We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Awesome location/accommodation"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“"Awesome location/accommodation"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

How nice to arrive to the smell of beautifully placed flowers in our unit. The fresh fruit was a treat every morning as well. The place is very clean. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. It was nice and quiet we had such a relaxing holiday. The view from the beach deck is beautiful and a great place for sunset photos. Nice and handy to bike hire/rentals and cafes. Would definately love to stay here again. Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 with sea views. Had a beautiful view and was nice and quiet for sleeping at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    114
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
88
284
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We can't speak highly enough of the Muri beachcomber. Great location, no hidden charges! Safe swimming for the kids, unlimited use of all the water sports equipment. Just wish we had stayed here for our entire stay as our second week was at TeManava which cost 3x as much with poor service. Guess we had just been spoiled by the fantastic location and people at Muri Beachcomber. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I accidently left my ipad at the hotel. Not only did they keep the ipad safe with me, they worked hard on returning it back to me! Take it from me, it is not easy to do this! Additionally, I loved the food that was left in the room everyday since food is so expensive on the island. There were roosters that woke my family up but because I was sharing a room with my two brothers who snore, I was prepared with ear plugs and slept fine. It is a small hotel on a small island. So, set your expectations accordingly. Its not the ritz but I had more fun here than when I stay at the Ritz in LA. I would totally return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yourmom0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location and access to best beach on the island. Accommodation is great as are the hosts and staff taking time to talk and share their knowledge of the island. Highly recommend as place to stay on Rarotonga easy access to town via bus or cycle. Walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants and deli's. but most of all plenty of space to enjoy the muri beach and sea you can nearly touch it from your accommodation . Thankyou for a wonderful stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I am a returnee to the Muri Beachcomber and I was not disappointed. Great swimming and snorkelling on your doorstep, the fishing was wonderful too. Great eating within easy walking and bus stop right out the front. The staff are still fantastic, very friendly, nothing is to much trouble, I would highly recommend a stay here. I will be back, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Villa's are out of the wind which sometimes can be a bother in the sea view units. But the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Muri Beachcomber in one of their Garden Units for 7 Nights. We came over for a wedding, so were looking for a place in Muri that would give us a degree of self sufficiency. The Muri Beachcomber is situated in a prime spot in Muri Beach (which is a great place to stay if you want to walk to Restaurants/Bars/Cafe's). The Garden Unit itself is quite spacious and pleasant. We really liked having a full fridge and pretty much full utensils so that we didn't have to eat every meal and drink out which is quite expensive. The Bathrooms was nice with a rain showerhead, however the water in the morning didn't get very hot in the shower. We made good use of the standup paddleboards and kayaks which are freely available so you don't have to rent. Even though we didn't have a beach view we enjoyed being close to the pool which was not used often by others and we were quite sheltered from the wind. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Muri Beachcomber.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank camlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great week at Muri Beachcomber. The location is excellent, and while snorkeling off the beach is ok, a 5 minute kayak trip to the smaller islands nearer the reef provides much better snorkeling. Also, the motu to the left of the beach (Koromiri?) has a lovely sheltered beach when the wind is coming in strong from the east (which we had a few days of) and the snorkeling there is very good.

Re the snorkeling, we went to Moorea about 17 years ago and while the snorkeling was better there in terms of the fish life, the experience at Muri was still excellent. It was great to have use of the double kayaks as the four of us could head over to Koromiri - not sure what availability would have been like in the NZ school holidays as we went in the first week after. The paddleboards were fun too!

The location at Muri was great, with plenty of restaurants around and the LBV cafe across the road (jam donuts for breakfast!!! :-). There's also a vacant lot next door where they have markets a couple of nights a week, so we got to try some local dishes which was a great experience.

We were in Room 23 above the office block which turned out really well. There was heaps of room and while we were a bit further from the beach it wasn't an issue, and we still had a view of the sea. There's also a big deck area with BBQ which we made good use of. The place could do with a little bit of maintenance but overall it was great.

We had the same problem with roosters interrupting our sleep as other people have reported. It would be great if they could keep them away somehow but I bought some earplugs after the first night so it wasn't so much of a problem!

It was great to have the pool near our room, and we particularly liked being able to try scuba in the pool for free on Wednesday. We were tempted to do a dive as a result but just didn't have the time.

All in all, we had a great time at Beachcomber and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23, above the office block. A bit further from the beach but would stay there agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.5 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.4 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#9 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Property: Muri Beachcomber
Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing