We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further this is the place to stay in Muri”
Review of Kura's Kabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kura's Kabanas
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Oud Gastel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look no further this is the place to stay in Muri”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We a family from the Netherlands (childeren 4 & 6) stayed in Kura's for 10 days and we loved our stay with them very much.
I personaly think kura's is really the nr 1 place to stay at Muri (most value for money). The beach they have with bbq-place, sunbathing chairs, etc is really great.
The kids enjoyed themselves verry much. We stayed in family room witch was really really big and very comfortable and clean!
Also everything you need en want is within walking distance,best beaches, restaurants,supermarkets,car-rental, bus etc etc.
Kura, Robin en the rest of the staff are really great they do everything for you nothing is to much. You really feel at home, for us a home far away for home!:-)

So to the people who are reading this i would like to say:
"LOOK NO FURTHER THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN MURI"

Room Tip: Family take the family rooms they are realy great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kura1, Owner at Kura's Kabanas, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Meitaki Maata. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope one day to see your family back again - Kura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My mother, aunt and I just got back from a week long stay from Kura's Kabanas and we couldnt sing our praises any louder. We loved it. We stayed there for a wedding and chose the family studio (which are located above the office in the two storey building). These were self catering units which had a lovely little balcony out the front overlooking the lagoon. We loved the free use of kayaks available to guests and also the welcome basket of fruit yummm :-) Robin and Kura - the owners were very friendly and offered great advice and service. I thought that it was a perfect way to ease into the Rarotongan lifestyle by staying at a locally owned place rather than the bigger resorts (which our other family members opted for). Aside from the great prices for the rooms ($200 a night) - the rooms were spacious, tidy and comfortable.

The property doesnt have a direct expansive beach but backs straight onto the glassy lagoon where you can watch the sun rise and fall... plus its only a short stroll down from Pacific resort etc/Captain Tamas where there happens to be more sand to roam and play on.

The location of Kura's Kabana's in Muri Beach is fantastic. Walk outside the door and your right next to a black pearl shop/t shirts/souveniers. Car/Scooter hire across the road. A convenience store and ATM, a 2 minute walk down the road - and not far at all from one of the islands best restaurants 'The Flame Tree' and cultural show 'Te Vaera Nui Village'

We loved the stay here and highly recommend Kuras Kabanas if you're planning on staying in Muri Beach, Rarotonga.

Room Tip: pay the extra $20 a night and get the family studio instead of the kabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tona09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kura1, Guest Relations Manager at Kura's Kabanas, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in paradise, and look forward to seeing you back again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Kura and the team are wonderful and friendly but we were dissapointed by the location.
There are many wonderful things about Kuras. We were greeted with friendly smiles and the most delicious fruit platter. The location is great considering the proximity to eating options and car/scooter rentals. There are free kayaks to borrow and the view of the islands is wonderful. At low tide you can walk right alone the beach (ish) area to the other resorts and restaurants. The crabs are fun for the kids to watch!

However, we were really dissapointed by the beach front. There is no decent snorkeling and the tide is so strong here (due to the little islands) that kayaking is touch and swimming is scary. I'm a strong swimmer but I did not feel comfortable swimming. I wouldn't let kids swim here at all. There is no beach front to lay out on (there is a great deck space however on your kabana). The cabins are also quite close and the noise from the other cabins is easily heard in the evenings. I don't know if we just had noisy neighbours.

Having spent more time on the island now, I think for the same price you can get something much better. If you get a deal on the price plus aren't really in Raro for the beach and snorkelling (or happy to travel somewhere to go there) then this could be a good option.

Room Tip: Get the kabana furtherest away from the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kura1, Guest Relations Manager at Kura's Kabanas, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately the time you were here we were experiencing king tides, which made the waters of the lagoon extremely high - even the Pacific Resort further down Muri Beach had to take their marquee down as the water came right into it - mind you, some of the guests there enjoyed that experience!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed at Kura's Kabanas for 10 nights as part of our lead up to our wedding down the road at the more expensive Pacific Resort. This was our second stay with Kura's and, as with our first stay, we weren't disappointed.

There are four free standing units, each with views of the lagoon and we were in the one closest to the water during this stay. There are also a couple of family units at the rear of the site which I will leave to others to review. There are good kitchen facilities (stove, fridge, microwave etc) so you can self-cater if you want. There is also a great deck area on the beach with BBQ and extra plates, glasses etc. This was a favourite spot for us most evenings as we would go down to Ocean Fresh each morning and pick up a couple of pieces of fresh fish and then BBQ it that evening with a fresh salad. Yum!

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the location is ideal. It is at the northern end of Muri Beach and so very quiet but also close to all the shops and facilities located at Muri.

There are complimentary kayaks and an outrigger canoe available for use and loungers for each unit plus additional loungers on the deck at the beach.

The windows are all screened and air conditioning is available but for an additional daily cost. We found that having the fan going and the windows open prvovided plenty of air and we felt no need to have the aircon.

Robin and Kura are wonderful hosts. Friendly pick up from the airport and you feel like part of the family straight away but then non-intrusive if that's what you want.

There is only one caution I would advise and that is the beds are reasonably firm. Not a problem for us but I mention it in case it is important to anyone. Other than that it is difficult to find fault with and, at $180 per night, excellent value for money for fully serviced beachfront accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed at Kuras for 10 nights with 2 children. The room was clean and functional. Great location for children as it is true waterfront, no need to cross the road. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay. Excellent airport pick up and drop off service. And as a family we used their outrigger canoe which was really great for exploring the lagoon, and we were not charged for that. If we returned to Rarotonga we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Araroa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We stayed at Kura's for our mum's 60th birthday, as it was one of only a few places that offered a bedding arrangement that suited (we stayed in the family unit). I was suprised how large and comfortable our room was, and the beds were excellent.
Kura's is perfectly located, right at the end of the 'beach' part of Muri lagoon, before it turns into mangroves - this is great as not so many people walk past (like at pacific resort et al down the other end of the lagoon). This makes it so peaceful, and you really do have your own private beach (shared with numerous roaming dogs!).
The bbq deck facility is excellent - dinner right on the beach! also free use of kayaks and the comfortable beach loungers.
Kura and Robin are excellent - they check in with you to see if everything is going well - then just leave you to it! Also no hassle to pick you up and drop you off at the airport at the god aweful times the planes get in! another fantastic thing is they offer half day and part day rates to accomodate the annoying plane times too, which was perfect for us. the cleaning girls were great too ;-)
all the shops are only a 5 minute walk away, and restaurants an easy walk too (10 mins to the resorts).
I would definitely stay here again, and actually based my decision to stay based on the above reviews. It's all true!
p.s. it's also true about the roosters all over the island - do take earplugs! and thank you for whoever posted that very timely piece of advice!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed at Kura's for a week and really enjoyed it. This is not necessarily the place for everyone, but it really fit our goal of a place to sit and relax by a beautiful tropical lagoon. Be warned that if you go expecting a typical Hawaii-style resort, you will be disappointed, but if you can take the Cook Islands on their own terms, this is a great spot.

Being met by Robin at the airport with leis and personal greeting was a good start to the vacation. We were able to get early checkin ($50), which we found worthwhile after the flights from the states.

We found location to be a big plus. Kura's is located at the end of the sand beach section of Muri, so it is rather quiet and peaceful. The lagoon at this point is fairly shallow, but you can walk further west on the beach for swimming. I like my beach with some shade, so sitting under the coconut palms was idyllic (just watch where you park your chair, the coconuts do fall sometimes). It was easy to walk up the beach to Sails for dinner, or to other resorts, though at high tide you might be in the water at a couple of points. It was also an easy walk along the road to the stores and little burger/fish stands.

The bungalows sit back a bit from the lagoon, and have a nice covered veranda/deck. They aren't sitting right on the sand, but I think I prefer this layout, as it gives a bit more privacy and makes better use of the lagoon front. I thought there was a lot of care taken in maintaining the units and the pretty garden areas. There were a few quirks to the units, though. The solar showers were a bit funky; in our case they actually tended to be too hot. If you relied on just the screened windows, the unit tended to get a bit stuffy; we learned to keep the big sliding doors open until well into evening, and only close them when we really needed to turn on the lights. A/C was available for an additional 25NZD/night, but we didn't use it.

Snorkeling was poor even at the deeper end of Muri lagoon. We rented a car from Island car hire for the last 3 days, and found it quite helpful for getting to better snorkeling. Another time we might get a car or scooter for the whole week; the bus does work, but it's not frequent enough to be really convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.4 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#23 of 76 in Rarotonga
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura's Kabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura's Kabanas

Property: Kura's Kabanas
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern end of the magnificent Muri Lagoon, Rarotonga, Kura’s Kabanas enjoy a secluded beachfront location.Here you will find time to unwind...to experience the true meaning of “island time” in one of our 4 Kabanas, or in one of our 3 Family Units (where children under 12 years stay free)Enjoy breakfast on your deck gazing out to the beautiful lagoon, and then in the evening dine by moonlight on our bbq deck on the shores of Muri Lagoon.Take a paddle on Muri lagoon in our complimentary kayaks, or simply lie back in a sun lounger on the deck.Rarotonga accommodation doesn’t get any better…….. experience for yourself true Cook Islands hospitality - from the first time we greet you at the airport, the friendliness and kindness of the people here at Kura’s will ensure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kura`s Kabanas Hotel Muri
Kura's Kabanas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing