We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location”
Review of Sokala Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sokala Villas
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“fantastic location”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Sokala Villas are in a beautiful location at the quiet side of Muri lagoon. The wooden villas have plenty of space and are nicely decorated. Some have a . Free use of kayaks. Very friendly manager on side. Flametree Restaurant (just around the corner) is our recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurgen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
127
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

A very peaceful small resort, with very friendly and helpful hosts. This is a top location for a relaxing holiday, private and peaceful, on the lagoon and close to some great restaurants. The Villas are roomy with views over the lagoon. Facilities at the resort include canoes and a great lending library. One of the great recommendations was a sports massage service with top practitioners. Having our own huge deck and swimming pool was an experience in luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsogno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Highly recommend Sokala Villas, beautiful setting, right on beach front, Lawrence and Susan the Owner and Manager are fantasticly helpful and friendly, Well maintained and presented, scrupulously clean and tidy each Villa has its own pool and deck, deck chairs, BBQ , handy to Dairys, Resturants, Laundromat, Scooter Hire, and Muri Beach the best in Rarotonga ' A dream come true "

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Briars_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

WOW what a place. Fantastic villas, Sokala Villas are beautifully set out alongside the white sand shores of Muri beach. These stunning villas offer privacy, romance, peace and tranquility. The Sokala Villas are all about relaxation. Bring a good book (as here are no TV's in the villas) and just relax by your own private pool. You can be self contained or take advantage of the excellent amenities nearby including Scooter hire (a must do), ATM services, 5 or 6 restaurants all within 50mtrs of the Sokala. Susan and Lawrence are brilliant host who are a joy to meet. All in all a 10 out of 10. Sokala Villas are good value for money and ideal for singles, couples (especially) who want to find that little special paradise in the South Pacific. Hardest part about the Sokala Villas was having to say goodbye. thanks Susan and Lawrence. We will be back. Wayno

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank the_Doach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We have just got back from a week long stay in Rarotonga, having stayed at Sokala the last couple of nights. The only regret we have, is that we did not stay at Sokala the whole time. This place is amazing, your own private peice of paradise.

Very clean, and has everything you need. Fully self contained, even comes with a bbq.

What more could you ask for, private villas in a top location with a beautiful deck to enjoy your very own private swimming pool, and amazing views of the gorgeous lagoon. The staff are fantastic, thank you Susan and Lawrence - you guys rock..!!!!. The best place to stay on the island, and only 10 mins from town. A short stroll to shops, restaurants and easy access to the local bus every hour.

Thanks again guys, will definately be back to visit you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debznz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The setting on Muri lagoon and the grounds are simply beautiful. Sunrise over the motu is not to be missed. The staff is very helpful and they really make you feel like a guest in their home. The villas are a little rustic, but are huge, clean, and comfortable. There is no restaurant on the grounds, but there are several good ones within a short walk. Sokala is a small resort, so if you're looking for a lot of action and structured activities, then you may be disappointed. But if you want to experience the essence of the south Pacific, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradw1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights in a beachfront villa with a pool. We had a beautiful view of the lagoon though at low tide, you can see the tops of the coral between motu 1 & 2. Lawrence advised us not to kayak around that area due to low water levels. Sokala Villas provided us with all we needed, where to eat, where to see a cultural show, kayaks, where to snorkel nearby. Susan was also helpful in arranging our transport to and from the airport and checking with the airline to make sure our flight was on schedule, I hear flights can be cancelled if there aren't enough passengers. Upon arrival, we were given a welcome fruit basket and a few essentials for our fridge like champagne. The were enough supplies that we could have breakfast without much trouble each day. The water and the beach near the hotel was gorgeous, crystal clear, calm and somewhat shallow but perfect for snorkeling. My favorite part of the stay was the time we spent lounging on the deck by the pool. We watched the stars, watched the sunrise, and sipped on mimosas. Waking up each morning to the sunrising through our sliding door was amazing. While there are no children allowed at this hotel, there are children allowed on the property just to the north of this one and we did get to hear a wailing baby several times in the night. If this hotel was just 500 yards south of it's current location, it would have been perfect as far as the beach at low tide conditions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljmzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
4.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
4.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokala Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokala Villas

Property: Sokala Villas
Address: Muri Lagoon, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokala Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sokala Villas Hotel Muri
Sokala Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing