We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Magical!"”
Review of Muri Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Shores
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“"Magical!"”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Previously we have opted to stay in hotels and resorts however, on this occasion we travelled to Rarotonga for a wedding and decided that independent accommodation would be more suitable ....We were certainly not disappointed! ..At the time of booking 'Muri Shores' the Villas were still in the completion stages...Not only did we manage to secure our dates but, we did so with ease....
To date, we haven't contributed to 'Trip Advisor' but after staying at 'Muri Shores it seemed the least we could do.

You will read about the :fantastic, location and extremely well priced brand new villas from the previous reviewers and they are all absolutely correct!....
We particularly enjoyed the deck area - very generous in size and great protection from both the sun and rain.
Apologies Krystina, (as we mentioned at the time) your kitchen and bathroom photos do not actually give a true representation of size - which is in our opinion was definitely larger than they appear!...Despite, a technical issue which resulted in a lack of photos (apart from the wedding we attended) - but, there is already a good representation.

We would also highly recommend the 'Food market' (behind the Villas) ... What an asset - beautifully cooked local dishes and so well priced - a lovely atmosphere as well.
AND, No... you don't have to go without your 'fat whites' either...L.B.V. on the verandah is fabulous - go early if you want a sweet treat!

Snorkeling in close proximity was best around the Islet to the right (looking from the deck) 'Ta'akoka', I think?!

As I mentioned earlier we were in Rarotonga to attend a wedding - which was a wonderful day.....We even managed to travel the short distance by scooter ( in our 'wedding clothing!') a unique experience and so much cooler than a car!

Unfortunately, a holiday for us always involves some work and we found the internet a pleasure to use ....A quick 3 minute stroll to the 'Teleshop' and then a pleasant surprise to discover the quickness of operation.

However,the input of our hosts to our holiday was extremely special ... Holidays for us are about the people and the culture of the place we are visiting .Despite visitng Aitutaki and Rarotonga a couple of times previously, this trip was by far the best! Like everything in life, balance is important and our 'time' spent with: Kristyna, Mii and Willy was something we will never forget -
Above all, they were incredibly respectful of our privacy, but there for us....

Meitaki maata!!!

Room Tip: Both Villas are well positioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRaffills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at one of the Muri Shores beach villa's for four days. It turned out to be everything we wished for and much more after our New Zealand trip.

Both villa's are beautifully located beachfront and decorated stylishly. They would definitely qualify for best spot on the island with ease. Everything was very clean and new. Eugene and Krystina and their family are lovely people. They made us feel very welcome from the first minute we arrived till the airport drop off.

If you ever have the chance to visit this wonderfull island in the pacific, make sure you'll rent one of the muri shores villa's, oh and try the locally freshly baked donuts, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Muri Shores Villa at Muri Beach was the start of our long holiday. The Villa is spacious and has everything you need for a holiday in Paradise. We cooked mostly ourself and had dinner on the balcony right at the beach. Restaurants are in walking distance and just next to the villa. The villa is very clean and is probably on the best spot of Rarononga! Kitesurfing is just right at the beach in front of the house. There's enough space to set up the kites and to launch them. Also the locals come here to the beach for kitesurfing. Krystina and Eugene and their family aro such lovely hosts! They are very helpful with advices what to do an to see. We forgot to book transport, so they did for us. Thank you so much for everithing! We will come back!

Room Tip: Both villas are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChJeanneret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 6 days at Muri Shores and had the most relaxing time in the villa. We were there during the week of Christmas and had the opportunity to experience island life during the holidays. We also had the good fortune of meeting Krystina and Eugene who were such gracious hosts. They were so accomodating and beginning to end. When we arrived there was a lovely basket of fresh fruits.The villa itself is tastefully decorated and had all the amenities you will need for your stay. Since many of the restaurants were closed on a couple of days, it really helped to have a fully equipped kitchen so we could make our meals (which was a lot of fun) and enjoy it on the deck facing the lagoon. There is plenty to do in muri and the water in the lagoon is shallow, so you can literally walk or swim across the lagoon to the islet (Koromiri). You don't even need a kayak but if you wanted to carry a few things along to have a little picnic then it might be helpful to rent one. We didn't. It was helpful to have a rental car to get around the island. It rained during the first two days, so we enjoyed driving around the island and stopping at local shops at the city center to grab a bite. There are a handful of restaurants within walking distance to the villa. Te Vara Nui is also closeby if you'd like to experience traditional dances and buffet style island dinner. Take reef shoes for swimming in the lagoon. In the villa, you'll find pots and pans, silverware, plenty of towels, iron, umbrella, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, TV and dvd player, laundry detergent (if you're staying longer, there' s laundry facility a few miles away), refrigerator, microwave etc. We bought plenty of bottles of water from the market and stored it and it came handy. There's a bus stop right at the edge of the road, a very short walk behind the villa. I took the bus once to go to the Punanga Nui market on saturday. We also did a one day tour to Aitutaki with lagoon cruise and I would highly recommend it. My husband did the cross-island hike and said it was challenging. I think it took him 2 hours from start to finish at a pretty brisk pace. The Wigmore waterfall was a bit disappointing...it was a trickle when we were there. If you're travelling from the US, be sure to take the relevant adaptor to charge your electronics. All in all, I would highly recommend Muri Shores. Thanks for everything Krystina and Eugene.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 8 nights at Muri Shores and it was by far the best spot on the whole island! Everything we needed was right on our door step such as Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruises (Which we highly recommend doing) Kayak hire, paddle boarding, shops, scooter hire and more. The accommodation is second to none and provides you with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Eugene and Krystina were superb hosts, very welcoming and willing to assist us in any way if need be. We will definitely be back to spend more time at Muri Shores! Paradise on your doorstep!!

Room Tip: Choose Muri Shores! Any Unit! You wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemore08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had 10 days here at the end of November. Brilliant location right on the beach, Muri beach is our preferred location in Rarotonga, had 10 trips over the last 15 years for holidays or work. Spotlessly clean and modern, only built this year. Good internet reception via the Telecom wifi but you do pay for it. Owners very friendly and helpful. No laundry but there is a service available. Even though close to Sails (bar/restaurant) noise was not a problem. Great option for couples, if back on our own definitely would return here. Thankyou Krystina & Eugene

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have visited the Cook Islands several times over the last 28 years, so I was aware of the absolutely superb location of this property. When it comes to Rarotonga and Muri Beach you cannot get any better! The huts are less than a year old and very well appointed. You will find everything you need in the kitchen to prepare a quick breakfast or a nice meal. The bed is actually comfortable even for a picky sleeper like me. The bathroom is spacious and super clean. Our favourite was the patio, where we had every meal during our 2 week stay. You can just relax there and watch all that is happening on Muri beach, from the paddle boarders and sailors to the outrigger race practices. While you can see all that is happening the huts are slightly set back, so that there is still a sense of privacy and quite.
Perhaps one of the best things about this property are the owners Krystina and Eugene. From my first inquiry, throughout the booking process Krystina was always prompt to replay to my queries. Once we arrived we treated more than fairly by the property owners. They picked us up from the airport and transferred us to our hut immediately. The whole time we were there we felt more like treasured house guests of a very hospitable Cook Island family than paying guests. They were really concerned for our well being and did all they could to make sure we had a great time! I can only commend them for their kind and warm hospitality as well as their attention to detail when they furnished the huts!
Another bonus of the location is the proximity to the 2 times weekly food market right behind the property. You can just meander over and have your choice of honest and homemade food prepared by Cook Island families, all at a very reasonable cost! There you can either mingle with locals or other tourists or you can just pick up whatever you like and walk back to your hut and enjoy your dinner on your own private patio in peace and quite enjoying the incredible views of the Muri Lagoon.
We found we did not even need to rent a scooter or car as we could easily walk all over Muri, with just minutes to the bakery and 2 little convenience stores, or just hop on the bus if we wanted to go into town.
In closing I have to agree with the other reviewers that I fear that once the secret is out how fantastic these huts are, that we may never get another chance to obtain quick booking!

Room Tip: With only 2 huts to chose from either one will be just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretagetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Shores

Property: Muri Shores
Address: Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Shores is absolute beachfront situated in the heart of Muri on one of the most prime beachfront locations that Rarotonga has to offer. The brand new accommodation consists of two fully self-contained studio villas at a total size of 55 sq meters offering a kitchen fit with modern amenities, a bathroom and bedroom that allows you to awake to the mesmerizing sunrise and magnificent views of Muri lagoon...the only lagoon on Rarotonga surrounded by mini islets. Our greatest feature is indeed our large semi exposed veranda offering you the flexibility to sit back and relax in the shade or move out into the sun to capture the warmth of paradise on your skin...all in the comfort of your own private studio. Muri Shore studio villas is located on the eastern side of Rarotonga and is a few steps away from the pristine waters of Muri. Facilities within a 2 minute walk are: restaurants, convenient stores, vehicle hire, lagoon cruise and water equipment hire, cafes, beauty salons, pharmacy. We look forward to welcoming you to our shores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muri Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Shores Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing