We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kura's Kabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kura's Kabanas
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Magnificent views from our own self-contained accommodation. Room cleaned every day by friendly ladies, no problem changing towels when required. Beach towels provided. Was handy having the TV, as rained a bit during our stay and we were able to view the Olympics. Also a library of books available. Robin greeted us on arrival at the airport with beautifully made gardenia and wild basil leis. He helped us with any queries we had during our stay. Accommodation was much roomier than expected, with a comfy bed and good kitchen facs. Shower was wonderful, run from solar with an electric booster if necessary. Nice to be able to use the kayaks and outrigger canoe included. Good location near to a superette, on the bus route, hire transport nearby, cafes and restaurants only a few mins walk away. Complimentary milk, water and fruit bowl on arrival. Coffee, tea and sugar provided. Lovely patio to sit out and look at the magnificent view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
58
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had 4 nights at Kura's Kabanas in June 12 and highly recommend them. The location at the northen end of Muri Lagoon meant that we had access to the lagoon (at our back door) without the crowds that can be on the beaches further south. The kabanas were very comfortable, roomy, and with self catering that gave us the option to save a few bucks at times. But we were also close to some good restaurants such as Flametree. Robin and Kura were friendly and helpful. Some of the accommodation we looked at on Rarotonga before booking Kura's was pretty expensive so we were pleased to find that Kura's was such good quality for the reasonable prices they charge.We had friends who stayed there a few weeks after us and they were equally impressed. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: All 4 Kabanas are in good positions near the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had been checking properties on Trip Advisor for a couple weeks and finally stumbled across Kura's. After phoning and speaking with Kura I already felt like I was was going to be very happy here. To start, my flight arrived just before 6am and Robin was there to pick me up. By the time we made it to the property the sun was just starting to rise over the lagoon and made for a spectacular welcome. The entire Kura's Kabanas family was warm and friendly and I felt right at home the entire stay. The kabanas are spacious and clean with moden ammenities, fully equipped kitchens and only steps away from the lagoon. There are some nice restaurants and a small market within walking distance - but be sure to stop in at The Mooring for a fantastic fish sandwich with a great view and check out the cultural show at Te Vara Nui. Use the canoes to explore the lagoon and cross over to the motu for great views of the island. The water is shallow and rarely more than waist deep and just a short wade up the beach is a fun spot to snorkle. The property is on the opposite side of the island from the capital Avarua and easily accessible by the bus. The bus operates in each direction every hour and will stop to pick you up or drop you off wherever you want, but after 4:30pm it only operates in one direction so take my advice and rent a scooter for more freedom to get around. The property is also an internet hotspot so you can still keep in touch and update Facebook - prepaid cards are available at locations around the island. If you're looking for a great place to relax and unwind regardless if you're travelling as a couple of flying solo - Kura's is the perfect escape.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were collected by Robin early on a Saturday morning and he stopped at the market and the supermarket for us on the way to our accommodation. We had the family unit as the bungalows weren't available and we were very comfortable there. It was very clean and well serviced. Robin was available to help or advise when needed and we had the use of the kayaks and outrigger in the lagoon. It was also near to some good places to eat like Sails and the Flametreeand there was a small shop for urgent supplies nearby.

Room Tip: We had to take the unit as we booked late - it was fine, but the bungalows would be a better option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taswegian074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We arrived with a very warm welcome from Robin, who together with his wife Kura were excellent hosts throughout our 10 day stay, they really made you feel welcome and it definitely felt like a home away from home with much better views. We had the family unit which was exactly like the pictures showed us on the website, the rooms were very clean and tidy and serviced everyday. It has its own bbq facilities right down on the lagoon edge which we used regularly. Kura's is situated right at the start of Muri so you can walk from your unit on to the sand and stroll right up the beach to the main beach area, Sails restaurant etc. A fabulous time we had and would definitely be going back there to stay sometime soon. Highly recommended great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We booked mini villa at Kura's. It is located away from main block of villas, about 5 min walk. It is one of the first accommodation at Muri Lagoon, so you get to walk along the beautiful beach every day. We could use kayaks free and spend most of the time exploring lagoon and its little islands.In the villa you have got everything you need re: a full kitchen, utensils, nice deck to relax and have a meal.
Would recommend to visit Te Vara Nui Village and over water island show - fabulous. And Saturday market is must do as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked a week vacation to the Cook Islands for a week of rest and relaxation. Not knowing very much at all about Ragotonga, we decided to stay at Kura's.

This place is right on the lagoon. We had free use of the canoe and kayaks the entire week. Most of the time we were the only one out in the entire lagoon. There are three islands near-by that were very fun to explore.

Positives:
Location (at the water's edge)
Value (a very good price compared to simular places in the same area)
Cabana (very clean, with maid service everyday, plus a nice patio to sit out and look over the water)
Barbecue deck (clean, extra propane, nice dining area, fun way to share a beer with other travelers)
Owners (readily available to assist with all matters, yet not intrusive)

Suggestions:
The roosters are loud, so if you are a light sleeper... good luck!
Bring a flashlight, as walking on the road to dinner at night can be dangerous.
Don't miss out on a great fish sandwich, just a block away going counter-clockwise.
The hike across the island was a beautiful adventure.

We posted a nice video of Kura's Kabanas on our web site quickadventures.net

Room Tip: Cabana #4 is closest to the water; however, we stayed in #1 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#21 of 77 in Rarotonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura's Kabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura's Kabanas

Property: Kura's Kabanas
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern end of the magnificent Muri Lagoon, Rarotonga, Kura’s Kabanas enjoy a secluded beachfront location.Here you will find time to unwind...to experience the true meaning of “island time” in one of our 4 Kabanas, or in one of our 3 Family Units (where children under 12 years stay free)Enjoy breakfast on your deck gazing out to the beautiful lagoon, and then in the evening dine by moonlight on our bbq deck on the shores of Muri Lagoon.Take a paddle on Muri lagoon in our complimentary kayaks, or simply lie back in a sun lounger on the deck.Rarotonga accommodation doesn’t get any better…….. experience for yourself true Cook Islands hospitality - from the first time we greet you at the airport, the friendliness and kindness of the people here at Kura’s will ensure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kura`s Kabanas Hotel Muri
Kura's Kabanas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing