We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Apartment - great value, clean and wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the Aito Apartments for 10 days in April 2010, and had the most amazing time. We were greeted at the airport by a minibus, which was arranged by Jean Marc and Mere before hand which made getting to the apartments a stress free process - just what you need at the start of your holiday.

We were greeted at the apartments by Mere, with a big smile on her face, she really could not have been more welcoming. The apartment itself was spotless and beautifully decorated. We have a full kitchen, washing machine, all cooking appliances, BBQ and lovely clean bedding and towels (even beach towels). The fridge was stocked with milk, bread and a huge fruit platter, which was a wonderful treat. There was a large terrace at the front with dining area and a small garden and washing line out the back.

The beach access is literally across the road, although we found that walking 10 minutes up the road brought you to the slightly busier spot on the beach with all the restaurants and bars.

We really cannot fault the Aito Apartments - unfortunately Jean Marc was away on business during our stay, but Mere was a fantastic host, hospitable, welcoming and very generous, offering us lifts into the town and advising us on what to do with our days. We looked at other places to stay on the island and concluded that Aito was by far the nicest and most reasonably priced accommodation.

If you decide to stay at the Aito Apartments, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

When booking accommodation online it is sometime with feelings of trepidation as you wonder will it live up to the expectations noted and expected. Well, we are happy to say that Aito Apartments exceeded all expectations possible.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner, Jean Marc and shown to our apartment which is beautifully appointed with everything you could possibly need, including a fridge stocked with supplies to start your holiday. No need to worry about rushing out to the supermarket on your arrival.

The true beauty of Aito Apartments is the ability to please yourself without being worried if anyone is going to bother you. You have the choice of being social or having a lazy hermit like day. The fact that you have the choice to eat out or cook in is also a great saving and doesn't make a holiday to such a beautiful destination and expensive one. The supermarkets are extremely well stocked and surprisingly not a lot more expensive than NZ.

Well, I could ramble on and on about the wonderful Aito Apartments and the warm and obtrusive hosts, Mere and Jean-Marc but I don't want to encourage too many people as we are already planning for next years holiday and don't want our spot filled.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillbilly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Like a previous reviewer, I don't want to tell you about Aito because you will all go and stay there and there will be no room for us to return.!!! The apartment is spotless and beautifully designed. Comfortable bed with quality linen and towels. High ceilings make it feel even larger. The welcome pack is extensive and we were supplied with a constant supply of fresh fruit and water for our whole 10 days. The patio at the back gets afternoon sun and has pleasant views to the mountains. The front patio is huge and has restful views of coconut palms. You are quite blocked off from the unit next to you and you don't see or hear them at all. You do hear the odd car/scooter at night and the usual rooster so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Rarotonga is full of chooks/roosters, dogs and scooters. You will find the dogs and chooks on the beach in places but both are friendly and will not cause you any problems. Tutu the resident dog will come snorkeling with you. We chose this apartment because of its location to the Fruits of Rarotonga. Fruits is a cafe but marks the entrance to the best snorkeling area. The lagoon is suitable for beginner snorkelers as there is plenty of fish very close to the shore. The more confident snorkeler can go about 50 metres out and view hundreds of fish. Fruits is about 10 minutes walk south of the apartment. Muri is about 20 minutes walk north of the apartment. Both walks are very pleasant along the beach of along the road if it is too windy on the beach..you can easily walk for miles. Take a stack of DVD's as there is not much on the telly except for NZ News at 8.30pm at night. One of the small dairies just further on from the Fruits hires DVD's $3 for 5 days. Food was not as expensive as we thought..$3 for a lettuce and a can of tomato sauce was cheaper than the one we bought from NZ. There is a lovely bakery in Muri..down the side of a cafe on the main road.Eating out is expensive so having the ability to prepare your own meals certainly saves money. Remember to take frozen meat in a small chilly bin in your suitcase. Rarotonga airport carousel is the only place where you see chilly bins along with suitcases.!! But don't take any open dairy like cheese or pate back into NZ..they won't let them in. Would thoroughly recommend the Te Vari Nui combo package of cultural tour and meal/show in Muri.
Mere and Jean Marc are outstanding hosts and will do anything for you and even drop you off at places. They even lent us the car to do to the night markets. We didn't hire a car or scooter but just walked or took the bus. A ten trip tick is now $25. The bus will pick you up at the apartment..just stand by the road and flag them down. I am happy for people to email me if they want to know any more about Aito or our stay in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We went to Rarotonga for a friends wedding and booked the Aito Apartments on the basis of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We loved Aito Apartments, our apartment was a great space with a BBQ where friends could could come over for dinner. It was also an amazing price and beautifully set up. We had friends staying at the resorts up in Muri Beach and our place was cheaper, bigger and much much nicer!

The hosts are great, it's across the road from the beach, it's cheap and really well decorated. We have recommended this place to everyone and would only stay here when we go back to the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMGWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Aito had very good reviews and therefore we had good expectations when we arrived - in fact they were exceeded!! The very spacious and fully fitted out apartment is one of 2 on the ground floor with the owners Mere + Jean-Marc living on the top floor. Everything you will need is provided for.
The apartment is located at the edge of Muri - it is about a 10 min walk (Cook Islands time) to the centre of the village where you will find supermarkets, cafes, ATMs, bars restaurants and car hire.The beautiful beach and lagoon is 20 metres across the road and you can walk for miles in either direction.
Mere + Jean-Marc are perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them and they will ensure you have a perfect stay in paradise. We stayed for 13 days and would have happily stayed for 13 weeks or even 13 months! Cook Islands and Aito apartments - perfect place in paradise. We give Aito our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nab10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

What a treat to have met the Aito owners, Mere and Jean-Marc. They cared for us from the first early morning arrival to the last day of our departure, inclusive of tsunami warning/evacuation (precautionary due to Chilean earthquake Feb '10). There was food in the fridge, rides into town, sharing 'happy hours' and meals and long talks. The Korean BBQ was a special evening with their family, as was the post-tsunami lunch the next day. Our new friend, Betty, whom we met on the aircraft coming into the Cooks, was also invited. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this couple's accommodations. ....and did I mention the delicious tropical fruits!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastKootenays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for 9 nights with our under 1 year old baby. This was absolutely the best accommodation we have ever had on our trips around the world! Méré is an awesome hostess and took so good care of us. She loved our baby girl and watched for her several times when we went snorkeling or dining out. The apartment itself is spotless, spacious, and beautifully decorated. You have everything you need, fridge, freezer, stove and oven, tv, dvd, luxurious bathroom, laundy washer etc.etc. + it's right at Muri Beach, the best part of the island. And no mosquitos like on the other side. If we come back to Raro someday, we don't think for even a split second where to stay: it's Aito of course! Thanks Méré and family, including our baby's favorite, Tutu dog :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ville E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muri hotels
0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
529 reviews
0 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range: $87 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing