We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So beautiful here!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family and i have just spent 10 days at this resort. I can not say enough about how fantastic our holiday here was. Perfect stress free white sandy beach for the children. awesome being able to wade over to another island with the kids. Eat your dinner with your feet in the sand. This place felt like an adult resort but had a great family atmosphere. The Beach Hut crew were super cool with the kids for kids club. All of the staff were so friendly esp our favourite waitress Billie. She was superb and always catered to all we needed as a family. Make sure you catch up with her when you go. The rooms were great and had everything we needed. Very sad to leave as it was the best stressful free family holiday i have ever had with the kids aged 6 and 8. Thank you so very much Pacific Resort. You are our new destination and we will be back!

Room Tip: We had the Garden Suite. A balcony to use for your drinks after the kids go to bed! Good size tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huminbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    310
    77
    34
    24
See reviews for
432
444
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Pacific Resort

Hotel is clean, tidy and most of the staff are welcoming and friendly. We got off to a rocky start with some of the service (asked to be moved away from a table of loud and noisy family of 10... Only to be told that all the other empty tables (5+) away from the group were booked...we managed to find a table in a different area - we ate our dinner and had a few drinks all the while no one occupied those empty tables... anyway that was a minor issue and didn't ruin our night.

The beach hut crew are very friendly and only too happy to help give advice, we loved paddle boarding everyday - only disappointment is that they charge $10NZD per hour per board... Got a bit expensive over 5 days. The kayaking was rather difficult as they are basic with no back support straps... However they are free to use.

Being the only 4 star property on muri beach that is child friendly means the resort is taken over by loud children (not the resorts fault, but worth noting if you were after a relaxing holiday).

Tini (not sure if that's the spelling of her name) was extremely helpful when making bookings through reception.

Billie providing endless entertainment in the restaurant and bar - such a good vibe and personality to have.

Tip: don't bother hiring scooter from Avis, Anna who was the service agent was the most rudest I've ever come across - while telling us that you can only hire scooters from her if we had a motorbike licence was an absolute joke. We discovered that the keys to the scooters were locked in the duty managers office who wasn't starting for another hour! We ended up hiring from the place next door for cheaper.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Col E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hands down, Muri beach is the best on Rarotonga. We stayed here on a family vacation besore heading off to Aitutaki. Food was great. Only downside is that the rooms are now starting to show their age....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famishedtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully kept garden setting of resort. Swimming, snorkelling kayaks at your fingertips. Staff lovely esp. Beach Hut and reception. Daily cleaning if rooms to high standard . Restaurant food delicious but let down by slow and unresponsive service.Overall, a great resort in excellent location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank booboo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family have stayed here once every few years for the last decade and a half. We are not even tempted to try any other accommodation on the island.
The best part about the Pacific Resort Rarotonga is how friendly it is. From the way the staff at reception ask how your bike ride / hike / trip to town / massage went, to how easy it is to strike up a game of beach volleyball with another family. Despite being located on the best stretch of beach on the island, with well designed villas and bungalows surrounded by beautiful gardens, and having a first-rate restaurant (the buffet breakfast is only outdone by the dinner menu)... what stands out to me is the welcoming nature of the place.
There is something about the intersection of decadence and simplicity that brings about a serene contentment. This shared bliss in turn allows for a sense of community to develop, which draws us back again and again.

Room Tip: No rooms are safe from the roosters that crow before, during, and after dawn. My advice is to chuckl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

the minute you step into the resort you feel like you're on holidays. The rooms are a generous size, and the overall property is nicely spaced out so you don't feel like your constantly bumping into people.
It appears to be very popular with Aussie and Kiwi travellers, a few i spoke to have been to this resort multiple times.

The rooms are a mix of renovated, and those with a 90's vibe. so maybe ask for a new one if available.

the beach bar is great for lunch or a great spot to navigate a tropical cocktail menu

Room Tip: ask for a 'newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Hancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Kia Orana! We spent the recent Christmas (2013) at the Pacific Resort, Muri, and we couldn't be happier. The location is perfect for all ages as the water is shallow and safe (regarding a previous review about Trigger fish: I saw plenty on my daily snorkeling and wasn't attacked once. Even the Giant Moray Eel nicknamed Charlie, left my fingers and toes alone! It is recommended that you wear reef shoes, however, in case of stone fish) and the readily available sun lounges were perfect positions from which to lazily view the picture postcard lagoon. We kayaked daily and our teenagers tried paddle boarding, all easily arranged by Matt and the great guys in the Beach Hut. Despite this minimal exercise I managed to gain 2.5kg in 9 days - perhaps testament to the yummy food (I totally recommend the shrimps in the papaya bowl, as well as the fish and chips), but more likely due to the prowess of cocktail maker extraordinaire, Jeni, and her charming aide, Claire. Those Pina Coladas were delicious! We stayed in two 2-bedroom apartments and they were very clean (as was the whole resort - immaculate, I'd say) and had all the amenities we could want. I put myself through an e-tox so I can't vouch for the internet access though my son bought a SIM card from the teleshop in town and I believe you can do the same from the one across the road from the resort. Although the food was great here, we did venture out to some other restaurants and the staff were so helpful in recommending places and making bookings for us. A big shout out to Ani, the Manager, too - you obviously run a great ship and you should be very proud of all your staff. I'm now working on my budget so I can bring the family back for Xmas 2014!

Room Tip: Families of four will find the two bedroom units a perfect size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing