We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

What can I say! This resort truly should be 5 stars on service alone! We definitely had an amazing time for our friends wedding!

We stayed at the Muri beach club resort for 7 nights! We went to the cook islands for a friends wedding! I love this resort!

The staff at the resort were amazing! I would like to say a big thank you to Ana, Luke, Jone, Raj, and Kendra for such amazing service! These guys are so friendly and helpful and truly made our holiday memorable! This resort truly should be 5 stars on their service alone! Our holiday was made because of these wonderful people! Its hard to find great service these days and they do it with ease and always with a smile!

The continental breakfast at the resort is great with cereals, toast and fresh fruit! Each day you get a different choice of hot food and you get a menu of the choices when you arrive! But If you are bored with the same thing you can order a breakfast meal from the kitchen! The food was good at the resort but pricey as with most resorts! But I would highly recommend the buffet polynesian night at the restaurant as the food is amazing and the show was amazing! I would also recommend the bbq pork ribs at the resort, they just fall off the bone and are yummy! There are many restaurants around in close proximity to the resort on the main road which are great value for money!

The resort is in a great location and you can get to the town Centre in 15 minutes by car or scooter! You can rent them from the resort for a very competitive price! Scooters are a great way to get around the island! You can explore the way of life in this beautiful location!

The rooms are great and have two queen sized beds which have plenty of space! The beach view rooms would be spectacular! The bathroom was lovely and even had towel drying racks which heat up to dry your towels and bathers! We had a garden view room which was lovely and quiet!

The resort has the best location on the lagoon! You can use the snorkeling equipment and the kyaks and long boards for free to explore the beautiful lagoon! There are 2, 3 and 4 people catamarans for $20 an hour and they are easy to access the islands around the lagoon!

Shaggy and Shaddow are the resorts local dogs that love to join you on the catamarans, kyaks an long boards! I had so much fun using the long boards with shaddow coming for a cruise!

What can I say! I love this island, the people are so friendly I can see how people come over to visit and never want to leave! I could live here easily!

The resort was great in price, location and comfortability, the service is amazing and I will be coming back for sure!

Thank you for a great holiday and great memories!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Zanderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 588 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great location, view, room - apart from the cushions on the sofa, which were dirty -, facilities and food and generally friendly and helpful staff apart from reception staff, one member of which was unhelpful and did not follow through with commitments to us at both check-in and departure. The departure episode involved the cancellation the hotel of a late check out which we had been offered and accepted and had based our final day plans on. It was eventually conceded with bad grace by the hotel manager. We were not offered any apology for either incident. We will not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotroppo, Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for making some time to provide us with your feedback. The only way we can address issues is when we are aware of them, so thank you for helping us in this way.

We are happy to announce we have new furniture ordered and on it's way for the restaurant, the reception and the beachfront rooms, to replace the current ones. As we are a small island in a big ocean everything arrives to us by ship, which can take some time, but rest assured they are on the way and will hopefully be here shortly.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience experienced during your check out. This was completely down to human error on our part and are very sorry about this. Where we can we try to offer late check outs and other services to our guests to make it easier for them. In this case, the member of staff who offered you a late check out did not realise that the next guests due to check in were on an earlier flight, which inhibited us being able to give you a later check out, as there were no other rooms available to which we could transfer the new arrivals. As much as we would love to have been able to provide you with this service, we were simply unable to and our hands were tied. We are very sorry it caused you inconvenience.

We hope that these small instances do not detract from the overall experience both here and in the Cook Islands and we'd love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is in a great location which more than makes up for some aspects of it not being perfect. We stayed as a family - 2 adults and 2 adult children and when we arrived around 2:30am we found that there was something of a mix up with the rooms / bedding arrangements. The night staff did a good job in sorting this out and we spent three enjoyable days at Muri Beach Resort in December 2013. The island night was fantastic. The pool has some dodgy tiles, but so what the water is clean and it is being fixed as well as is possible in what is a remote location. Walking straight out of the hotel onto the sand and then into the sea is great. The resort is within very easy walking distance to a great range of shops, markets, cafes and restaurants. We would stay at Muri Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLFP_WSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great base for exploring the island, this place definitely has the prime lagoon location. Great snorkeling, kayaking, and paddle boarding. Very cheerful and welcoming staff and the 'over 18's only' is a huge bonus for those wanting peace and quiet. Food was adequate - apart from the ribs which were delicious. 'Island Night' is a hoot with traditional dancers and local cuisine. Cocktails were a bit iffy, but will definitely be back to stay at this little gem!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Muri Beach Club Hotel is situated right on Muri lagoon. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. The hotel offers free use of kayaks, paddle boards & snorkel equipment (most others charge per hour).
The hotel itself was a little run down and the food at the restaurant was overpriced and disappointing. Overall we enjoyed our stay as we spent most of our time at the beach, however it would be nice to see this hotel lift it's game.

Almost every meal we had at the restaurant was bland and overcooked. Not to mention too expensive.

We also found some of the staff to be quite rude. I waited over 5 minutes at the bar with 4 staff members in view and not one of them came over to take my order. Sometimes it felt like we were being a nuisance. In saying that, there were some really helpful, friendly and accommodating staff members too.

At about 2am one morning, we heard our locked door handle to our room shaking. We both went back to sleep but about 10 minutes later we were awoken again to our door slamming. Very strange. At about 4am our airconditioner jammed up and started making an extremely loud noise. We turned it off and tried to go back to sleep. Needless to say we both had a very unsettled and restless night.

There were always ants running around on the bed, bathroom sink and benches in the room.

Scooter hire is more expensive from the hotel than Avis which is just up the road at the Pacific Resort. The scooters available from Avis are much newer too.

After paying a lot of money to say at a nice resort, you expect clean rooms, security & friendly staff. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed with Muri Beach Club, however we would return to the Cook Islands - it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for a week in April 2014 at the Muri Beach Club Hotel. It's a great hotel with an absolutely stunning location.

Firstly, the location. Muri Beach is probably the most beautiful beach on Rarotonga. It faces east, so it misses the sunset, but this is more than made up for by the three uninhabited islets just off the beach in the lagoon. The beach is wide and slopes gently down into the ocean. The water remains shallow enough that you can wade not only to the offshore islets, but at lower tides, all the way out to the reef. There is enough coral in the area to attract plenty of colorful fish for good snorkeling!

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a garden room which suited us just fine; note that the beachfront rooms, while giving the amazing views, are probably a little less private.

The hotel gives guests free paddleboards, ocean kayaks and snorkelling gear which was is very handy.

The restaurant makes tasty food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's a boutique hotel - only about 30 rooms - so it can't support an endless menu, but there are numerous options. If you're getting tired of the menu, there are more resorts and restaurants within a few minutes' walk along the beach, and a couple of small corner-store type shops up on the road nearby.

One thing to note - the rooms are on two levels, and there are no lifts to the upper floor; if stairs are a problem for you, tell the hotel this in advance and request a ground floor room.

Service was also really good. On check-in we had issues with the safe in our room and on reporting it to reception, they had a friendly maintenance crew there to fix it up very quickly.

Last thing to note - this is a strictly 18+ hotel. Children and teenagers can't stay here, nor can they visit to dine at the restaurant. If that's what you're looking for, it makes for a really quiet and peaceful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamphappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My now Husband and I recently got married at Muri Beach Club Hotel. Would recommend Hayley Weeks as a wedding planner over and over again to anyone even thinking about getting married! She is an amazing person so much help pre wedding with emails back and forth to NZ then help on the island was exceptional! She made our day perfect (:
Also the hotel - What a great place - we were staying down the road but our bridal party were allowed to lounge by the pool and swim whenever we wanted as long as we purchased a beverage which was not a big ask at all, in the heat all you want is a yummy cocktail made by the staff who always had smiles on their faces.
Would totally recommend the hotel to everyone who wants a chilled out, care free holiday on an amazing beach on the BEST side of the island! PURE BLISS!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyleeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
5.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range: $211 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing