We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Muri
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
474
21
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
474
21
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belinda and andrew private pool platinum villa our honeymoon cook islands cinema room self cook indoor waterfall hot tub every morning four poster welcome basket absolute privacy both bedrooms muri beach daily breakfast dining table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 507 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2019

Stayed here with friends for 6 nights. Great welcome from the hosts and a beautiful gift basket on arrival. We were upgraded to the Platinum Villa - nice one! Right on the beach and quite private. The villa is well equipped with all that you will need for great holiday enjoyment. Good breakfasts were delivered daily. Very nice! A cool little coffee caravan was sited across the road too so we had all the much needed trappings close by! Great spa and plunge pool in the villa that we well used too. On the downside? Well, the villa really is quite dated, the beach is rocky (we had to travel down the road to go swimming) and there is a bit of a smell emanating from what I think is a septic tank on site? Anyway, we relaxed here - I had great sleeps. Would I stay here again? Hmm, possibly. Again, great hosts, good servicing of the rooms and an overall nice place but I think I would look to Bora Bora for my next holiday.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2020

Kia Orana Zane. Thank you for staying at Rumours. So happy that we were able to upgrade you into the Platinum Villa. It's a beautiful villa isn't it. Possibly the fact that you thought it was a bit dated was because of the fact that we try to incorporate luxury "island style" as well as high end western influence. Island style is quite different so hard to sometimes get the balance right. Not sure what the smell was, as it hasn't been mentioned before, but have checked that issue with maintenance. So pleased you found Rumours relaxing and slept well. Maybe the sounds of the waves breaking out on the reef added to that. Hope you enjoy your next holiday, whether it be in Bora Bora or elsewhere. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

Have just retuned from the Cook Islands. Spent a week at Rumours Luxury Villas and spa. Loved every moment. From the outdoor but private pool to the beautifully decorated room to the short 25 metre stroll to the white sandy beach. Thanks Tara for excellent service. Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. Just superb.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank AnthonyE769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2019

Kia Orana Anthony - One week's holiday ! Never enough is it. Hopefully though it was enough to give you a lasting happy memory, and hopefully a return visit in the future. Tara and the team are always keen to make sure they do their part to give you a great stay, and the villas - well they also help with the ambiance don't they. Appreciate your willingness to recommend Rumours. Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

We loved our 9 days at Rumours! So relaxing. The are two king beds and two bathrooms, full kitchen, TV with lots of movies, books, pure bliss. Oh and I forgot the private pool and spa! I would come back tomorrow if I could! Staff were lovely, nothing was a bother. We used the kayaks and visited the island, we snorkelled, we relaxed, we read books. We visited the supermarket and cooked some night, other nights went to the markets. The rooms are spacious, and having a deck right on the beach, was bliss. I loved sitting out having a coffee, patting the friendly local dogs, watching the hermit crabs. Honestly have never felt so relaxed ever. Can I please come back now, loved loved loved it. We were in Villa 4 on the end, so quiet!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank lisaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Kia Orana Lisaskye,

We are so pleased that your 9 days at Rumours provided "just what you needed" in the way of relaxation. Yes you may come back right now ! Never quite that easy is it. We do hope that the relaxing effects your getaway provided, last until you can take another break in the not too distant future. Thank you so much for your kind comments on our villas and staff provide. We will pass your comments on to our staff, as it's nice for them to feel appreciated. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019 via mobile

Wow! What a nice resort! Quiet, relaxing with full privacy. Large self contained living area with your own private pool, all right on the beach. The staff are ALL wonderful caring hosts who go out of their way to make your stay the most relaxing 10/10! Plenty of facilities within walking distance - restaurants, bar, barista coffee, bakery and bottle shop etc. Forget about the world, create your own Rumours escape. Well done, we’ll definitely be returning

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jt112019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

Kia Orana J&K. Your review is much appreciated. I think one of the most common comments we get from guests at Rumours, coming from a world full of stress and pressure, to stay with us, is that the villas do offer total privacy and an escape that allows for total relaxation. We are so pleased that you found this during your time here. We note that you intend to return in the future, and it will definitely be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

We stayed at Rumours for our Honeymoon for one week. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, they gave us lots of tips about the island and where to find things. the room was spectacular, clean, spacious and had everything we could think of to need. the location was stunning, right on the beach and just minutes walk from the little town of Muri.
The owners were super friendly and always willing to help and make suggestions and recommendations. daily breakfasts were good quality and plentiful.
The only slight negative was that we were promised 'complementary WiFi' which turned out to only last 30 or so minutes (we saved it until the end of the trip and inadvertently our phones downloaded a zillion tings at once). It was very expensive to buy more Internet so we chose to go without. This is an island-wide problem, its in the middle of the Ocean afterall!
We got a massage at the affiliated spa which was lovely and received our discount for being guests. I am pregnant so the girls made sure to take good care of me.
If I were to go back to Cook Islands I would stay here again for sure, they made our honeymoon incredible and couldnt have been more welcoming. what a start to our married life!

Room tip: We paid less for a non-beachfront property, but it ended up being just a stones throw from the beach anyway!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcinderelliex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

We appreciate very much the time you took to do this review. Yes, we totally understand that wifi on the island is an expensive comodity, but we do hear that things will improve with new technology in the next few months, and appreciate your understanding of the issues with this. Sometimes it's a blessing in disguise to be able to put away our phones and "turn the world off" for a few days. We do hope that all goes well in the coming months with a new baby arriving shortly, and if you get the chance, please send us through a picture of your new addition ! Thank you again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews