We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Paradise”
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our holiday was so good we are already planning to return. It was great having a self servicing villa with the option of cooking at home or going to one of the many restaurants nearby. Lots of extras added to our enjoyment such as Toby the very friendly gardener "help yourself to the bananas hanging by the pool", kayaks, snorkelling gear (if you so desired), swimming pool (for those who don't like sea slugs), small library, shuttle to and from the airport with points of interest outlined on the way. There are lots of sea slugs in the water which look like black sausages and put me off swimming in the lagoon but you could still see the tropical fish etc behind Taakoka Island from the seat of a kayak. Everything you need is just down the road, cafes, vehicle hire, internet and grocery shop at the gate. We hired electric bicycles for $19 a day from Polynesian Bike Hire. They just about get you round the island if you don't want to pedal and you don't need to go to town to get the licence required for scooters and cars. You just take the battery out and recharge it at night. For our last day we hired a car for $52 and got a temporary licence for $2 from the hire company for one day. The weather was very unpredicatable and it rained every day but that didn't matter as it wasn't for long.

Room Tip: We stayed in a spacious villa but checked out others and they all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    93
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
102
109
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We recently stayed at the resort after a recomendation by our travel agent,what a lovely place
The staff and owners where just so friendly and the resort first class from our delightful garden villa to the well kept grounds and pool,the option of doing you own catering or using their breakfast service which we did (lovely fruit)

Just a short walk thru the gardens to the beach which looked a picture with the white sands and turquoise blue of the lagoon,very safe to swim,snorkel and kayak in.

For those not wanting to hire a car like ourselves the local bus stops every half an hour and you have the option of a single,return or 10 trip pass very good value

The office staff were very helpful, booking our tours which were without exception very good and well worth the cost, especially the Progressive dinner a great way to meet the locals in their homes

Lost of books in the little library area + games etc,snorkel gear,swim fins etc all supplied free as where the kayaks

All in all a fabulous place to relax & enjoy the lovely warm weather and island food we have been to Rarotonga before and will definately be going back and the Muri Beach Resort will be our home away from home

Room Tip: There is an option of Poolside,Garden or Beach I only saw inside a couple of them but they were love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis2NthShoreAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashhurst
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved it here - the apartments were clean, light, private and well equipped, the gardens are beautiful and the lagoon setting is too.

We like to be independent and we could come and go as we liked but the staff were helpful if we did need to ask for anything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Staff were so friendly and helpful-nothing was too much trouble for them.
Rooms very comfortable/spacious/clean.
Am definitely planning to return to rarotonga and would not go past Muri Beach Resort for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Springs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The resort was very comfortable and the villa was quite spacious with a separate seating area which we found we used a lot. It was nice to have a lounge area to sit in when we watched TV some evenings instead of having to lie on the bed. We chose the daily service option with breakfast included which I would not choose again as I found the meal to be very repetitive. Having a small kitchenette would have enabled us to prepare our own food but we made the choice to have daily service. Overall though I thought the resort offered very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru NZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We all say we go on holidays but this would have to be the ultimate meaning of the word.
Our first trip to this island paradise - simply a real holiday - relaxation, fantastic accommodation, location was supreme, the staff at Muri Beach are to be comended on how they made everyone there feel so welcomed. This is a definite to lock in for any up and comming time you deem as a "holiday" - To be sun kissed by the soft breezes, stroked by the warm waters and uplifted by the beautiful gardens and pool area at this resort along with beach frontage that is so incredible you are drawn to the sand and water as soon as you set eyes on it.,
Gosh - I wish I had discovered this years ago.
And the best part - everything is so affordable in Rarotonga and the service everywhere is in a class of its own.
I am certainly drawn to going back..........plus a wee tan that makes you feel so alive and healthy when you come back to -1 degree temperatures. Sorry no pics as was too keen to get this up and havn't got my camera here.
Kia Orana
Sue

Room Tip: Beach frontage with a view that they eyes never get tired of - yet pool side villas are also delicio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed in one of the beachfront villa's. Superb view and the villa was very clean and well kept. The spa bath is an added bonus after a long day out and about exploring.
The friendly staff were always ready to help when needed, even went the extra mile to accommodate our late checkout.
The resort is well maintained and the grounds man is good for friendly local chat and a coconut opening lesson or 2.
The owner was also very nice guy contrary to what others have said online.
Perfect location close to local dairy, restaurants, bars, scooter hire, snorkeling, beach walks, beautiful sunrises.
Can't wait to go back - we had a great time!

Room Tip: Beachfront villa-upper level=best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Property: Muri Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing