We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't fault this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We went to Rarotonga for 10 nights and for the first 5 nights stayed in Room 106, a beachfront suite on the ground floor. It was the closest accommodation to the beach you could get and we loved it - stepping off our deck onto the sand. (There were also 2 suites upstairs for those who prefer to be on the upper level). Though the Resorts' Beach Equipment Hire area was next door we were never disturbed by them, and we had no other immediate neighbours.

Room 106 was spacious with beautiful decor, in very good condition, and when our air conditioning stopped working we made a phone call and somebody came within 20 minutes to assess the problem. We then went out on an(other) adventure on our scooter only to return later in the day and the air conditioning serviceman had been and fixed it. The only other problem that arose was that our kettle started playing up. A replacement kettle was delivered promptly.

The Pacific Resort put on a special evening for Valentines Day in the beachfront marquee. We asked if we could have our table out under the stars and the staff had no problem in meeting our request. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the Resort is so well maintained we were amazed, with beautiful lush gardens. We were so happy with everything about the resort that we returned probably 3 more times AFTER we had moved into Palm Grove Resort - for breakfast by the pool, for happy hour and to view some rooms for our next trip.

We also viewed the poolside bungalows and these too were very lovely inside. So lovely in fact that we will likely book two of these on our next trip in August - one for the mother-in-law. We can't wait to return to Pacific Resort, and may even stay at Pacific Resort Aitutaki (which I have heard is even better!) for a few nights as well! We wouldn't hesitate it recommending it to everybody but do recommend that you pay the money to upgrade to whatever you can afford.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrangipaniAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Pacific Resort Rarotonga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

We spent a glorious 10 days staying at the Pacific Resort , Muri Bay, Rarotonga in February 2009. The people are very friendly and it's a beautifully relaxed life style and all at a reasonable price. We stayed at the Pacific Resort and it's a great hotel, set in beautiful gardens. If you stay there book a garden room. It is set in a beautiful location by a lagoon, has a beachfront restaurant and is near to some shops and eateries. The staff are great and good fun tas well! The island has a bus service which runs a clockwise bus and an anti-clockwise bus and the Pacific Resort is about 15 minutes by bus from the main town on the island.
The main attraction for us is that Rarotonga has tourists but doesn't have a big tourist industry to go with it and if you go to shops or the weekly market you don't get goods thrust at you. If you want to buy something you do, but you won't be pushed to buy. If you go try 'Pas walking tour' and you will walk from Pa's house into the centre of a rain forrest, learn all about the local vegetation and herbs and see some spectacular views.
The biggest danger on Rarotonga seemed to be falling coconuts! there are trees laden with them every where and as you walk along the road you often here a thud as one falls to the ground.

1  Thank nitramh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights as a quickie addon trip out & back to/from Auckland whilst on a 6 week NZ holiday from the UK.
With its laid back style, beautiful safe lagoon and great facilities it has to be the place to stay on the main Cook Island. With free kayaks, snorkels etc, the time just sailed by. Good accommodation and food, too hot to do much else but laze under the palm trees - but take the clockwise or anticlockwise circular bus to see the rest of the island.
Hope to be back - but it's just so far from home in the UK.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

An Awesome resort with stunning gardens. Reminded me of a mix between Bali and the Jungle Cruise in Disney.You really feel you are in a tropical paradise.
The Beach and lagoon are very pretty, and there is a very romantic patio bar, with a toes in sand restaurant, with fantastic food and servise.
PLEASE do not forget your sand fly repellant, but that is the only downside.
The sister resort in Aitutaki is equally as stunning, but in a more classy and trendy way.
Do not stay anywhere else if you visit the cook islands.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sallySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We were celebrating our Silver wedding anniversary and had just a marvellous time. Just the two of us and plenty of privacy, yet staff there if required.
The resort is on beautiful Muri beach and the beachside villas are perfect.
Food was good and service very friendly.
The resort is close walking distance to other eateries if you wish for a change.
Free kayaks, snorkel... to have just a paddle, or wish to check out the corals and fish which are impressive.
Alltogether a great spot for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ricardo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

On our 2nd visit to Rartonga our family of 4 (Mum, Dad, Miss 13, Mr 8) stayed at the Pacific Resort for 8 nights in January 2009.

We struck a lot of rain (ok we knew it was the rainy season) but it didn't stop us snorkelling, swimming and kayaking.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom garden villa to give us a little more space. The 2 bathrooms (which could do with an update) were great and the laundry facilities were a bonus. It was also great having an inhouse DVD player for those rainy nights (we purchased really cheap DVDs from Tukis in Avarua - hmm were they pirated? - we didn't ask!). The brochures advertised the villa at 120 square metres but I think that was a bit of a stretch - possibly they included the outdoor garden area.

The resort has a lovely tropical garden feel to it. It was a very short stroll to the beach on Muri lagoon.

We liked the location (last time we stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa). Miss 13 liked the bigger lagoon this time meaning she could kayak to the little motu (island) in the lagoon.

The kids club catered for 6 year olds and older but it was a bit hit and miss. It centred around outdoors activities which would sometimes be cancelled (due to weather or whatever). This meant we couldn't leave Mr 8 at the resort for a couple of hours (like we could do at the Rarotongan) because we couldn't be sure activities would run. That said when activities did happen they were fun - crab and prwan hunting, kayking trips, boat trips to the motu.

The hotel restaurant was expensive for dinner (not so bad at lunch time) $180 for 4 of us for dinner (not including drinks). However there were other cafes, restaurants and a fish and chip shop just a few minutes walk rom the reort at Muri Beach. (Trader Jacks and Cafe Salsa in Avarua we can highly recommend.)

Staff at the Pacific Resort - some were great, especially the staff at reception and the activity hut staff. But the restaurant staff were not so cheery.

We had a fabulous time but next time I think we will go back to the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa or try a private villa hire (Te Manava villas owned by the Pacific Resort but a kilometre down the road looked great with their private pools).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuataragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My family and I have just returned from the Pacific Resort after spending 8 perfect days in the brilliant Rarotongan sun.

From the moment we stepped off the plane and entered the arrival lounge the scene was set for a wonderful holiday.

We were given complimentary bottles of cold water and an eis was placed around our necks.

We were collected very efficiently by the resort mini bus and enjoyed a relaxing drive from the airport to the hotel, where, we were greeted by an informative and friendly concierge.

We were booked into two suites, rooms 212 and 213. Our three daughters in one and myself and my husband in another.

Our rooms were on the second floor and we had superb views of the beach and beyond, out to the reef.

My only gripe about room 212 was the fact that we could hear our neighbours in room 211, there seems to be a fault with sound proofing. In my very inexpert opinion it seems that when building the complex the ceilings were not properly insulated or sealed. It felt as though we were in an echo chamber. Fortunately we had cheerful neighbours and their noise was happy noise, but we could still hear them quite clearly late into the night.

The cleaning of the rooms was excellent and the facilities were excellent. No Smoking signs would be a good idea. Our room "stank" of stale smoke.

The room service food was c_ap and quite expensive, we only did that once !

The restaurants were fantastic and we enjoyed a $50.00 free beverage credit per room each day.

The restaurant staff were always unfailingly helpful and polite.

The only disappointment with the restaurant was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinner.

The whole point of our family holiday was to celebrate Christmas with all the trimmings away from home.

I booked both these dinners before leaving Auckland through my travel agent and everything was confirmed.

However, the resort lacked the Christmas spirit and there were no decorations or any Christmas music and both the dinners were excellent,but, they were certainly not "Christmasy". The hotel was "flat" and even the entertainers on both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day could not be persueded by any of the guests to sing Christmas songs.

We later found out that the resort is owned by a Jehova Witness consortium and that they don't believe in celebrating personal birthdays let alone Christmas.

We will return again to the Pacific Resort, however, if we go as a family again we will definitely book Christmas at one of the other restaurants.

The beach itself was brilliant and we all enjoyed many water activities. The resort could definitely do with some more loungers. It is frustrating when there is not enough equipment.

Local wandering dogs were also a problem. There was a pack of four large dogs which visited the beach day, they soiled the beach and would not respond to their owner,when she tried to call them, basically the dogs were not under control. On several occasions there could be up to 6 or 7 dogs all running around and annoying people on the beach.

The beach staff were amazing and it was a real luxury being able to order drinks on the beach and have them served to you while still lounging on towels or the loungers (when they were available).

We did not want to leave. It was a very relaxing and treasured time for our family to stay at the Pacific Resort.

I and my husband have decided to go back in a few weeks for our wedding anniversary - seeing as it is a BIG one.

The staff , including the Beach Hut boys and girls and the service
they gave was outstanding. We enjoyed a superb holiday.

PS: Just watch out for the very rude and obnoxious customs officers when leaving Rarotonga. I am well travelled and they have to be the rudest and most power crazy individuals I have encountered.

I would most defintely recommend the Pacific Resort to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pacificflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range: $283 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing