We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, cozy, spacious with food in the fridge and a tropical fruit bowl welcomes you.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy, spacious with food in the fridge and a tropical fruit bowl welcomes you.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

What a treat to have met the Aito owners, Mere and Jean-Marc. They cared for us from the first early morning arrival to the last day of our departure, inclusive of tsunami warning/evacuation (precautionary due to Chilean earthquake Feb '10). There was food in the fridge, rides into town, sharing 'happy hours' and meals and long talks. The Korean BBQ was a special evening with their family, as was the post-tsunami lunch the next day. Our new friend, Betty, whom we met on the aircraft coming into the Cooks, was also invited. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this couple's accommodations. ....and did I mention the delicious tropical fruits!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastKootenays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for 9 nights with our under 1 year old baby. This was absolutely the best accommodation we have ever had on our trips around the world! Méré is an awesome hostess and took so good care of us. She loved our baby girl and watched for her several times when we went snorkeling or dining out. The apartment itself is spotless, spacious, and beautifully decorated. You have everything you need, fridge, freezer, stove and oven, tv, dvd, luxurious bathroom, laundy washer etc.etc. + it's right at Muri Beach, the best part of the island. And no mosquitos like on the other side. If we come back to Raro someday, we don't think for even a split second where to stay: it's Aito of course! Thanks Méré and family, including our baby's favorite, Tutu dog :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ville E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland, new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Aito is a great place to stay, one of the best in Raro I think (I had a look in to some of the rooms of the top hotels on Muri beach where friends were staying and I definitely think Aito was the best deal price wise, and in terms of the actual apartment itself).
The owners Jean Marc and Mere live upstairs and were so kind, generous and helpful to us the whole time, even inviting us to have lunch with their friends and family on Christmas day. We would definitely stay here if we go back to the Cook Islands - the beach is just across the road, it is all self contained which is helpful in Raro because eating out three times a day would get insanely expensive, beautifully set up, a GREAT deal (friends of ours were staying in little self contained units on Muri beach - granted they were right on the water, but were paying twice the price and the units were very small), and the hosts are really lovely - they really made our trip special and it was great to meet some people that live in Raro and to get a glimpse in to what thats like.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We felt really lucky to have found Aito. It was the first place in which we stayed in The Cooks and we liked it so much that we stayed there again for the last part of our holiday too. The apartment was fantastic; cool, spacious, super modern, and extremely well-equipt. It is really well-located at Muri beach and the section of beach, which is just over the road, is shared with one of the most upmarket resorts on Rarotonga with snorkling straight off the safe swimming beach. However, the thing we loved the most about our stay was the hospitality of Jean-Marc and Mere, who live upstairs. They are truely wonderful people and it was great to get to know them, a few of their friends, and a bit about living (and eating and drinking!) in the islands. Thank you... again!
We will be back. Jessica and Ian.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AucklandJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Due to double booking of previous accommodation we were transferred to the Aito Apartments. This will now be our first choice when we return. Perfectly located,the apartments have every thing you could possible need for a great holiday. In all our travelling we have never experienced hospitality like we received from Mere and Jean. Fridge stocked with everything we needed for a great breakfast, fresh fruit bought to our room each morning and an invitation to dine with them in their upstairs apartment was an experience we will treasure forever. Thank you so much Mere & Jean.
Ron, Allyson, Tricia & Pam

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were moved here after being double booked at nearby (over-rated) Ambala Gardens and it was a transformation from a rather tired location to a sumptious apartment with spacious rooms. We had arrived in a 5 star substitute! Jean Marc and his charming wife pulled out all the stops to make us feel comfortable, and we were delighted with their kind hospitality in tricky circumstances. They immediately hosted us and other strangers to a marvellous Polynesian meal (at no cost) on the first night, upstairs in their own living area. Unforgetable! Furthermore, they made sure that the fridge was always topped up with something to eat for breakfast, and we were invited for drinks on departure too. It was fascinating hearing about their former life in Tahiti, and we could have stayed longer, had we known about this place beforehand.

The rooms were spotless; a huge kitchen/living area (private, unlike Ambala), and good sized bedroom to the rear, adjoining which was a shower room and toilet and rear door leading to a patio and lawn area with views of the central mountain range. Outside the front door was a lovely balcony and the front drive, leading straight onto the main road, with ample parking space for car. Access to the beach was simply across the road, and the nearby shops at Muri were an easy walk.

The apartments do not have a pool. but this seems pointless, in view of the proximity of the beach. The only drawback we could think of were the wild chickens, who tended to start the day earlier than us!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzylizzyEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

What more could you ask for. A superb spacious apartment, beautifully kept, fitted out with everything you need (fridge freezer, full cooker, microwave, CD player, TV, DVD player, washing machine all in new condition) easy access to beach and Muri Lagoon. Handy for shops, restaurants etc. and then to top it all, the friendliest caring hosts in Mere and Jean Marc. We loved the security and help we had from the fact that the hosts are accessable upstairs. Believe me, this is one big advantage over the absent owner scenario at other apartments. We definitely intend to return to this apartment. It is the best by far of accommodation we have experienced in our visits to Rarotonga. The only reservation I have about providing this feedback is I don’t want it to become so popular that I can’t get a reservation here in the future! This was superb value for money! Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadaboutPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Muri Shores
Muri Shores
#3 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aremango Guesthouse
Aremango Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Property: Aito Apartments Muri
Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing