We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb all-around!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Vara Nui Village

Te Vara Nui Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.28*
and up
Spectacular Over Water Night Show with Buffet Dinner at Muri Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Vara Nui Village is the Cultural Centre of the Cook Islands offering 3 amazing products: a 2.5 hour VILLAGE TOUR offering a full authentic journey into our past, a Stunning Over-Water Night Show and first class Island/Western fusion buffet dinning experience on floating and fixed stages set in botanical gardens surrounded by rock gardens and waterfalls, and our COMBO PACKAGE offering both Village Tour and Over-Water Night Show and Buffet dinner in one night. Your ultimate cultural experience not to be missed!!!!
Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“superb all-around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

As a person of two occupations - service & hospitality [namely in fine dining] and performing arts [traditional percussion & dance to be specific], I can truly say that these guys do a great job.
The entire evening is very well-organized, from the hotel pick-ups, to the seating & layout, great service, creative cocktails, delicious buffet dinner, spectacular setting, great dancing, choreography, & costuming, talented & tight drumming, plus a friendly and humorous mc.
A very fun evening for folks from any walk of life, for the young and the old, for all types, and well worth the money spent - even for those travelling on a budget.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    307
    68
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding and overwater night show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

First of all I would like to say how fantastic our Te Vara Nui wedding experience was, with particular gratitude to Morag and Moana who made our dream wedding so special for us.
Te Vara Nui provided the perfect wedding dream setting on Muri Beach, even though we were only a small group just the four of us, the day could not have gone any better.
Then after our beach wedding we celebrated at the Te Vara Nui Village Overwater Night Show. Well what can I say it was spectacular, the dancers, music and setting over the water was beautifully done. We have attended a few Cultural Shows on our travels and this is definitely one of the best we have been to. We loved the interaction with the crowd teaching us some fun dance moves, the dancers and staff seemed to love what they do and it certainly showed.
We felt very welcome and blessed to be a part of this beautiful cultural experience, if you are wandering if you should go? Don't think just do it you wont regret it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Entertaining night with the dancers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Gorgeous dancers, excellent food, great cocktails and entertaining the whole evening. A must for the family or as a couple, as we did. We got to share our table with a couple from Auckland and enjoyed the company as much as the Over Water Night Show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller181013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great night in raro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everything seems to have been covered by the other glowing reviews; just wanted to add that the MC, George is a great guy, very friendly and does an excellent job at welcoming you and outlining the night. Had a great night along with my wife. mei taki!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Te Vara Nui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had our wedding at Te Vara Nui, Rarotonga.
It was an amazing day and an absolutely beautiful location.
The venue certainly has that WOW factor.
We had our ceremony on the beach (in Muri beach) followed by our reception at Te Vara Nui

We arrived to the reception on a floating barge followed by our first dance on the centre stage. After dinner and speeches we had fire dancers, drummers and dance maidens to perform centre stage. The performers then came into the Are (restaurant) to interact and join our guests for cultural dancing.

Moana and the wider Te Vara Nui were fantastic to work with. Very professional and went that extra mile to ensure everything went smoothly.
The wedding organising was done via email and then meetings 1 week before our wedding day.
The performers were certainly a highlight - they are talented people and alot of fun!
The BBQ buffet was delicious and there certainly was no shortage of food.

I would recommend a visit to Te Vara Nui - if you aren't getting married then a visit particularly on their spectacular cultural nights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Vara Nui Village also viewed

Titikaveka, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Te Vara Nui Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing