We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!!!”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our reservation got transferred to here because Muri Beachcomber where we initially booked had a no under 12 kids policy. Long story but we ended up here.

Place is excellent in every regard.
Right on the Lagoon.
Free use of Kayaks, snorkeling etc
Excellent Pool and deck around it.
Clean grounds and beautiful surrounding gardens.
Super friendly owners and staff. Very helpful with suggestions on what to do, bookings, car rental etc.

We loved the free coconuts from the maintenance guy who was always keen for a chat.

The owners told us they are going 100% green use of power with there investment in solar energy which is very good and makes them first one on the island to achieve that.

Room Tip: all the rooms unique in there way, really depends on you budget and needs size wise we had the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash_84nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    97
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
103
110
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights in July 2012 for our wedding (52ppl). We had 14 of the 20 rooms for ourselves and guests. A lot of us had children and this was the perfect place for that. The kids played in the pool for hours while we watched from our villas or the poolside. The rooms are great, have everything you need, clean and comfortable. The BBQ area was great and we used it a lot however it would be good if they had portable bbq's that you could put outside your room as it is right beside the outdoor dining part of the restaurant and I felt that we were 'stinking out' the other guests with our bbq while they dined.
Our wedding was PERFECT! I feel like I hardly organised anything. The ceremony on the beach front deck was beautiful. We went for the deluxe package for our reception and it was worth it, the set up for the dinner was beautiful and the wait staff were fantastic at making sure our guests never went with out.
The staff were so friendly and helpful and my 9y/o would like them especially mentioned as he thought they did a great job and always said 'hi'.
I guess if you were looking for somewhere quiet and romantic to stay this wouldnt be the place if it was full with big groups, but if you are family or friends travelling together it was absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CWBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

There were 29 of us in total at the resort and it was MORE than amazing.
The staff were not only helpful they were welcoming and friendly.
We spent 6 nights relaxing, exploring and having an amazing time.
Our wedding was held on the deck overlooking the lagoon and we were so thrilled with all the amazing work the ladies did.
We stayed in the beachfront villas but our guests were spread out over all the other rooms and we were all very happy with them.
There were room fans, heatpump, fridges, microwaves etc.
The cafe/restaurant was not only reasonably priced but tasted great to.
Definitly going back to Muri Beach Resort when we are back in Raro next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great but the beachfront one we stayed in was amazing. We could hear the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebekah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Everything about Muri Beach Resort was amazing. We had the two bedroomed villa round the corner from the office and it was a really great location - close to the pool and the restaurant and with lovely sea views from the lounge and even better when seated on the loungers on the deck.

Very comfortable beds and a good arrangement for a family. The only thing I would comment on negatively was that for self-catering accommodation, the kitchen wasn't very well equipped. We could have done with a full complement of glassware, mugs, bowls etc (enough for the number of people sleeping in the room would have been good) although, full credit, when asked about this it was remedied by the staff member on duty in the office.

The staff were absolutely top and nothing was ever a problem. Especially making cocktails in the afternoon! lol

I would highly recommend this property to others - exceptionally good value for money and a high standard of accommodation. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for a seaview! Poolside villas looked nice too. The others seemed tucked awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brainyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Greeted at the airport by someone with a Muri Beach sign, great first impression. We then made our way to the van where we had to wait 40 mins as there were not enough seats, yet they knew how many of us were arriving?.
Walking into the resort it looked great, grounds were beautiful and the sun was shining.
We booked a garden view room and this was perfect for what we needed. Room was clean and had everything you need, plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery.

Service and quality at the cafe is what let this resort down. Even tho our group had booked the entire resort the cafe was still unwilling to go the extra mile e.g would not give any oil for bbq, didn't want us to use their knives. basically unwilling to help out in any way
Food at the cafe was also not cheap and very average.

This resort is fine if you are after a no frills holiday but if you want luxury stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for sea view or pool villa as there is basically no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A brilliant place for a relaxing holiday,with just enough to do.The best side of the island.Great staff and cafe.We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would love to go back again.Wonderful for kayaking and snorkellng and the pool at the resort was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at the Muri Beach resort for my daughters wedding. Most of my daughters wedding guests stayed at the Resort and it was just a wonderful setting for the days before her wedding, getting to know each other and spend a relaxing time in such pleasant surroundings. The whole resort is beautifully set out, the gardens are immaculate. The atmosphere is intimate. The accommodation very comfortable. The staff were brilliant and went out of their way, especially on the day of the wedding. Chrissie and her staff at the Aquarius Cafe were wonderful and the food delicious. Everything was just perfect. Hopefully we'll be back again and will definitely stay there. It was the perfect atmosphere for the wedding with the backdrop of the beautiful lagoon. I strongly recommend the Muri Beach Resort for anyone looking for a place to stay on the island and for a perfect location for a wedding. Thank you to everyone at the resort for a wonderful time. Jayne Clarke.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne Wright C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Property: Muri Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing