and family that visited us during our stay could not believe the view and facilities we had compared to their resort - Taakoka topped it on all levels !

Our hosts Adam and Sarah were very friendly and helpful.
There are kayaks free to use in the beautiful lagoon and it is a short walk to hire scooters to tour the island, there is a local convenience store just 1 minute walk away for any supplies you may need.

We would thoroughly recommend "Taakoka" as the best accommodation in Muri and we will definitely be back...soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and beachfront access
Liked least: There are no negatives to this property.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
kia orana. thanks for your kind words! our properties get lots of great comments about how clean they are which is always great to read.

it looks like we are going to have a very busy 2016 and we wont be changing a thing !

lets hope we see you back real soon.

kia manuia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSLOZ
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Closest to paradise you'll get”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Taakoka villa has possibly the perfect location. Its slap bang on Muri lagoon (just google Muri lagoon and look at 'Images' to get an idea of what we're talking about here) Its kind of just around the corner from the main resorts so utterly peaceful yet you have access to all the things that Muri has to offer. Two minutes to a coffee or a cocktail at Nautilus - without the price tag!
The view from the house straight down to the lagoon is stunning, yet you have privacy, which is a magical combination not many properties along the strip offer. Lots offer excellent views but you can be viewed in return by anyone on the beach. Not so at Taakoka, very private.
House itself is simple but has everything you need. Beds are so comfy and the sheets are a yummy high quality. I sleep so well. This was our third stay - we come back each year as we love it so much.
Adam and Sarah who own and manage the property are fabulous. They have high standards and the house is well maintained and always spotlessly clean.
We love Taakoka - just wish we could stay longer than a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Tropical island insects
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
kia orana. thank you for your comments. our 3/4 acre beachfront section offers privacy and a garden atmosphere yet is in the heart of Muri.

we have worked hard to offer a top class product to our guests and is always rewarding for us to hear guests appreciating it.

look forward to seeing you again in paradise!

kia manuia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing