We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate Luxury in Rarotonga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Luxury in Rarotonga”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Sensational Villas, sensational service and ultimate island luxury for a wonderful holiday. Thank you Tara and Tony and the team at Rumours. You were exceptional and your Villas beautiful. We will definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
288
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What an incredible place Rumours is... From the service when first booking the trip, all the way to the final drop off to the airport, the team at Rumours have it taken car of. My wife and I spent 10 days in Muri Beach, staying in the Beachfront Spa Villa... the beach is literally on your doorstep. We were married on our deck overlooking the lagoon - absolutely stunning. I think a maximum of 5 people walked past our spot of beach one day... So private and romantic. Tara and the team made our stay 100% perfect... daily room servicing was immaculate - plenty of towels and comforts beyond expectations! I cant rave enough about the accommodation here. We were located near the Spa and Massage centre which is well away from the main reception area. Extremely private and secluded. The spa on the deck overlooking the beach, lagoon and ocean was awesome... Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and nothing was ever a problem. In comparison to the other places we looked at it, this was the cream of the crop. We loved it and cant wait to stay at Rumours again!!

Room Tip: Go the spa Villa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenP0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Rumours is a great place to stay if you are having a splurge. The rooms are fantastic, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, decks front and back, private spa and swimming pool, kayaks at your front door. Breakfast is delivered to your door every morning and the smoothies and muffins are delicious. The only small negative is that the swimming in the sea out the front is rocky as is the case in a lot of Rarotonga. The solution is to jump onto your motor scooter and go 5 minutes up the road for a swim. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I know this sounds a little corny but Rumours really did make our dreams come true! I am so glad we came to Rumours for our honeymoon and we will 100% be back. The Villa was so incredible, we were in one of the Spa Villas and loved being a bit more secluded. We loved that if we didn't want to leave the Villa or have contact with other people we didn't need to because we had everything we needed. We loved having the full kitchen so we could totally seclude ourselves and the Pool was perfect. We are addicted to waterfalls now after having the one in the pool and the two little ones inside. Tara was amazing, it was so nice to be able to call the office if we had any questions or needed more DVDs and knowing they would always have an answer! We didn't take advantage of the in house dining options this time purely because we wanted total seclusion, but I think we will next time.

Another thing we really loved was how quiet it was. I think there were people staying in the Villa next door but we didn't really know because we never heard them. Also the bed is fabulous, we slept so well! 6 nights was just not enough time there!
I have to admit I got a little emotional when it was time to leave the Villa, but again Rumours came through because AirNZ changed our flight time to a terrible 2.45am so we booked the day room which was so comfortable after leaving the villa. All I can say is if we had the chance we would drop everything and go back today and never leave. Thank you to Tara and the other wonderful people at Rumours for making our honeymoon perfect - Cassie and Rodney

Room Tip: We really love the spa villas, 6 and 7 because they are very quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassieCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If only we could have stayed longer! This devine beachfront villa with our own pool in the back courtyard and a spa on the front deck looking over the coral reef surpassed our expectations beyond belief. From the moment we arrived everything was just perfect. The villa is gorgeous finished to the highest specifications and everything you could possibly need for the most amazing relaxing honeymoon is there. Lovely people and excellant service was just the icing on the cake. We loved it so much we are definitely going back hopefully for our annivesary next year and this time we will know to book for longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were in villa no7 by the spa....
There is NO words to descripe this place. It is your own heaven... our villas was in prefect locations as some day you wont see anyone walking pass! We were so lucky to be staying so close by to where the glass bottom boat go by to see the giant clam, we had free kayake that we went out there ourselves..:-) and was lucky enough to see flying fish!
The lagoon is like no other and we been to oz and thailand!

The owners/staff was so helpful and just friendly...

We were there for our honeymoon and will defo come back...

Thank you for making our honeymoon so amazing!

Room Tip: Villa 7 is near spa and very private! GO GO GO! you wont regreat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I've just returned from a 6 night stay at Rumours (Villa 2) and can't stop raving about it!!

Just what the doctor ordered - a luxuriously appointed and secluded beachfront villa, attentive yet non-intrusive on call service and priority access to the day spa and its myriad of wellness and relaxation treatments - the perfect recipe for a totally pampering island escape... pure indulgence.

Room Tip: I stayed in Villa 2 which was in an excellent position on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeTaylor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing