We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Shangri-La cottages”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved Shangri-La cottages”
Reviewed March 6, 2007

If your looking for a layed back vacation, with a bit of water sports, kayaking, snorkelling, laying at the pool, reading a book -this place is for you!!!We enjoyed a self service cottage, Elliot, the owner was friendly, and always had clean sheets and towels each day if you wished. You were on your own to go exploring on the island, hiking, 7 restaurants within walking distance, serving great food. Internet cafe very handy and a convenience food store just at the end of the property. Lily-the maid, gardner, was a very special lady. We loved visiting with her, and she was so concerned about us Canadians turning a bright red in the sun!!! We enjoyed 14 days down there, and would go back in a heart beat. There were a couple rainy days, but didn't stop us from going into town on the bus, or just sitting back reading. It cooled off the sunburns. If your a T.V. fan-this place is not for you-as there is only one channel and it starts at 3:00 P.M, each day. The Island nights were lovely, we had a few windy days, so snorklling wasn't that good. Muri beach is everything the brochures show. We loved Rarotonga and the Cook islands.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Maybeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    92
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
99
109
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

My fiance and i (Helen & Dennis) stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 07. From the very beginning when corresponding with Elliot i had a good feeling about this place. Elliot made the booking process very easy and even arranged transport from the airport for us.
The cottages where everything we required, clean, spacious, equiped with cooking facilities, separate bathroom with a spa bath (came in handy after the cross island walk) and airconditioning. Ours even had a view of the lagoon. In our opinion Shangri La is located on the best part of the island - Muri beach, is away from the crowds but has shops, eateries and transport close by. The cottages were also very quiet due to Elliot's policies - this was greatly appreciated. We also had glorious weather for the 2 weeks which really helped.
Elliot is a great guy, friendly and always willing to provide information about the island, its history, politics, places to eat and shop and activities to do. We are not naive, we did our own research as well, but Elliot was always spot on. Special thanks is also owed to Lily, who maintained the cottages to perfection, was always happy to have a chat and even for showing me how to crack open coconuts using a machete.
For those that are thinking of going, do go. Here are some tips from our experience:
Restaurants: Vaima (Hi to Gina and Sharmaine) and Tamarind House (Sue) are excellent. Pick up the cookbook while at TH.
Activities: Definately the Cultural Village (Hi James), The Cross Island Walk (it is hard work but Pa is great fun and Wigmore Waterfall is fantastic) and definately the Aitutaki day trip (cheers to Phil), Aitutaki is out of this world! Church and the markets are also musts.
Pearls: Klassic Pearls and Farm Direct offer great service and value. Also do stock up on soap, perfumes and local liquers at the Perfumes of Raro (the lovely Grace will help you out).
The Cook Islands are beautiful and the people even more so. Once again a big thanks to Elliot and Lily for making our experience there as pleasant and comfortable as we could have ever hoped!

  • Liked — Self contained with full amenities, location, price, peaceful/quiet and Elliot & Lily.
  • Disliked — The crab in the swimming pool (was promptly removed). Never posed any real threat.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Den11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

We loved everything about Shangri-La. The airconditioned cottages are spacious, clean and attractive with everything that is needed for a comfortable stay. Elliot and Lily dealt with everything in a quick, friendly and efficient way which helped to make our stay perfect. The cottages are a few steps from the best beach in Raratonga (in our opinion) with some of the best swimming on the island and there is free use of kyacks and loan of snorkelling equipment and reef shoes. There is also an excellent swimming pool with loungers and a couple of inflatables. We loved being able to walk along the sand to have dinner at one of several excellent restaurants nearby, which also overlook the beach and the lagoon with its islands. It is a good secure site with well tended gardens and lots of beautiful flowers. There are shops within a short walking distance that can provide all the essentials necessary for a self catering stay and there are inexpensive buses and taxis if you don't hire your own transport.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — The island buses are a great way to get around.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We have stayed at Shangri-la on numerous occasions and have enjoyed every visit. We did not see Elliot this trip as he was away but he had a wonderful lady called Lilly looking after Shangri-la.
We cooked most nights on the barbecue and then sat outside our cottage looking at the lagoon, watching the sun go down, absolute heaven! If you are looking for accommodation you should not go past Shangri-la as I am sure like ourselves you will keep going back to the Cook Islands.

  • Liked — Privacy, able to cook for your self, scenery
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Having contacted Elliot back in February it was finally the moment of truth, had i booked the right place for us.
one glance out of our bungalow window settled it, yes i had.
the bungalows are well set apart from each other giving plenty of privacy. the swimming pool is set out so that four couples can be seated at the same time and not hear what the others are talking about, more chairs are set out by the small path down to the beach, each bungalow has its own patio complete with table for eating/ drinking outside as well as two loungers.
The bungalows themselves are clean and well cared for.
having used Trip advisor to see what others had to say about Shangri La i had taken the advice given and asked for Bungalow no 7, this one gives a direct view down the garden to the lagoon.
it is definitely the one to have.
Elliott supplies snorkelling gear, reef shoes, and kayaks, oh yeah my favourite mode of transport. i managed to get out of going in one until our last day, still i survived..........
Thanks to Elliotts rules the resort is tranquil and enjoyable, no rowdy behaviour, no children ( i have done my share both of taking the children on holiday and enduring the behaviour of other peoples children)
Elliot is very good at recommending places to go and people to see.
He recommended the internet Cafe literally a five minute walk down the road, run by Doug an escapee from London. Doug makes the best milkshakes ever, ask my husband. Doug also opens on Sunday, when you get there you will realise how rare that is.
We had one meal at Trader Jack, this has to be done.
Shangri La is ideally situated being right on Muri Beach, the place to be, and there are shops quite close, just turn right outside the gate.
The Island Bus stops right by the Shangri La sign. The bus is a very good way of getting round the island. There are two buses and one road, so one bus says clockwise and the other says anti clockwise......so whichever one you get will get you where you want to go.
As previously mentioned Cook Islanders do not believe in shops opening on Sundays, but you must make a point of going to one of the Churches if only to hear the singing.
Another point about shopping in the Cook Islands, they close at 4.30 in the week and 1.00 pm on Saturdays, this can come as quite a shock to the system.
Do go to one of the Island Nights, they are well worth it.
we used Elliotts early bird options which was a very good idea, merely by taking our own towels and bedding back to the office to be changed we saved a lot of money, see the web site for full details.
would i recommend this delightful place to stay to others? yes as long as they do not want Bungalow 7 when i want it

  • Liked — the view, the layout, the thought that had gone into the laying out of the site
  • Tips/Secrets — keep an eye out for special offers with Air New Zealand and take advantage of Elliotts early bird offer. also for visitors from the UK it is worth knowing that Raratonga is only four hours flying time from Auckland therefore it could be combined with a trip to New Zealand, if i had appreciated this fact i would probably have done this
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Annl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm. AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2006

My partner (unfortunately deceased in May) and I have spent several vacations on this wonderful laid back island. Our last three vacations, out of seven, have been spent at the newly constructed Shangri-la Cottages on Muri Beach. These cottages are completely furnished with kitchen facilities (But if you wish to eat at restaurants ,the nearby Flame Tree is highly recommended. ) .Elliot and his extremely friendly Black Lab, Princess, are helpful gracious hosts!

There are two-three local stores nearby, but it is very easy to board the hourly bus into the main centre---all of which the air-conditioning is open windows---a joke of a delightfully humourous driver.

An ATM is now available there---the currency being their own, but NZ currency is accepted at par.

We became avid snorkellers in the lagoon. It is reasonably shallow with little in tidal motion----a great feeling of safety for me, a beginning swimmer. As well our morning walks along the beach were another habit.

South Pacific beats Hawaii any day!

Kaye Fisher

Helpful?
1 Thank KayeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, N.Z.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We spent a week at Shangri-La Cottages and were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. The rooms were, clean, spacious and the jacuzzi bath was a bonus. Elliot is very helpful, he is a wealth of information and has some interesting stories to tell. Lily did a great job of keeping the place tidy, the gardens and pool were very nice. Princess the labrador is a lovely dog who seemed to spend quite a bit of time guarding her patch of the beach from other dogs. What a dog's life! Muri Beach is a great location - the beach is beautiful and the snorkelling is amazing. Everything you need is within walking distance - shops, restaurants, internet cafe etc. The internet cafe had just opened when we were there in late August (Deli-licious) - excellent if you need to check your email. They serve great coffee - the best we found in Muri Beach. A short walk along the beach are several good restaurants. We tried Sails for dinner - very nice. The Pacific Resort also very nice. I would give the Muri Beach Hotel a miss though - expensive for what it was.
The weather was not particularly good the week we were there - most days were very windy. We stayed in one of the garden cottages which are still very close to the pool but are more private than the pool cottages and give good wind protection. However, it does help to be a deep sleeper if you are staying there because unfortunately there are roosters nearby which start very early in the morning, 4.30am! We found closing the windows and leaving the overhead fan on during the night helped drown out the noice somewhat. Still a great place to stay and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Liked — Clean and well equipped rooms, jacuzzi bath, great pool.
  • Disliked — Roosters
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own coffee plunger
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendy_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Property: Muri Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing