We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!! Didn't want to leave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Rumours for 3 honeymoon nights in September and absolutely loved it! After being in Rarotonga for 9 nights prior to Rumours this was the perfect ending to an amazing Holiday. The staff were so friendly and we truly felt like royals well staying here so much so we didn't want to leave!

The Views from the villas are absolutely stunning and exactly as the photos portray. The interiors were also beyond amazing and have everything you need. The grounds are well kept and the place is very quiet. Breakfast was also very good and always on time. Overall this accommodation is very luxurious and well worth every dollar, we only wished we could have had more time here.

The staff were super polite and Tara was beyond helpful with our check out and airport transfer. I would highly recommend Rumours for a relaxing luxurious accommodation stay while in Rarotonga.

Room Tip: No tips, everything was perfect!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Kia Orana Meghan H, You had a nice long time in Rarotonga and it was great to read your review and how you found the last three nights at Rumours the perfect ending to your time on the island. So good to hear that especially when it was the very special holiday of your honeymoon. We often hear people say that our villas are even better than the website portrays and this is certainly the best way round to have it. We would hate our guests to be disappointed. Pleased that Tara and the staff looked after you both so well. I do hope that all is well with you now that you are settling into married life and that your time in Rarotonga and Rumours has created many happy memories for you. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 393 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had part of our honeymoon trip here and it was simply amazing. Beautiful villa, excellent service, wonderful views...sadly the sea was a little too rough to swim (that's nature though) but we had a great time there. Highly recommended -we even got upgraded to the beachfront villa which was wonderful and right next to the spa where the facials and massages are great! Thanks for a fab time.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank traveller88888london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Kia Orana folks. It was so nice to read your review and see how much you enjoyed your time at Rumours. The beachfront Spa Villas are a perfect fit aren't they for being able to enjoy Rumours Waterfall Spa easily - only a few steps which is nice not to have to worry about getting in the car/or scooter to get there. You are obviously a well travelled couple and so we are pleased that with all the travelling you have done, you do rate Rumours so highly. We appreciate that and again thank you for taking the time to do this review. Hope your trip back home went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a travel professional myself I have stayed at many beautiful properties so I have no hesitation to recommend Rumours Luxury Spa & Villas. It is certainly the best Villas in the Cook Islands. We were lucky enough to be in the Ultimate Spa Villa which is just pure luxury. Grant and Toni do a fantastic job of looking after you with your privacy always respected.
The Villa's are just stunning, you basically have your own little haven. Although we dined at many great restaurants we always wanted to get back to the Villa as it was just too gorgeous. Being able to swim in the lagoon (though do take reef shoes) and then choose between the spa or swimming pool was fantastic. And the highlight was having our own theatre room with over 500 movies to watch. Compulsory relaxation time!
The bedrooms, bathrooms and all the furnishings are just perfect and the Villas are all very private. I highly recommend staying at Rumors Luxury Spa & Villa it was the best relaxing holiday I ever had and I will be back!
Thankyou Grant, Toni and Carolyn!

Room Tip: All the Villas grades are stunning, but the Ultimate Beachfront is perfection
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Kia Orana S & K, So pleased you were able to return home refreshed and ready to get back into your normal routine. (Well you may not have been ready to, as holidays are never long enough are they). It is good to hear that Rumours is right up there in your opinion - and means we are doing our job as we should. We value your feedback as being in the industry, you are certainly in a position to know what represents a high standard and what doesn't. I hear we are going to be seeing you again next year and that's great, we will look forward to seeing you again then. In the meantime, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just returned home from an amazing week at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa. I never book accommodations without first reading all of the reviews on Tripadvisor. I have to say that all of the rave reviews about Rumours are spot-on which has prompted me to submit my first review.

The villas are just as beautiful as the pictures on their website portray them to be. The moment we entered the property we were impressed and knew we had made the right decision for our stay. Grant greeted us and took time to walk us around and explained the amenities of the villa. The welcome basket filled with snacks, beer, and a bottle of sparkling wine was a very nice touch that we really enjoyed. You can read all about how wonderful Rumours of Romance is, but it isn't until you are sitting on your deck, watching the sun rise over the lagoon that you realize how truly magical it is. Although we wanted to go out and explore Rarotonga, we couldn't wait to get back to our villa for a dip in our private pool, soak in the hot tub, kayak or snorkel in the lagoon, or share a meal/drink on the deck. Just perfect! We loved opening all of the pocket doors and listening to the waves and to let the cool tropical breeze blow through the villa.

Great pride has been taken in this property. The grounds and villas are spotless. Rumours is everything you want or need. The well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds were greatly appreciated. Great accommodations! Wonderful staff! Beautiful views! Great Location! Grant and Toni are genuinely friendly and always greet you by name. They go out of their way to offer tips and bookings of places to go, restaurants, activities, etc.

If you are looking for a honeymoon spot, a place to celebrate a special occasion or a tranquil vacation and want the best of Rarotonga, come here!!!!

Only downside to the area is that there is beautiful coral in the lagoon so you have to get in carefully. Don’t forget your watershoes. Also diners at nearby restaurants in the evening are frequently visited by pesky mosquitoes so repellant is a must.

On a side-note...the day trip to Aitutaki is breathtaking and money well spent.

A big thank you to Grant and Toni for making our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawnya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Kia Orana our American Friends, We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time at Rumours so much - having come such a long way from home, it's really important that your property of choice is up to expectations as otherwise the whole holiday can be spoilt. The best thing about having a small luxury boutique property is that we can retain the personal touches which become a lot more difficult in the larger resorts. Yes a lot of people say that they find it hard to go out and about, they just want to stay and enjoy their villa/pool/beach. Rarotonga has some great scenery though and lots to do if you're into keeping busy, but mostly those who come to stay, just want to kick back and relax. Do hope all is well with you back in Bakersfield and we do hope to meet you at some point in the future. All the best from the team at Rumours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I visited the Cook Islands from New York City for our honeymoon. We came with the hope that it would feel remote and relaxing, and boy, did it exceed our expectations!

A tip for Americans - the Cook Islands version of "luxury" is different from than US, so you have to go in with that mindset. Rumours (which I review further below) is spectacular, and meets every idea of what you would imagine to be luxurious. But outside of Rumours, the island itself is luxurious in a more natural, earthy way, so understand that traversing around the island is absolutely nothing like Hawaii. This is what we loved most about our trip, as we love learning the cultures and different ways of life, but it also took a bit of adjusting in our expectations!

The Villas: we booked to stay in the Romance villa, but were upgraded to the Ultimate Beachfront villa. I was a little confused by this since our #1 desire was to have a hot tub, and I thought it was only available in the Romance villa. But alas, there was an outdoor hot tub in the Ultimate Beachfront villa as well, and it was really fantastic! The water in the pool / waterfall was pretty cold since it was wintertime, so the hot tub proved to be our main "hang-out" when we wanted a dip!

We used the bedroom on the right (the 2 bedrooms seemed identical) - I didn't think the sheets or blanket were that soft, but there was an extra blanket in the closet we pulled out that was VERY comfortable and soft, so once we switched to that one, we were very happy! And speaking of blankets.. my husband likes to sleep in a very cold room, and we were very happily surprised that the A/C got as cold as it did. Impressive in such a hot climate!

The bathroom was gorgeous, and as it was our honeymoon, we enjoyed that it was big enough for us to enjoy together. The water pressure in the shower wasn't too shabby, either.

We got a lot of use out of the kitchen, and I appreciated there were so many pots and pans to work with. We also, as part of the "honeymoon package", had a chef come make us a 3-course meal one night on the BBQ. It was fantastic, such a treat, and we highly recommend that you do this!

I didn't understand the appeal for the movie room at first, but once you're there, it becomes REALLY nice to have. First, it rained a fair amount (we visited in late June 2013), so when all else fails on the outdoor-activity front, it was nice to sit and watch a movie. Second, restaurants are only open for dinner for a short period of time (mainly between 7 and 9pm) so when you get home at night, other than taking a dip in the hot tub (and staring at the UNBELIEVABLE star-studded sky!), it was nice to stay up late and watch movies. And the selection was really great!

Breakfast is incredible - our favorites were the fruit smoothie, fresh fruit (mango, papaya, and bananas), banana bread, and croissants. But there were many more options, and it was fun to try different things each day. Actually, when people ask, breakfast is always our "favorite" part of the honeymoon. We enjoyed getting up early, eating breakfast on the back deck overlooking the lagoon, reading and writing. The water was very still in the morning, and it was very peaceful and quiet outside - the ultimate way to relax!

Internet - given the high cost of staying at Rumours, we were disappointed to learn that Internet was not included. That said, we paid $75 to have it for 20-something hours (I forget), so we then didn't have to concern ourselves with it running out if we wanted to play some music in the background or read the news online.

To my point in the beginning, you have to remember you're still surrounded by nature. So the only annoying part of the week is not something that can be controlled entirely, but that is the ants. We learned early on not to leave snacks out, as we once had some crumbs from Oreos left on the table, and it got covered in ants, yuck! So even though it's your "home" for the week, please remember to clean up after yourselves and don't leave crumbs behind!

We went snorkeling and kayaking once, both were delightful, and we were glad to have the equipment at our disposal. Also, Grant is AWESOME! He was extremely helpful and accomodating, gave great advice for our plans, and set-up some great outings for us (we loved the safari 4x4 trip!) It was nice to have someone available for us to ask questions and help plan out our week, and it also became apparent that the best way to plan dinner is to make reservations in advance (which he helped us with...)

One more tip - our first night, we walked down the beach to find dinner. Beware of the crabs! We are definitely "city" people who forget about such things, so it surprised us that in the dark, with our flashlight, every step was met with a crab running or burrowing into the sand. Eek! After that, we stuck to the road at night. Also, on that same first night, high tide caused the water to come up over the shoreline, so it was a bit slippery to walk through the rocks getting home.

We HIGHLY recommend you stay at Rumours and wish you a wonderful trip. We hope to be back one day, we have so many wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendyL716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Kia Orana friends. Wow, I wish I could put a review together like the one you did. You really did give other possible visitors a good insight into the island, with both positives and some of the negatives due to being on a small island and things being a little different from places such as you mention like Hawaii. However, the positives as you could see for yourselves when you stayed, far outweighed any negatives, and we are so pleased that you could accept island life and enjoy it as it is - simple, uncluttered and good for the soul. Thank you so much for this excellent and well thought out review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

How lucky were we, upgraded to a beachfront villa for our 40th wedding anniversary. I couldn't believe how beautiful the accommodation was, two beautiful bedrooms with netted four poster beds, superb bathrooms with strong hot showers and a full kitchen with almost everything you need, ie a chef. On our second night we had requested the BBQ dinner and so we got our chef then. A delightful fellow called Mal who cooked up so much food for us that we had leftovers for the next night. The villa faces south east so no sunsets but the evening sky put on quite a display one night. In can get quite windy but the front garden with a private pool and sun lounges offers an escape from the wind. Kayaks on the beach are provided and we took them out in the morning when the wind wasn't too strong. Unfortunately the wind did get stronger and prevented any further kayak adventures. Rumours is located about a 15 minute walk from the main centre of Muri which is makes it a lot quieter. A must is renting a little car or in our case a scooter as it makes getting around the island so much easier. Plus the driving license is a nice souvenir of you stay. The staff at Rumours, Grant, Toni and Jone couldn't be nicer and helped to make our stay memorable. Breakfast is brought to your villa at the time you request, a good selection of cereals, breads and drinks. A big TV and a huge selection of movies keeps you entertained at night if you don't want to go up to Muri centre. We went in August and although the weather is reasonably warm it is advisable to take a shower jacket and some long sleeve tops as it can be a bit chilly with the wind.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Kia Orana friends. FIrstly, again our congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary. It is so nice to hear of these long standing marriages in the world we live in now where it is starting to become quite rare. I think it's very special. So pleased that we were able to upgrade you so that you could fully appreciate the best that Rumours has to offer and it sounds as though it did add to your holiday enjoyment. Also pleased the staff looked after you well when you needed them to and that the BBQ was a good one. Do hope all is well with you both now that you are back home and we certainly hope that you can share many more years together as a couple. All the best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Rumours for our honeymoon and found it first rate.
The highest standard & quality for money.
Every need was catered for.
Friended staff & management who could not do enough.
Total privacy & comfort.
Romantic with a magical feel that made our time there so special
We both fell in love with the place & look forward to returning
Mr & Mrs Powell Auckland NZ

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Kia Orana Mr. and Mrs Powell. I guess it is real strange to be a Mrs Powell but very nice. Am so pleased that your honeymoon at Rumours was all you hoped it to be and that the villa you were staying in added to that enjoyment. It will still be an exciting time for you settling back into life as a married couple and no doubt lots to look forward to as you move on with future activities as a couple. Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range: $621 - $1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds, Our all villas having two bathrooms. Rumours guests also enjoy a 20% in house discount on treatments at our Waterfall Day Spa, which has won many World Travel Awards and Luxury Spa awards for 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing