We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay in Muri. Firstly, the beach at Muri is second to none on the island. It has golden sand in a beautiful lagoon setting. Swimming in the lagoon is amazing and it's only an easy paddle over to the island which has an equally as beautiful beach. During low and mid tides you can also walk across. and unlike other parts of the island you DO NOT need reef shoes.

The paddle boards and kayaks at MBCH are free and there's no booking so you can just grab one when ever you want which is really good. Our friends who stayed at other resorts had to pay $20 an hour elsewhere.

The restaurant is great. It isn't cheap but it is quality food.

The Tropical (continental) breakfast is really good, essentially it's a cooked breakfast which is a great way to start the day.

The rooms are great. We had the garden room and found it really spacious, modern, and comfortable with a good deck and a nice bathroom.

The staff were really friendly, especially Bianca. In general the quality of service was great but occasionally it felt as though we were an inconvenience.

The pool is really nice and a nice way to cool down. The beach however is far nicer to relax by, and swim in.

Muri has everything you need in terms of restaurants and diaries etc. nearby with a great Mexican place at the top of the driveway.

My final impression is that this is more of a beach hotel than a resort but certainly a pleasant and quality place. And again, the beach is amazing.

We lucked out with the weather but you can't blame that on MBCH :). Tip...take a light rain coat for the scooter rides.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaunlingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    154
    55
    14
    7
See reviews for
38
400
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

When I arrived at MBCH, I was overwhelmed. The receptionist welcomed me warmly and very friendly. I even got an upgrade to a room with beach front view, which was really nice indeed!
The location is great, right at the beach in a lagoon like setting. Beautiful for snorkeling. However, staying there for 5 days, I found a few things didn't go too well. Some staff members were chatty and friendly, others weren't and didn't seem too interested in the customer. Customer focus can be better on these terms.
The room was spacious, got cleaned every day. But still housekeeping needs to be more attentive, as they left a dirty dish for 2 days in the room until I had to tell them to remove it or they didn't clean stains that were obvious to be cleaned.
Breakfast changes every day, but it's not nicely prepared like you want to go for it. Also teabags are still in their original package, which can be arranged more attractively.
I had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and found it only average quality.
Overall, this hotel wasn't a 4 star hotel to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xplorenewshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotroppo, Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Kia Orana,

Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback on your experiences at Muri Beach Club Hotel. In response to your observations, we would like to offer some reassurances that your comments have been taken on board here...

We have already commenced extended staff training and will be rotating this throughout all departments to ensure that all members are stepping up the mark and delivering the level of service and expectation required of them, both from a guests perspective as well as a management perspective. Customer service will be a key part of this training.

We have also added to the existing housekeeping supervisory procedure and rooms will additionally be spot checked by senior management to ensure thorough cleanliness and attention to detail is delivered. As can be expected, a staff meeting was also held with housekeeping staff to draw their attention to the matters you have kindly brought to our attention to ensure this remains an isolated incident.

We are currently in the process of having decorative tea boxes created on the island into which our tea bags and various flavoured herbal teas can be presented more attractively for our Guests enjoyment throughout their stay.

We sincerely thank you for your comments and would love to welcome you back to Muri Beach Club Hotel in the near future so that you too can benefit from the improvements that have resulted from your candid feedback.

Meitaki Ma'ata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I have just spent a most enjoyable week at the Muri Beach club Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. They have just finished a lovely upgrade to stuff around the pool, reception etc and re-organized the dining room, also new furniture.
We will definitely be going back in the future. If you want peace and relaxation without small children running around etc this the place to go.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colsbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for five days, and the MBCH had its good points and bad points. First the good points. It definitely is located in the best spot in Muri, with an awesome view and easy access to great swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. The adults-only atmosphere was great for avoiding the disruption of noisy children when you want some peace and quiet. The staff were very nice and for the most part very welcoming. The rooms (we ended up staying in 3 of them, more on that later) were very spacious and were comfortable, although the furniture was a bit worn and the towels were not in great shape. The beautiful view from the beachside room was idyllic (don't think I'd want anything but beachside room). Now for the downs. We were arriving on an Air Rarotonga flight from Mauke and had made arrangements for airport transfer to the hotel. Alas, nobody was there to meet us, and we ended up asking for help in calling a taxi to take us to MBCH. When we arrived and discussed what happened, the evening receptionist offered no apology. We immediately went to dinner and when we returned, discovered that our air conditioner was not working (the room safe wasn't working either). The receptionist assured us that maintenance would look into it....the following day. We had to work hard to get the receptionist to move us to another room, and he was insistent that we would have to move back to the original room in the morning (he didn't even want us to take our luggage with us). He then told us how sorry he was.....that this occurred on his shift, not because of our long wait in a sweltering room. We moved back to the room the next day after they repaired the AC unit. Sadly it broke down again the following night, which we sweated through since we knew no maintenance would be forthcoming. We were then moved to our third room, which thankfully worked great. Certainly maintenance issues can happen anywhere, but I was disappointed that we weren't immediately, graciously, and permanently relocated and that the problem was not fixed right the first time. When we took the initiative to speak to Liana, the manager, she immediately apologized and worked to set things right by refunding a small portion of our hotel costs and providing a free bottle of champagne, but at the prices here I have higher expectations.

Room Tip: Beachside room is really the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotroppo, Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your balanced review highlighting Muri Beach Club Hotel's many positives as well as some less positive observations that you have brought to our attention.

Unfortunately our maintenance team were unable to immediately attend to your air-con problem due to it being late at night and our technician only being available from early the following morning. Our maintenance protocol requires a series of procedures be followed to identify the source of the problem. However, after having done this, the unit continued to malfunction, therefore we regrettably had no alternative other than to allocate you an alternative room.

Regrettably there are some matters of maintenance that occur which are beyond our control - despite all our best intentions and preventative measures employed. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have embarked on some significant refurbishment, and this has included the arrival of our new Italian designed furniture which has been placed throughout the property ie. reception, pool area, beachfront rooms and restaurant area. In addition to this we now also have new furniture in the lounge bar area. This has created a fresh, chic and stylist ambiance. The rooms division has also been supplied with our new style of towels and linen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rarotonga and the Muri Beach Club Hotel in the not too distant future, and thank you once again for your compliments as well as constructive criticism
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had 5 nights here. Staff were all lovely and the accomodation aw high quality. The manager was very welcoming and the front desk staff could not do enough to help. It felt expensive but I have nothing to compare it to as I have never had a holiday in this sort of resort before. The beach equipment, free to use was good. The views from the hostel are stunning ( beach side). It appears to be the best placed on the island if you want the archetypal paradise / lagoon image.
The manager had a champagne and canapé reception on Tuesdays which was excellent and informative. A wedding occurred while we were there and we watched the staff trying to ensure everything wax right for the happy couple. But be warned, it does rain in paradise and there can be cloudy days!
The wedding went ahead on the beach as planned, and the hotel left if until 20 minutes before to make the final decision, trying to do the best fir the couple. It is adults only which is good.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms face the beach, it's worth asking for one, although view of the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnephair59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Awesome time, beautiful rooms. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help. Hayley, Wedding Co-Ordinator, made our Eloping, stress-free and perfect. Prices were very reasonable. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 138yvette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our second visit to Rarotonga and chose this hotel after spending most of our time at Muri Beach during our first stay. Muri Beach outside the hotel is spectacular with gorgeous swimming but the hotel does not just rest on that laurel.

With only thirty rooms the hotel is boutique and one of the most luxurious in Rarotonga. Every member of staff was knowledgeable, friendly and went above their duty.

Below is a list of stand out points which will see us return:

1. Small, boutique and luxurious
It was a pleasure walking around the hotel without tourist masses or children. We loved the easy access to snorkelling equipment, boards and kayaks (no signing in for equipment - you can just use it and return it). We noticed and appreciated the boutique luxury compared to the busy and much larger Pacific Resort next door.

2. The best happy hour on Muri
We tried every happy hour on Muri and this hotel was the best. One of our favourite holiday memories was enjoying Jonie's Snickers cocktails on the beach. No other hotel came close. Cocktails are $12NZD during happy hour.

3. Fabulous location for snorkelling and swimming and a good variety of dining options close by. Many other hotels on Rarotonga, whilst beautiful, are isolated in terms of dining options outside the hotel. Muri Beach Club hotel is within a great eating precinct - Mexican, Asian, Sailing Club, bakeries and delicatessens are all close by.

4. The extras we did not expect but enjoyed:
-Free computer with Internet to check emails at reception.
-A super helpful receptionist who booked all our tours and transfers easily.
-Three choices of hot breakfast options which changed daily as well as cold options. The liver was a surprise but quite delicious one morning!
-The manager's cocktail party on Tuesday night which was a great way to meet fellow guests and the management team.
-A special snorkelling excursion to the best snorkelling spot we saw on the island ( west of the Fruits of Rarotonga). This was a definite highlight of our trip.

Thank you Muri Beach Club Hotel. You are worth every dollar and we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Property: Muri Beach Club Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing