We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have just returned from Pacific Resort. First of all I was a little disappointed, as we chose basic cooking facilities over child-free when looking for a place and a microwave was listed in the amenities in the room we were looking at, but it didn't have one. The manager later offered to have one put in the room and I am sure if I had advised them earlier it would have happened sooner. The only other thing to complain about was that the kayak tour around the islands didn't take place and we were told that was because they were short staffed. We went on our own, which was not a problem. Anyway everything else was fantastic. The setting was absolutely lovely, with beautiful gardens and right on the beach. The room was a decent size, with a nice sitting area and a small decked area at the back. When the safe wouldn't work properly due to a flat battery someone came to fix it within about 5 minutes. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The food was also very good. We also had a great snorkelling cruise, which I had never done before. We would certainly go back and would recommend it to anyone. The only other suggestion is that darker curtains would have been good as we got woken up early by the beautiful sunlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    312
    77
    34
    24
See reviews for
435
446
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at Pacific Resort in Oct which was fantastic, lovely tropical setting and brilliant staff. We had a standard room (open plan king size bed, small kitchenette, a couple large sitting chairs, tv, separate shower/toilet, outlook to tropical garden, small private outdoor area with two chairs and table) which was clean and tidy and attended to daily.
Staff were warm and happy to assist with any questions we had. We ate the tropical breakfast every morning which was fresh & plentiful. Also had numerous cocktails at happy hour with the friendly staff. One night also had meal at the resort which was as equally as good as anything you can find in restaurants of the same level in Christchurch, service was excellent too.
Holiday was a very relaxing one. Pleased we choose Pacific Resort after checking a few others out around the island, Pacific Resort certainly had that tropical island feel & it was just perfect especially as it was our first visit to a Pacific Is, already planning a return visit with the family.
Also very close to cafe's that made the best coffee, about 5 minute walk up the road to LBV & Delicious. Resort is also close to La Casita (Mexican) & The Rickshaw (Asian style street cafe) both had excellent food. Also highly recommend going to the Markets in town on the Saturday morning, excellent local fare. Also ate at Cafe Salsa in town, was very good.
Another good thing about Pacific Resort is there is an Avis rental desk right at reception so really easy to hire scooters or vehicle, you can get a temporary Rarotonga licence for $2, which gives you 24 hours to go and get your licence at police station, so you are instantly mobile. We recommend getting some wheels if you want to explore the island. The bus is fine but sometimes (well most times) its not on time. Bus is $8 return or $5 one way per person. You can hire a scooter for 3 days for $50.
Muri beach lagoon is also the best on the island after checking out different areas we were really pleased we got it right first time, was windy when we stayed & the resort has complimentary kayaks & snorkelling gear, you can just paddle (or walk) across the lagoon to the island where it is sheltered from the wind and have an amazing day sun bathing, relaxing or snorkelling.
Thumbs up, just do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milnef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Resort Rarotonga in October 2013 and absolutely loved it. The staff were amazing, facilities brilliant, food and beverages sensational and our lagoon view villa was perfect for our family of five! We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone with or without kids...although if you do have kids, it is fantastic as they are well catered for and the kids club staff are brilliant with them. Our room was huge with plenty of room for the whole family - a little dated but still stunning. The main bedroom upstairs has a beautiful view of the lagoon from the bed which was just amazing to wake up to each morning.

Room Tip: Our friends had a garden view villa which was more modern than our lagoon view but ours was definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is our second stay at Pacific Rarotonga. Things change and after 4 years we certainly felt a difference. The room was great we had a premium garden room which ad a large lounge area and bedroom little kitchen unit and a wonderful large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Our room was clean and comfy only suggestion move the TV into lounge area out of bedroom. We were close to beach so a good spot room 15. Bar service and ,meals was friendly and meals good value Billie certainly stood out and made everyone feel very welcome thank you. We did feel however that the service this time round in some other areas a little lacking. The new letter we received this time round was a little repetitive, last time it updated us on any weddings taking place and when the music etc would be turned off not this time.
The beach hut was supposed to offer a number of activities but when I turned up I got a 5min blurb then that was that. But all in all a clean spot close to some nice cafes and restaurants if you want to eat out of the resort and kid/ family friendly. If you are looking for a more secluded couples escape make the effort and head to the sister resort in Aitutaki instead.

Room Tip: rm 15 close to beach, big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The beach restaurant at this hotel is open to the public and this is where we dropped in for lunch. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a wide range of dishes to choose from. The service was excellent and the view was fantastic. The dress code is whatever you happen to be wearing to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleBbB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Pacifc Resort ticked all the boxes for us and more than met our expectations having initially reviewed this and others on-line before deciding. We also took into consideration comments from family and friends that had been to Rarotonga before. We were looking for some quite, privacy, beach and relaxtion without the hussle bussle of sme of the busy mainstream hotels.
We found staff and service at Pacific great. Room was excellent and well serviced. We were given the impression that 'nothing was a problem' and always with a smile and greeting.
The second level beach front room is the best choice (for us) with great view and privacy.
Breakfast buffet was fine and we found that most restaurants were of similar price for meals. yes they are a little more than perhaps NZ or Aus, but not unexpected due to cost of bringing in food from overseas. If you are happy with local produce its even better. We plannaed on spending abou $100(NZ)/2 adult each night and this came very close with entree man and a drink or two.
Take the chance to Hire a scooter and trip around the Island. Its great fun and yu can come and go at your lesiure. The tow buses that run on the hour each way will cost $5 one way or $8 return and there is only one stop rather than a segment cost, a scooter cost $50 for three days.
pacific. The Resort is onoy abot 15-20mins drive/scooter to town and is one of teh closer resorts to town. The Resort does not offer the romantic sun-set but does have great swimming for adults and children in the idealic lagoon, awesome snorkelling around Taakoka Island in waste-deep water and plenty to do....or nothing if your wish is too just chill out and relax.
All in all we will be back here.

Room Tip: Beach-font second level for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here two years ago and again in October 2013 - I have to say that the first visit was much more impressive than the second.
We felt like the resort was just letting those little things that really make a big difference to guests slip and it is becoming more of your average family resort rather than something really special like it was two years ago and like it's sister resort in Aitutaki.

For example - most flights out of Rarotonga leave between 5pm and midnight and the hotel used to allow for automatic late check-out so guests could shower/nap prior to their airport pick-up. This visit we had to pay $250 and were told we could only stay until 6pm, despite our flight leaving at 1am and knowing that no one would be checking into that room, nor would it be cleaned, until the following day.

Also, despite booking nearly nine months ahead of our arrival, our two parties didn't get rooms anywhere near each other - in fact, you could say they were at opposite ends of the resort. Despite expressing our dissatisfaction with this and also with the quality of one room we were told nothing could be done unless we were wiling to take a room with no view at the back of the resort with no reduction in the tariff. The bathrooms in some of the beachfront rooms are well in need of a re-vamp and our shower/mirror had mould growing in the grout,etc. whereas the other party, who paid the same tariff, had a beautiful large open planned modern bathroom in a room that fronted directly onto the sand.

That said, it is the most beautiful location on Rarotonga - the beach is literally like a giant swimming pool, where the water is crystal clear and clean and the sand is soft and white. The staff were extremely friendly at all times, even when delivering the bad news about the late check out! In particular, Billie in the restaurant was so happy an efficient waitress (so much so that she waded out into the water to show people the happy hour menu!)

The food at the resort is amazing - we worked our way through the menu and we were not disappointed once. Happy hour was very nice, too!

This place would be perfect for families - parents can sit on the beach with a cold drink and kids can play in the water right at their feet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway for two then I wouldn't recommend it as much as I would have if you asked me two years ago.

If I go back to Rarotonga I think I will stay at their sister resort, Te Manava, owned by the same hotel chain, where the 'luxury' that we became accustomed to in Pacific Resort Aitutaki might be matched.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite 13 and 14 are the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing