We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

'Muri Beachcomber is truly a little piece of paradise.My husband and I spent eleven nights in a Watergarden Villa, loved it, and would love to return.It was our first visit to Rarotonga and we hope there'll be plenty more. It is such a different place.The pace is slow,it's incredibly beautiful, people are friendly and you genuinely feel like you've had a holiday.Muri Beachcomber is in an ideal spot on Muri lagoon.The turquoise water is just a few steps away.There are two islands out front, just a paddle away.The grounds are glorious and postcard perfect.Our villa was spacious ,comfortable and clean.The large verandah was perfect,There were sun loungers,a barbecue and two sets of chairs and tables to enjoy.The airconditioning in the bedroom was a godsend.The only thing I would change is the white elephant of a wardrobe.It was way too overwhelming for the room,peeling melamine, and needs to go.Aside from that, which is nothing really,this place is perfect.It's in a great position.There are bike or car hire places right nearby,a great cafe, a bakery, restaurants just a walk away,the bus stop right at the front door and the gorgeous Muri Lagoon out front.There are kayaks and paddleboards for guests to use, snorkelling gear and reef shoes to borrow from reception.The staff are lovely and helpful.They are also very unobtrusive and you can feel as though you have the whole place to yourself.We had some lovely meals all within walking distance-make sure you bring a torch.Sandals, at Pacific Beach resort, was beautiful and we have several delicious meals there.Skippa's take away was few hundred metres away and sold the best burgers ever, on fresh,homemade buns.It is only a walk to Te Vara Nui, which is a spectacular cultural show and polynesian buffet.Here we met lovely people from other accommodation places who had horror stories.This made us even more happy with our choice.We were very pleased with our Watergarden villa ,but next time my husband wants a beachfront room.Even though they are smaller, he wants to have the ocean breeze.I think any room would be just fine.This is just a great place to stay.It's not five star-but the location is.It is a perfect place to have a holiday.Hire a motorbike and check out the whole island.There are numerous spots to stop and snorkel,eat and take pictures, and watch the world go by.Do try and make the day trip to Aitutaki- it is paradise, and Do get to the Saturday morning markets in Avarua.Don't eat before you go.Do try the waffles at the Waffle Shack and the best coffee on the island.Besides those things,do seriously consider staying at this resort.It is an amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 528 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

If I were to return to the Muri Beach area on Raro I'd go back to stay here. Villas are comfortable, well maintained, regularly serviced and the gardens are very beautiful. Spent more than a few hours enjoying the view and breeze on the deck between the beach and villas. It's nicely sited on the fringe of the larger chain resorts, so there's a little less beach traffic than in other areas of Muri, with the benefit of a few restaurants a close walk along the beach. It also doesn't have a "big resort" feel. Be aware one of the main Lagoon tours departs from just in front of the resort so those who like to lie in fairly late may be disappointed (or surprisingly happy) at the early morning entertainment on the beach. There is also a para-sailing operation that uses the beach nearby so it can get quite busy in front of the resort if it's a good day for riding the waves. The upshot: if you want to participate in these kinds of activities they are super-convenient right next door. Swimming is okay, with nicer beaches with snorkeling 5-10 minutes bike ride away. There is no real snorkeling at the resort. The bus stop right in front of the resort is also pretty handy. The staff were okay. The policy to not typically have rooms ready until noon is a pain if you're arriving on early morning flights from North America.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawnaMcKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights in May and really enjoyed our stay the location was great, the amenities we great and the staff were really great and really helpful would definitely stay here again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Muribeachcomber is very clean, very well organized, very friendly environment. It is amazing place to relax and enjoy.

1  Thank Gandhi430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Muri beachcomber in the first week of March and stayed for four nights. Me and my husband was really glad we picked this hotel. We already arranged another hotel but decided to cancel that one after reading all the reviews of muri beach comber. We stayed at the garden villa suite #20, very quiet and you have your own barbecue. The office staff, the owner, and housekeeping staff were very friendly, and they usually went out of their way to help and accomodate what ever your needs. Even the cat is so friendly, we really like the orrange cat, OJ, he was with us the whole time we were there.

It is also good to go to the market on Sat. early morning and you can get fresh vegetable and fruits including fresh fish. It is good to get a boucher from the bus driver for twenty five dollars, so that you can use that for ten rides otherwise four dollars per ride. The restaurant is walking distance and it was good also. This resort is very close to the beach. Even if you are not a good swimmer you can swim and snorkle easily as the lagoon is not that deep
We would highly recommend this resort to any one who wishes to have a memorable and comfortable place to stay.
We would like to come back again and stay longer, hopefully next year.

Stayed March 2013 - Vancouver, BC

Room Tip: We like the garden villa suite #20. You have your own privacy and its only for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gandhi430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here quite a long time ago, in 2007. We booked this hotel in a travel fair in Auckland and was a great choice. When we arrived ,our room was not ready yet, so we had to wait an hour to get it done. Because of this, the friendly owner gave us a motorbike for free for the time we stayed there (8days) and also got a restaurant voucher that we could use as my birthday dinner. The service was great, we had a huge room (bungalow) with living room separately. We could also have BBQ a few times in front of our bungalow. I hope I will get the opportunity to come back to this hotel in the future. And one more thing: this hotel is right on the beach which makes the stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at muri beachcomber in February 2013,arrived very late and asked the girl on reception was there a beer in the fridge and was told no but she gave me 3 cold ones and said pay at reception tomorrow. Great start and it only got better,beach clean,uncrowded with crystal clear water. Everyone at the resort were friendly and helpful. It helps to be an animal lover to stay here,we were adopted by a black cat and there is no shortage of friendly dogs wandering off the beach plus the chickens,we loved it. Bungalows very comfortable and well equipped ,very good showers but the main thing is the great atmosphere and of course location with good restaurants only a walk down the beach.

Room Tip: There's no fitness centre and the sea view rooms are best because they get the breeze where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Muri
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range: $204 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muri Beachcomber 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing