We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the South Pacific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the South Pacific”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We spent a glorious 10 days staying at the Pacific Resort , Muri Bay, Rarotonga in February 2009. The people are very friendly and it's a beautifully relaxed life style and all at a reasonable price. We stayed at the Pacific Resort and it's a great hotel, set in beautiful gardens. If you stay there book a garden room. It is set in a beautiful location by a lagoon, has a beachfront restaurant and is near to some shops and eateries. The staff are great and good fun tas well! The island has a bus service which runs a clockwise bus and an anti-clockwise bus and the Pacific Resort is about 15 minutes by bus from the main town on the island.
The main attraction for us is that Rarotonga has tourists but doesn't have a big tourist industry to go with it and if you go to shops or the weekly market you don't get goods thrust at you. If you want to buy something you do, but you won't be pushed to buy. If you go try 'Pas walking tour' and you will walk from Pa's house into the centre of a rain forrest, learn all about the local vegetation and herbs and see some spectacular views.
The biggest danger on Rarotonga seemed to be falling coconuts! there are trees laden with them every where and as you walk along the road you often here a thud as one falls to the ground.

Helpful?
1 Thank nitramh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    309
    76
    34
    24
See reviews for
425
443
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights as a quickie addon trip out & back to/from Auckland whilst on a 6 week NZ holiday from the UK.
With its laid back style, beautiful safe lagoon and great facilities it has to be the place to stay on the main Cook Island. With free kayaks, snorkels etc, the time just sailed by. Good accommodation and food, too hot to do much else but laze under the palm trees - but take the clockwise or anticlockwise circular bus to see the rest of the island.
Hope to be back - but it's just so far from home in the UK.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

An Awesome resort with stunning gardens. Reminded me of a mix between Bali and the Jungle Cruise in Disney.You really feel you are in a tropical paradise.
The Beach and lagoon are very pretty, and there is a very romantic patio bar, with a toes in sand restaurant, with fantastic food and servise.
PLEASE do not forget your sand fly repellant, but that is the only downside.
The sister resort in Aitutaki is equally as stunning, but in a more classy and trendy way.
Do not stay anywhere else if you visit the cook islands.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony into the gardens
  • Disliked — leaving it to come home
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sallySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We were celebrating our Silver wedding anniversary and had just a marvellous time. Just the two of us and plenty of privacy, yet staff there if required.
The resort is on beautiful Muri beach and the beachside villas are perfect.
Food was good and service very friendly.
The resort is close walking distance to other eateries if you wish for a change.
Free kayaks, snorkel... to have just a paddle, or wish to check out the corals and fish which are impressive.
Alltogether a great spot for a great holiday.

  • Liked — Beachside
  • Disliked — Airconditioner
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weliington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

On our 2nd visit to Rartonga our family of 4 (Mum, Dad, Miss 13, Mr 8) stayed at the Pacific Resort for 8 nights in January 2009.

We struck a lot of rain (ok we knew it was the rainy season) but it didn't stop us snorkelling, swimming and kayaking.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom garden villa to give us a little more space. The 2 bathrooms (which could do with an update) were great and the laundry facilities were a bonus. It was also great having an inhouse DVD player for those rainy nights (we purchased really cheap DVDs from Tukis in Avarua - hmm were they pirated? - we didn't ask!). The brochures advertised the villa at 120 square metres but I think that was a bit of a stretch - possibly they included the outdoor garden area.

The resort has a lovely tropical garden feel to it. It was a very short stroll to the beach on Muri lagoon.

We liked the location (last time we stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa). Miss 13 liked the bigger lagoon this time meaning she could kayak to the little motu (island) in the lagoon.

The kids club catered for 6 year olds and older but it was a bit hit and miss. It centred around outdoors activities which would sometimes be cancelled (due to weather or whatever). This meant we couldn't leave Mr 8 at the resort for a couple of hours (like we could do at the Rarotongan) because we couldn't be sure activities would run. That said when activities did happen they were fun - crab and prwan hunting, kayking trips, boat trips to the motu.

The hotel restaurant was expensive for dinner (not so bad at lunch time) $180 for 4 of us for dinner (not including drinks). However there were other cafes, restaurants and a fish and chip shop just a few minutes walk rom the reort at Muri Beach. (Trader Jacks and Cafe Salsa in Avarua we can highly recommend.)

Staff at the Pacific Resort - some were great, especially the staff at reception and the activity hut staff. But the restaurant staff were not so cheery.

We had a fabulous time but next time I think we will go back to the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa or try a private villa hire (Te Manava villas owned by the Pacific Resort but a kilometre down the road looked great with their private pools).

  • Liked — Extra space in the villa
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuataragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

My family and I have just returned from the Pacific Resort after spending 8 perfect days in the brilliant Rarotongan sun.

From the moment we stepped off the plane and entered the arrival lounge the scene was set for a wonderful holiday.

We were given complimentary bottles of cold water and an eis was placed around our necks.

We were collected very efficiently by the resort mini bus and enjoyed a relaxing drive from the airport to the hotel, where, we were greeted by an informative and friendly concierge.

We were booked into two suites, rooms 212 and 213. Our three daughters in one and myself and my husband in another.

Our rooms were on the second floor and we had superb views of the beach and beyond, out to the reef.

My only gripe about room 212 was the fact that we could hear our neighbours in room 211, there seems to be a fault with sound proofing. In my very inexpert opinion it seems that when building the complex the ceilings were not properly insulated or sealed. It felt as though we were in an echo chamber. Fortunately we had cheerful neighbours and their noise was happy noise, but we could still hear them quite clearly late into the night.

The cleaning of the rooms was excellent and the facilities were excellent. No Smoking signs would be a good idea. Our room "stank" of stale smoke.

The room service food was c_ap and quite expensive, we only did that once !

The restaurants were fantastic and we enjoyed a $50.00 free beverage credit per room each day.

The restaurant staff were always unfailingly helpful and polite.

The only disappointment with the restaurant was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinner.

The whole point of our family holiday was to celebrate Christmas with all the trimmings away from home.

I booked both these dinners before leaving Auckland through my travel agent and everything was confirmed.

However, the resort lacked the Christmas spirit and there were no decorations or any Christmas music and both the dinners were excellent,but, they were certainly not "Christmasy". The hotel was "flat" and even the entertainers on both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day could not be persueded by any of the guests to sing Christmas songs.

We later found out that the resort is owned by a Jehova Witness consortium and that they don't believe in celebrating personal birthdays let alone Christmas.

We will return again to the Pacific Resort, however, if we go as a family again we will definitely book Christmas at one of the other restaurants.

The beach itself was brilliant and we all enjoyed many water activities. The resort could definitely do with some more loungers. It is frustrating when there is not enough equipment.

Local wandering dogs were also a problem. There was a pack of four large dogs which visited the beach day, they soiled the beach and would not respond to their owner,when she tried to call them, basically the dogs were not under control. On several occasions there could be up to 6 or 7 dogs all running around and annoying people on the beach.

The beach staff were amazing and it was a real luxury being able to order drinks on the beach and have them served to you while still lounging on towels or the loungers (when they were available).

We did not want to leave. It was a very relaxing and treasured time for our family to stay at the Pacific Resort.

I and my husband have decided to go back in a few weeks for our wedding anniversary - seeing as it is a BIG one.

The staff , including the Beach Hut boys and girls and the service
they gave was outstanding. We enjoyed a superb holiday.

PS: Just watch out for the very rude and obnoxious customs officers when leaving Rarotonga. I am well travelled and they have to be the rudest and most power crazy individuals I have encountered.

I would most defintely recommend the Pacific Resort to everybody.

  • Liked — The superb rooms
  • Disliked — The smell of the beddding and towels
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacificflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Pacific Resort Aitutaki for 8 days/7 nights in October 2008. We were in a “Garden Suite” type room (#6).

Check-in was fast and efficient, even though there were several couples on the transfer bus with us and we were all checking in at the same time. We were also pleasantly surprised that our room was ready for occupancy at 7:00 AM after the overnight flight from LAX. The front desk staff (front desk clerk & tour desk/concierge) at Pacific Resort is great—friendly, warm, and responsive. They are knowledgeable and handled all of our requests throughout our stay with ease and efficiency.

Most impressive was the way the staff handled a problem we found upon occupancy of our room—one of the air conditioners was dripping water onto the head of the bed. Several of the pillows were very wet and the head of the mattress/sheets was wet. Fortunately, we discovered the problem before we unpacked, so we returned to the front desk to advise them, expecting to be moved to a different room. The clerk made a couple of quick calls, and then advised us to have a cooked breakfast (on the house-no charge) at the restaurant. They would move us or otherwise resolve the problem while we ate. Midway through our breakfast, the manager approached us, apologized appropriately, and advised us that they had fixed the A/C, changed the mattress and sheets, returned to us the room key and told us that our room was ready. We were very pleased with the way this problem was handled.

We found most of the food and bar staff helpful and friendly, although most work on “island time”, which is a bit slower than we are used to in the U.S.

The facility is impressive. Clean, and very lush—you do not easily feel the size of the resort. The reception foyer is open air with a comfortable waiting area and very small boutique.

The pool area is located at the far opposite end of the resort from the beach—an arrangement we found to be odd. Although large, there are not a lot of loungers at the pool, and much of the area is shaded by the lush foliage, except at midday. The pool was a very comfortable temperature. There is no bar near the pool—you use the phone to call the bar to order beverages—they deliver—slow, but it works.

The beach at the resort is very nice, clean, and quite large. The sand is quite soft. Being on a lagoon, there are no waves, and Muri Lagoon is quite shallow—waist deep for quite a distance from the shore. There is a shower at the Activities Hut for rinsing. Sea Cucumbers are a lagoon staple in the Cook Islands, especially in the shallow areas. All the resorts/beachfronts we saw have them. So bring your reef shoes/water socks—they do a good job of keeping your feet protected. Having said that, the quantity of cucumbers at Pacific Resort is fewer than we saw elsewhere. Lounge chairs are available but they are limited, so you may not always get one when/where you want them. In addition, they are heavy, so if you want to move one, ask the dudes at the activities hut!! The activities hut is adjacent to the beach with all the usual water sports toys and the staff is very friendly. Beach towels are provided as needed. Although snorkeling gear is provided by the resort at no charge, there are few fish and coral in the immediate lagoon area at the hotel. To see fish & coral, you will need to kayak a ways out to the reef or to one of the nearby islands.


Our bungalow, a garden suite, was spacious, clean and well appointed. Except for the A/C problem noted above, we had no repair or maintenance issues. There is plenty of storage space. We rarely saw the housekeeping staff, even though they service the room twice a day. The small patio area was lushly landscaped, providing good visual privacy, however due to the close spacing of the rooms, we could sometimes hear our neighbors on their patio. The patio is furnished with a table and two chairs and covered to protect from rain showers and sun. All the furniture in the interior of the unit was in good repair and quite comfortable. We did not have the shower problems noted by others and we did not have the insect problems noted by some here on TA.

There are two main venues for dining, and their use is governed by the weather. The primary area is the large covered open air dining room, nestled just inland from the beach, surrounded by lush landscape and situated next to the stream/pond that runs through the resort—a very pleasant spot. Weather permitting, dining is also available in the patio area adjacent to the bar, extending to the beach with your choice of open air w/ umbrellas or a covered area with canopy. Beach seating is wonderful—warm sun and sand in your feet over morning coffee or dinner is hard to beat!! There is also a bit of booth seating in the bar area which can be used for meals.

The food at the resort was very good to outstanding. Breakfast is continental buffet (included with our package), or a-la-carte from the menu. The buffet had all the usual items including a good selection of juices, cereals, fresh Danish and breads (the croissants were quite good), fresh fruits, yogurt, etc. We ate from the a-la-carte menu on one occasion: an omelet was very good, but the waffle selection was not hot. We dined at the resort only once for dinner—on the beach! Our salad selection was a bed of rocket w/ cranberry walnut dressing topped with deep fried camembert cheese—quite tasty. Our main courses were Grilled chicken Kabobs and Mahi-Mahi w/ a side of creamy mushroom risotto. Both were very good, properly cooked and well presented, but we think not quite as good as the prices would suggest they should be! We did not have lunch proper at the resort, but did on two occasions, order appetizers mid-day. The were both standard appetizer faire, good, and the staff added the extra touch of delivering them directly to out loungers on the beach!

Of note: the location of the resort is within walking distance of several other restaurants/cafes, so it is not necessary to take all meals at the resort.

The front desk is also staffed with a tour concierge/car/scooter rental person, on duty during most of the day. We used this no-charge service on several occasions without problem or incident. We also rented a car from the desk for one day—prices were just a small amount higher than elsewhere on the island—and worth the extra $ for the convenience. The car was clean and had no mechanical problems.

Overall we were very please with out stay at Pacific Resort Rarotonga. If we have the opportunity to return to the island in the future, we would definitely consider a repeat stay at this resort.

  • Liked — Location, room amenities, beach
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCrackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing