We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Food, inflated Price, gorgeous Setting right on the Sand!”

Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, International, Contemporary, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar at Pacific Resort Rarotonga prides itself on offering the best in international cuisine with a Polynesian Pacific Rim influence. Be relaxed with a casual beachfront cocktail at the Barefoot Bar, be tempted by succulent fresh seafood and international dishes at Sandals Restaurant, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Island feast. Either way you will enjoy the gentle lagoon breezes with the sand between your toes right on Muri Beach.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fair Food, inflated Price, gorgeous Setting right on the Sand!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a lovely meal at this restaurant. It was memorable only because of the gorgeous view of Muri lagoon and sitting with our bare feet in the sand sipping a New Zealand crisp white wine. The food was fair for the elevated price, but the service and setting was superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    113
    46
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We walked down to Sandals Restaurant one evening & expected it to be expensive. Wrong! We had the choice of a café menu or Restaurant menu, all reasonably priced. The meals were huge & delicious! The service was fantastic! The background entertainment was lovely, and the whole setting wonderful. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seting fab”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Setting fabulous but food expensive. $20 fish burger in a hamburger bun. Service great. Cocktails average

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwisUpperHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect place to enjoy a meal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Consistent with the majority of other reviewers, the Barefoot Bar at the Pacific Resort is ideally situated right on Muri Beach overlooking the lagoon. We had a table at the front and so had an unobstructed view of the beach and lagoon. Staff are fantastic and very friendly and courteous. The Ika Mata (marinated raw fish) is lovely and the house speciality, Pacific Sizzler, a hot plate of parrot fish and vegetables, one of the best fish dishes I have ever had. If you have room after getting through two courses, then go for the coconut panacotta for dessert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Dining in paradise”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I know how good a restaurant is when I order the same dish three times in a row. Consistently great ika mata (Rarotongan raw fish), with side order of island fries and a garden salad. On each recent occasion the fish was very fresh and delectable. The portions were very substantial to enjoy over a long and lazy lunch. Glass of sav.blanc to accompany the meal was another good choice. The beachfront setting is perfect with its gorgeous lagoon view. Our waitresses were efficient and very pleasant people. No pressure whatsoever to finish our meal to make room for other diners. Prices were what I expected. Overall, a very nice spot to dine with delicious food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Sandals Restaurant & Barefoot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing