We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutly Beautiful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutly Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Rumors for our Honeymoon this year and was exactly like the pictures!! Everything was perfect!! the beach was so private I think we only saw maybe 6 people our whole stay at Rumors!! I absolutely loved the bathrooms!! The showers were to die for!! We spent a lot of our time swimming int the private pool, it was just perfect temp and so private felt like we were the only people in Raro, wasn't until you went out of the resort you were back in reality! The Breakfast every morning was delicious!! With the beautiful smoothie it fulled me up until late afternoon!! Im not sure what was in the smothie but it was the best I had in Raro!!!!! Our Flight wasnt until late afternoon and we were VERY lucky that Rumors let us stay in our room until our Flight at no extra charge!!!!! If you are looking for a romantic relaxing stay on Raro this is the place to go we couldnt have been more happy or asked for anything more it was a perfect Honeymoon!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Kia Orana friends, Appreciate your review very much. Those smoothies that Toni makes are so thick and filling that you don't need to eat for the rest of the day do you ! She loads the fresh tropical fruit into them. Very good for you though and a real treat while staying as you often can't get the flavour of the tropical fruit unless you are on a tropical island. The showers at Rumours are often commented on and I think it was great planning to make them so big and with the either/or shower heads. A honeymoon is such a special holiday and to know yours was enjoyed so much at Rumours makes us very happy and satisfied that we helped towards it. Hope all is well now that you are settling into married life and we hope to meet you at some point again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
272
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
malibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I recently (early April, 2013) spent two blissful weeks with our two teenage twins at Rumours Luxury Villas in Raratonga, Cook Islands. After deciding to visit an island in the South Pacific, somewhere a bit "off the beaten track", we decided on Raratonga and then commenced our investigation to find the best place on the island to stay. We found it: Rumours Luxury Villas!

From the time my wife first spoke to Carol at Rumours to book our reservation, to being picked up at the airport and brought to our villa, and up until the time we left after our 2 week stay and were driven back for our midnight flight back to Los Angeles, outstanding service with a cheerful smile was the watchword.

Upon arrival, we were met and whisked 20 minutes away to Rumours. We stayed in Villa 7 at the end of the beach adjacent to the spa. Villa 7 was fabulous; from the plunge pool and barbecue in the courtyard to the hot tub on the deck overlooking the ocean, everything was top-notch. The ocean front view during the day and the unobstructed starry sky at night were beyond compare. The villa came with 2 kayaks parked in the sand and all we had to do in the morning was push them 10 feet into the water. The water was crystal clear, full of fish and warm. Make sure and check out one of the best snorkeling beaches on the island; opposite the smoothies shop, Fruits of Raratonga. It's a short 200 meter beach walk from our villa or a 2 minute drive. We snorkeled all over the island and, for clarity of the water and variety of tropical fish, this is the best spot by far!
Every villa has a full kitchen with fridge, stove, micro, coffee maker, etc. A "cook-it-yourself" breakfast (bacon, eggs, croissant, fresh fruit, cereal, bread, etc.) was delivered each day. Lunch was a casual affair (we would suggest Moorings, an outdoor cafe known for their fresh fish sandwiches or their marinated chicken sandwiches, delicious!) or Jack's for the view and pizzas, and for dinner you could dine in or dine out. We love the Tamarind or The Flame Tree for their lovely ambience and delicious food. There are also plenty of places to buy groceries, produce and wine in Raratonga. You could also borrow DVDS from the front office to watch movies or just relax and appreciate the beauty and luxury of the villa and surroundings, or get a wonderful facial
or massage. Our two weeks went by so fast, we were really wishing we could have stayed longer!
Grant, the manager (and Carol's husband) was a pure delight! His team could not do enough to make our stay perfect. He could recommend a restaurant from casual to elegant and was always able to get us a reservation for dinner (even though we often called him late that same afternoon). He arranged for a day trip to Aitutaki, where he arranged a sightseeing tour, snorkeling and fishing charter with Black Pearl. Somehow Grant was able to get us seats on Air Raratonga for the flight at Aitutaki even though their website said they were sold out. He even knew where we could get an authentic handmade ukulele! (He obviously was a magician before switching to the hospitality industry).
We did check out some of the other top rated accommodations in Raratonga, which were nice enough, but just did come close to Rumours for location, views, privacy, and casual luxury. Rumours, by far, is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved Villa #7 for its closeness to the snorkeling and adjacent to the spa and laundry facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moraga827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Kia Orana Californian Family ! Thank you so much for allocating the time this review must have taken you to do. It is very much appreciated, and we are thrilled that you all enjoyed you time both at Rumours and Rarotonga. It certainly has a much different pace to that of California and I guess there are pluses and minuses for both places. Also it's great that Grant managed to get you a great day trip out to Aitutaki. The lagoon out there is really something isn't it. I bought a handmade Ukelele in Rarotonga too - mine was one purchased from the prison there, and maybe yours was too ? Hope to meet you all again at some point, either in Rarotonga or California. Hope all is well now that you are settled back into life there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is are First review of many places we have traveled and stayed in the world. We found Rumours and all of Cooks Island to be terrific . From the moment we arrived to the island , It was just perfect. Car waiting to take us to the most beautiful villas right on the beach. To all that they offer there guest . They really try to make your stay the best with a smile . I can't say a bad thing only good from the great staff to best the spa experiences in the world :) Rumours really dose offer a once in a life experience and I can't begin to say all the fun thing we did on the island with help of Rumours. I don't like to give away all the secrets or you loss the magic. We will return soon to Rarotonga and Rumours The Perfect Get Away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEZSMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Kia Orana Dean and Shannon,
I think we are very honoured that you took the time to do your first review ever and it was on your enjoyable stay at Rumours. We really appreciate that. These days when life is so busy and time so precious and we get a time to have a quick break, it's just so important that it is an enjoyable one and at Rumours we are very conscious of that - and try very hard to have happy guests. I hope all is well back home. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Rumours villa was luxurious, spacious, clean and our hosts accommodated our every need. The villa had a spectacular beach frontage, kayaks and a private spa and swimming pool which was well used. Plus Rumours had a world famous beauty spa which offered us a complimentary massage - a nice touch! We simply loved our "Raro" experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Signall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kia Orana Steve and Liz, Thank you for battling through technology and taking the time to do this review. We really appreciate it and so pleased you enjoyed your time at Rumours. The girls give a pretty good massage too don't they. Hope everything was OK when you got home and back into the routine of everyday life. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved our stay at Rumours, very private & relaxed place to stay. From driving around the island it seems it was quite unique for the area. Most rooms have sea views but its best to check room specifics at time of booking. We stayed for two weeks and we loved the pool, bbq and flexibility to stay in & cook or head out. It was unbelievably clean & tidy, almost like it was newly built. The property is maintained very well.

We hired a car as rumours is a little walk to Muri Beach where restaurants are. Cars are very reasonably priced. It also gave us plenty of snorkelling area options & that experience was probably best I've seen in years, just stunning. Sometimes we were in spots snorkeling on our own which was a wonderful treat.

Grant, Toni & Jone were absolutely fantastic & extremely professional, helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We hope to return one day as its the most relaxing holiday spot we've ever been to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Kia Orana. I am so pleased to hear that your two weeks at Rumours was relaxing and that you found the snorkelling to be so good. There are several great snorkelling spots on the island and pleased you found some of them ! I have passed your review on to the staff as they are always happy to hear that they have done their part to make our guests stay all that it should be. It would have been hard to get back into the swing of everyday life after two weeks of relaxing. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently spent 8 nights at Rumours for our honeymoon and we were very appreciative of being upgraded to an absolute beachfront villa. It was amazing having breakfast each morning right next to the beach and being able to just head off kayaking from our back doorstep. The spa on the deck was lovely to sit in in the evening and watch the waves but we made much more use of our pool on the entrance side of our villa. We were staying in the villa right next to the Waterfall spa which was really handy to go for a massage. Everything about our stay was just perfect and the staff were quick to help with any minor issues we had or information we needed. The only problem we had the whole time we were there was that our included BBQ dinner did not arrive the night it was booked but it was rebooked for the next night which was our last night and arrived then from the place who were supposed to have supplied it. Reef shoes, snorkels, fins and life jackets were all provided. The room was serviiced daily when we went out and beautiful breakfasts of our choice were delivered each morning as a part of our honeymoon package. I'm really missing the pawpaw and fruit smoothies now that we are home but a big thank you to the staff for helping make our honeymoon as magical as it was!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieM301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Kia Orana to you both. Thank you so much for your review. The Spa Villas do make accessibility to the Spa very easy don't they and are a popular choice with guests who are keen to make the most of treatments/massages. So sorry that Deli Foods didn't supply your BBQ the night you ordered it, but we will take it up with them as we would expect better than that. Do hope everything is OK back home and you are well settled now into normal daily routine. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I have travelled quite a bit, and I don't think we've ever come across a place like Rumours before! Our beachfront villa was so luxurious you would think it would be located in a major city or oversized resort -- but instead of city noise, we had the peaceful, relaxing sound of a waterfall in the front of our villa and gentle waves on the back side. We could lounge in our hot tub on the back porch while looking out at the ocean, then go next door to Rumours' spa for an amazing massage. It was so beautiful that some days we never even left our villa! When we did go out to explore, we found an amazingly beautiful island! We toured the jungle on four-wheelers and had picnics on the beach. The owners of Rumours, Grant and Carolyn, were some of the most genuinely warm and caring people we've ever met and I feel sure we would be best friends if only we didn't live halfway around the world from them! We will definitely be returning to Rumours the first chance we get!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Hamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Kia Orana G & J. So nice to hear from you both. Thank you so much for the time you took out of your busy lives to post this review and it gives our team great satisfaction to know that we have had such happy guests and while many guests come and go, it is always wonderful for us when they come as guests and leave as friends. We certainly put you two in this category. Thank you again and we certainly hope to meet up again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.3 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing