We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Muri
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
474
21
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
474
21
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belinda and andrew private pool platinum villa our honeymoon cook islands cinema room self cook indoor waterfall hot tub every morning four poster welcome basket absolute privacy both bedrooms muri beach daily breakfast dining table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 507 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2019

We loved our 9 days at Rumours! So relaxing. The are two king beds and two bathrooms, full kitchen, TV with lots of movies, books, pure bliss. Oh and I forgot the private pool and spa! I would come back tomorrow if I could! Staff were lovely, nothing was a bother. We used the kayaks and visited the island, we snorkelled, we relaxed, we read books. We visited the supermarket and cooked some night, other nights went to the markets. The rooms are spacious, and having a deck right on the beach, was bliss. I loved sitting out having a coffee, patting the friendly local dogs, watching the hermit crabs. Honestly have never felt so relaxed ever. Can I please come back now, loved loved loved it. We were in Villa 4 on the end, so quiet!

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank lisaskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2019

Kia Orana Lisaskye,

We are so pleased that your 9 days at Rumours provided "just what you needed" in the way of relaxation. Yes you may come back right now ! Never quite that easy is it. We do hope that the relaxing effects your getaway provided, last until you can take another break in the not too distant future. Thank you so much for your kind comments on our villas and staff provide. We will pass your comments on to our staff, as it's nice for them to feel appreciated. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019 via mobile

Wow! What a nice resort! Quiet, relaxing with full privacy. Large self contained living area with your own private pool, all right on the beach. The staff are ALL wonderful caring hosts who go out of their way to make your stay the most relaxing 10/10! Plenty of facilities within walking distance - restaurants, bar, barista coffee, bakery and bottle shop etc. Forget about the world, create your own Rumours escape. Well done, we’ll definitely be returning

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jt112019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

Kia Orana J&K. Your review is much appreciated. I think one of the most common comments we get from guests at Rumours, coming from a world full of stress and pressure, to stay with us, is that the villas do offer total privacy and an escape that allows for total relaxation. We are so pleased that you found this during your time here. We note that you intend to return in the future, and it will definitely be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

We stayed at Rumours for our Honeymoon for one week. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, they gave us lots of tips about the island and where to find things. the room was spectacular, clean, spacious and had everything we could think of to need. the location was stunning, right on the beach and just minutes walk from the little town of Muri.
The owners were super friendly and always willing to help and make suggestions and recommendations. daily breakfasts were good quality and plentiful.
The only slight negative was that we were promised 'complementary WiFi' which turned out to only last 30 or so minutes (we saved it until the end of the trip and inadvertently our phones downloaded a zillion tings at once). It was very expensive to buy more Internet so we chose to go without. This is an island-wide problem, its in the middle of the Ocean afterall!
We got a massage at the affiliated spa which was lovely and received our discount for being guests. I am pregnant so the girls made sure to take good care of me.
If I were to go back to Cook Islands I would stay here again for sure, they made our honeymoon incredible and couldnt have been more welcoming. what a start to our married life!

Room tip: We paid less for a non-beachfront property, but it ended up being just a stones throw from the beach anyway!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcinderelliex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours07, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2019

We appreciate very much the time you took to do this review. Yes, we totally understand that wifi on the island is an expensive comodity, but we do hear that things will improve with new technology in the next few months, and appreciate your understanding of the issues with this. Sometimes it's a blessing in disguise to be able to put away our phones and "turn the world off" for a few days. We do hope that all goes well in the coming months with a new baby arriving shortly, and if you get the chance, please send us through a picture of your new addition ! Thank you again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Rumours villas are beyond luxurious and AMAZING. My husband and I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect honeymoon and that’s because of Carol, Grant and the rest of the team at Rumours. These villas are exceptional, first class, 5 star villas. Aside from the beautiful beach and exquisite villas, the best aspect of this place is by far the staff. From the moment we landed at the airport, they made us feel at home from start to finish. We had breakfast delivered every morning and our room was kept spotless throughout our stay. Carol was so kind and helpful with booking excursions and just answering any questions we had pertaining to the island for us throughout our stay. They've mastered the fine art of anticipating your wishes before you even know you have them, all without being obtrusive. If you are traveling to Rarotonga this is the place to stay!! Rumours Villas are by far the most beautiful place to stay on all of Rarotonga and you will be treated like royalty. -Katelynn & Sal from California.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Ksilva95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokeearrow, Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2019

Kia Orana Sal and Katelynn. It was great having the opportunity to host you on your very special holiday at Rumours. Special occasions need special attention and we are happy that you found that when you were with us. Our little chats from time to time when you were wandering through the carpark were enjoyable for us too, and it's always interesting to hear different aspects of life back home that guests are happy to share with us. You travelled so far to come stay at Rumours and we are very happy that you found it the positive experience it obviously was from your review. Hope all is well now you are settled back into your normal routines. Thank you both so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

This is a big call; but we are placing it No 1 for us Worldwide!
Lots of pictures here to give you a good feel for the vibe. All these photos taken several days in while staying, not the pristine first 10 minutes of arrival. The sunrise is from the deck right on the beachfront.
If you have already booked Rumours you have struck the jackpot, if your looking for a 6 star location and accomodation without the hussle and pretense of demanding wanabee high enders around you, this is the place.
For context; and without risking name dropping ourselves, we have enjoyed over the water, “luxury labelled” stays all over the world.
We’ve tasted so called “5 star romantic views” from room balconies across all of the “listed” romantic cities.
So why our No 1?
As they say in the movie;”The Castle”; it’s the vibe!
Despite it punching on par in all these things; its not the quality of the bed linen, the on demand housekeeping, the free inclusions, the direct access to crystal waters, the 1% touches of detail, authentic caring , service and absolute privacy, but the fact that Rumours for us, successfully blends all of these qualities with the Cook Island friendly culture, beautiful environment and climate, to create everlasting memories.
Depending on your package; yes you get, included scooter or car hire, 1 hour massages in their award winning spa, lagoon cruise and cultural dance evening. You enjoy your own private single and double canoe outside your private deck directly on the lagoon beach: At high tide in 10 minutes after canoeing to the adjacent island, we were both out in the lagoon snorkelling amongst the the most beautiful fish species, turtles and reef life in the world.All the reef shoes, snorkelling gear is complimentary, and for competency; we were no Bear Grylls and partner lookalikes, so you can easily do it. A good part of the lagoon, you can stand up in and still see nature under the water, in all its glory.
Or just rest up in your 100% private outdoor spa bath or waterfall pool, before ordering a villa delivered seafood platter at your balcony table for dinner, gazing at the lagoon waters:
Walk outside into the world on your doorstep ,and after 70 metres, you have a coffee hut that would easily survive in the inner lanes of Melbourne, a wine shop with quality drops, a bakery, a general store, boxing fitness gym to work off your indulgence and a burger joint to contradict the later.
Looking for a good restaurant, experience, or attraction, just ask Tara at Rumours and its all taken care of. You even get a note delivered to your villa, listing and confirming all that has been organised for you, including double checking your own bookings seperate to Rumours to ensure you pickup collection will occur on time.
This is prime honeymoon, romantic, adult only digs, and while we would love to come here again with family and even grandchildren ( because there is that much room in the villas) we get this is not a copycat resort you will find beachside around the world, so if you have kids, them just wait the years like we did and place Rumours on your bucket list.
Rumours is like trying to pick your best ever restaurant.There are plenty you will remember and forget because the name dropping reputation, cuisine and service, all hit the mark or exceeded expectation. Then there are the few; despite the years past, that left you with that intangible feel, special to you both, where notwithstanding the culinary excellence; what you actually ate, is easily forgotten.
The experience and memories at Rumours will never be forgotten.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Whanau12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokeearrow, Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Hello friends. What can we say ! What a beautiful review and so eloquently worded. You were a sheer delight to have stay and whatever we did to enhance your time at Rumours was a real pleasure. We take great pride in how highly you have rated Rumours and our team here, and we will continue working hard to maintain the standard and the confidence you have placed in us by encouraging other travellers to make Rumours their home away from home when taking a vacation in Rarotonga. Should you be in a position to visit our shores again in the future, the warmest welcome will be waiting for you at Rumours.
Thank you so much for the effort you put into this review. It is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews