We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

Sensational.
We spent the first leg of our honeymoon at Reflections and were most impressed with every aspect of our stay. The staff were fantastic, despite having to collect us from the airport at midnight and drop us there at 2am, and were very helpful in suggesting and arranging activities around Rarotonga. Aside from that they were pretty much invisible, which is exactly what we were after.
The villas are beautiful, right on the beach and fantastic lagoon, everything you could ask for is included. Cannot recommend it highly enough - if you are couple travelling to Rarotonga - this is the way to go.

  • Liked — Errr... Everything!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank septillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
272
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We have plans to come back to Rarotonga to visit hopefully every 2 years and to also return to refllections as we had a fantastic time. Tino is all that a host cold be and more, he was always there for anything that we might have needed and before he was leaving for the day he would check to see if there was anything he could do for us before he left. He also arranged dinner reservations for us and gave us opinions of which he thought were the better restaurants to eat at. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we had absolutely nothing to complain about,in fact the opposite ! We could not have asked for anything else to make our stay any better as with a lot of thanks to Tino it was unbelievable. We did have a couple of showers of rain when we were there but it made for a fun scooter ride back from town . So we got a little wet !!! who cares we had such a fun time, and even though Tino was there to provide anything that we wanted it was almost like he was invisible at the same time as we still felt we had total privacy.

  • Liked — Overall quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StevemAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Very quick albeit late review from our honeymoon at Reflections.

The villa we had was stunning and has a great beachfront location. Fully equpped for most peoples needs. It was always well cleaned and my wife and I found the service from the manager and his wife more than adequate. The pool is more of a splash pool than a swimming pool but is great for cooling down. All the rooms are well furnished and to a high standard. In some ways the Villas are almost too big for a couple as we rarely used the upstairs as the ground floor had it's own bedroom that was just as romantic and well furnished as the upstairs one. One thing to note about this Villa is that it is partly open plan, and therefore I should imagine wouldn't be ideal for say two couples to share.

The location is quite isolated and there aren't many restaurants, shops or bars in the vicinity, so I would say ideally you would need to hire some transport. There is only a very limited TV service broadcast and usually only from late afternoons, there is however an excellent choice of DVD's to borrow free of charge. ( I mention this as we had quite a few days of inclement weather which led to us spending most of those days in the villa.)


We did feel that the property was slightly overpriced, having said that we knew the price before booking so it was our choice at the end of the day. Overall we had a great stay and have very fond memories of our honeymoon there. If you want isolated luxury then I certainly recommend Reflections.

  • Liked — Beachfront location.
  • Disliked — Slightly overpriced.
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tafer2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

My husband and I spent 7 days at this beautiful, secluded resort and would highly recommend it.

The service was great, just as we had expected. Any questions we had were answered promptly, and the staff member was very helpful - a lovely guy, and a pleasure to talk to. A local so very knowledgable on the area.

The place was clean, the decor modern yet suitable for the 'island atmosphere', tastefully decorated, we had a delicious basket of goodies when we arrived, and the beach so close, with snorkelling and kayaking literally at our doorstep. We ate out almost every day, with a variety of restaurants and food outlets to choose from & most of them reasonably priced.

We stayed in the 'Waterfall Villa' which is not beachfront, but a few steps away from the beach. It was within our budget yet still luxurious. We were fortunate enough to have had nice sunny weather, although even if it did rain, there are still things you can do to entertain yourselves. Going to a tropical island, or anywhere else for that matter, you take the risk of having all sorts of weather, so in response to one of the other comments posted on this website - it's all about your attitude! So to all those planning on going to Rarotonga for a holiday, honeymoon, long or short getaway, Reflections is a fantastic place to stay! Remember to always make the most of it and enjoy yourself whatever the weather! :-)

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyH0neym00ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire,UK.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

My partner and I stayed at Rumours of Romance for ten nights in December 2006 and as we would be there for Christmas we wanted to book somewhere special. We were not disappointed. It was very clean, spacious, cool and very elegantly furnished. We booked a Beachside villa so when we arrived to find out that this was also on the beachfront and had a great view directly out onto the lagoon we were thrilled. We had villa no. 5. Having our own private pool was a nice touch and the waterfall was an added luxury although we had ours turned off most of the time to conserve energy (it’s a small island).

The almost outside bathroom is a nice touch, extremely private but gives the impression of being outdoors. The bedrooms were very spacious and the four poster beds added to the luxury. This is a two bedroom unit and both had large luxury en-suite bathrooms. The villa also has two BBQ’s, one in the private pool area and another on the front deck facing the lagoon so we were spoilt for choice. The service was fantastic, room service everyday, clean bath towels and beach towels daily, villa cleaned daily and pool cleaned weekly. All in all this was above and beyond what you would usually expect when you hire a villa.

Rumours is perfectly located just a short walk down the beach to the Muri lagoon area which we found to be one of the best snorkelling sites on Rarotonga. There were plenty of Blue starfish to be seen just a small swim out from the villas, an amazing sight. We made the most of the complementary kayaks and used them most days, all of the motu are just a short paddle away and make an interesting trip out when the weather is great (it can be very unpredictable).

If you like the idea of having a whole stretch of beach to yourself and perhaps not seeing another soul on your morning beach stroll then this is the perfect place for you. It was extremely quiet when we were there, and really had that ‘out of season’ feel about it. But if you’re looking for a stress free getaway, whilst enjoying luxury accommodation then look no further.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GillianGoldsborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

My husband and I were gifted a few nights stay at Rumours as part of our honeymoon, it was definetly the best place we have stayed in. The service was great, people were very friendly and willing to help with anything, the views were spectacular especially watching the sunrise it was truly magnificent and definetly a treat for us both. I loved the bunglow we had it was really nice and private it was like having your own home really with a pool and little pond like thing that ran through the bungalow, it was very comfortable it was like staying in a top class hotel with a brilliant design yet still being able to do your own thing ( self contained).
This would definetly be the perfect spot for anyone wanting a relaxing time away from the real world and a chance to experience paradise. Would recommend to anyone to stay at Rumours of Romance.

  • Liked — everything was amazing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tinesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

This is our fourth trip to Rarotonga staying exclusively at Reflections and Rumors (three unit sister location) locations. We love the unspoiled beauty of the island and the friendly Cook Islanders.

These settings are breathtaking; intimate and secluded enough to a dip in your own pool or read a good book and still close enough to all amenities - and let me tell you the dinning on the island is amazing!

The accommodations are first class and the staff are efficient, unobtrusive, friendly and go out of their way to meet your every need - they even arranged an in-room spa service on a rainy day.

I would recommend this location to those who NEED to relax and enjoy exploring the island at your own pace.

  • Liked — modern amenities dvd, theater rm, beachfront, selfcontained kitchen, large floor space, staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4sunlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.3 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#2 Spa Hotel in Muri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing