We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise revisited by J & G”
Review of Muri Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise revisited by J & G”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

To return here is like returning home. Reading the other reviews just repeats our thoughts of the place. The staff treat us like family and absolutely nothing is any trouble. The position is perfect with everything within walking distance. No wonder we keep coming back!

Room Tip: If you want seclusion the garden units are for you, with the seaview units allowing more interaction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    121
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
94
296
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in a "seaview' for 3 weeks.The unit was vey comfortable and clean,could very easily have stayed longer !.The set up of the whole place is great, with the pool and family units just that extra distance away from the "couples" units, and a convenient laundry with dryer close by.
The staff and owners are very helpful and friendly, nothing seemed to every be an inconvenience to them. Everything was highly maintained..the grounds always spotless..I cannot fault this place and HIGHLY recommend it. Muri Beach is a very popular spot on the island, a scenic wonderland
that is close to everything and the Muri Beachcomber rates right up there as one of the best
places to stay. Thankyou , our holiday was great.

Room Tip: Seaview units have a wonderful view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crackajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This resort was so relaxed and friendly, we had the first week of our honeymoon here and really enjoyed the hospitality. We stayed in a villa very private. Easy to walk to some great restaurants and local shops. Enjoyed this much more than the expensive hotel down the beach. This was great for a beer on the deck in the Arvo. Meeting other guests loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa plenty of room with veranda and outdoor chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

You cant' beat the location. Easy walking distance to several restaurants, bars, small local grocery stores, ATM's, and even several vehicle rentals (cars and motor bikes) if you get tired of walking. The grounds are immaculate and the units clean and well stocked. Lovely beach front location. The family/kids area and units are separated from the adults only area by a wide expanse of palm trees and plants which really deaden any happy shrilling of young voices at the pool. Really well designed and laid out place. Owners and staff treat you like a loved family member. Good value for the money. Definitely a repeat destination. High recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_V_1231020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Kia Orana!!

Debbie & team, we are so thankful for your hospitality and assistance during our stay in Rarotonga. From greeting us at 2am when our booking wasn't until the next night, to finding us accommodation until we could get into our room, your help was never ending. We had the most amazing time and loved our 8 nights with you.

Housekeeping was spot on with the cleaning, we loved our pawpaw and other fruit on arrival, and loved the view over Muri beach and the motu. Hearing the drumming and ukelele from our room was exciting every time and added to our experience.

Great location + great staff = great time.

Metaki maata & we hope to see you again in a few years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

First place we stayed in Raro. What a amazing site this resort is based on. The view of the LAgoon is superb. We had our breakfast on the deck and watched RAro coming to life. The rooms are clean and well maintained but be. Artful with having showersi the morning as the heating is solar panel led. The roosters will also make you up early as they are allowed to roam free but this is standard in Rarotonga. The staff were great. We moved to the Crown Beach Resort after 2 days as planned and the Manager dropped our suit cases off there while we chilled out and rode round on the moped! Will be staying here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were to get married on Aitutaki and stayed a week on rarotonga to explore the island. This was our first time in the Cook Islands and we absolutely loved our time there, Muri Beachcomber was the perfect place for us, it was comfortable and gave us the ability to cook our own food. The staff is super friendly and when we had an accident one morning, waking up to a dog-puke outside our door. They took care of it right away and when we came home later that day there were a complimentary bottle of wine and a note explaining how sorry they were that we had to experience that this morning... one thing to consider thou, and that goes for all of Rarotonga, is bringing earplugs to be able to sleep due to roosters.. they will keep you up all night, no matter where you stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyStenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
5.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beachcomber

Property: Muri Beachcomber
Address: Ara Tapu Rd, Muri Beach Village, Muri 2000, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beachcomber is a small, intimate property in prime position on the shores of beautiful Muri Lagoon - 22 units ensuring a truly relaxing holiday atmosphere. Our stylish rooms offer separate air-conditioned bedrooms, spacious living/dining area, well-equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Perfect for long stays. The Seaview Units and Watergarden Villas are ideal for couples seeking a peaceful retreat, the poolside Garden Units are wonderful for families seeking quality time together. Facilities include a swimming pool, barbecues, wifi plus guest computer, petanque court, guest laundry, tour desk, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, bicycle hire and guest lounge. Shops, pharmacy, hairdresser, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. Offering a moderately priced, quality experience in a prime location. Includes Airport Transfers, Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, BBQ's and snorkeling equipment, Fruit Basket on arrival, Daily Breakfast pack, Tea, coffee and sugar supplied daily plus Free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muri Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beachcomber Hotel Muri
Muri Beachcomber Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing