We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment, fantastic value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent 12 wonderful days in Rarotonga and could not imagine better accommodation. The apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious and had all amenities you could need, including a washing machine, and the stunning beach is just across the road. Mere and Jean-Marc were wonderful friendly hosts. We hired a scooter to drive around the island and spent most of our time snorkelling and just relaxing. Would love to go back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golden_Sun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Aito Apartments Muri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our sixth visit to Rarotonga and this time we took our 10 year old grandson. We stayed at Aito Apartments and our hosts Mere and Jean-Marc are the most wonderful hosts. We have stayed at several places on the island but so far this is the best by far. The apartment is absolutely spotlessly clean, all the furnishings are modern, clean and comfortable. I was very comfortable in our apartment and I can't wait to go back, our plans are that we go back for a month next year. Do yourself a favour and book yourself a holiday and stay at Aito Apartments, they are more than reasonable with their prices, look at their website and see the photos of exactly what you get, the website is www.aitoapartmentsmuri.com
I cannot speak highly enough of our hosts, they are the most wonderful warm polynesian people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParadiseDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

you will not find more welcoming hosts anywhere. Mere and Jean Marc provided us with a full fridge of food ,two wonderful meals and sundry gifts of fruit, fish and vegetables.The apartment was spacious well appointed and with a full kitchen. It had private verandas front and year. a bbq and our own washing machine. We spent 13 very happy nights there. The apartments are about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Muri but it is very cheap to hire a scooter or bikes. The round the island bus stops
outside the door and the beach is only 50 metres away

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Absolutely cannot find any faults . It was a very spacious apartment with everything you need .Jean -Marc and Mere the perfect hosts .Nice little touches such as breakfast put in the fridge for the following day ..fruit, eggs, bread ,home made cake , milk etc .on our arrival.The apartment is not right on the beach , you have to cross the road . But within easy walking distance are different resorts and restaurants and in the other direction is Fruits of Raratonga where there is an excellent snorkelling area. We actually hired a car for our weeks stay from Raro cars (a cheaper option )which is located across from the markets . Which enabled us to eat out at many places around the island , favouring a late lunch , so have viewed quite a few of the resorts . It was also handy for going to the Supermarket in town to get groceries , wine etc and mainly ate in the apartment for dinner as the large veranda area is so peaceful and quiet . A B-B-Q is provided for each apartment . The apartment also has a washing machine , clothesline .Soap powder and pegs provided so need little clothing . There is a DVD player and luckily we had taken quite a few as we encountered some wet weather. The resident dog "TuTu" comes down to the beach with you and a little baby chicken was coming to visit me which I just loved since I have my own animals at home . All in all we thoroughly enjoyed it . We loathe the sterile hotel environment .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

we spent 2 weeks at aito apartments in muri and we cant fault it at all !!! we were so impressed with everything , the apartments were beautiful , the hosts just lovely and location fantastic. we were really sad to leave but will def be back . the last two days of our stay i got very sick with reef fish poisoning so was bedridden . mere and jean marc always made sure i was ok and even got some medication for me in town at one stage. they were wonderful .we have travelled a bit but by far this was the best accomodation we had stayed in ever!!!!!!!!!! thankyou to all at aito and see you again soon!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukgirlAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My friend and I stayed 7 nights in September. The apartments are everything everyone has said (nicely decorated, comfortable, spotless, roomy) and the hosts Mere and Jean Marc are the wonderful hosts. We for the most part kept ourselves to ourselves and they were helpful whenever we needed it but unobtrusive. We did have a lovely dinner with them on our last night - yum! We found Muri to be a great location. We snorkelled either there or at Aro'a everyday. That side of the island was much nicer, in our opinion, than the other more developed side and much better for snorkelling. We travelled by foot, cycle and bus, we didnt' feel the lack of our own motorised transport at all really. I can vouch that the single bed in the living area is perfectly comfortable and better than many hotel beds i've slept on! I'm a light sleeper so i wore earplugs every night as there is a little street noise in the morning and of course the roosters, but it wasn't a noisy place really, it's just that I'm used to a deathly quiet bedroom with no street noise at home. The place doesn't have airconditioning but with the fans, we didn't feel it needed it at night. It's cool enough during the day too as the verandah shelters the rooms from any direct sun. The welcome basket of fruit, milk etc was very welcome. All in all, highly recommneded.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whattosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

There is not much more to add…but I’ll try! Other travelers have summed it up perfectly. I would suggest it to be a more personal experience than a resort or holiday home– like a bed and breakfast, but with your own living space. We were welcomed early and told we could stay until our flight left on the last day. They gave us fresh Chicken Chowmein for our lunch on arrival and the fridge was stocked, along with fresh fruit and fresh water for the duration of our stay.
The apartment is just a few steps back from the main road (and the bus) and the main centre of Muri (well a good takeaway, car hire, corner store, internet) is only a 10-15 minute stroll away. I would suggest getting a scooter, it’s really easy, I’d never driven one before, but a quick test and off to the Police station to get a Cook Island licence, which for $20 was a good souvenir. As this place is self catered,(even gas cooktop with full oven!) it’s worth going into town to shop up, so if you’re hiring a scooter, get the bus that day. Bring over your red meats, bacon, dairy products and freeze as need be (it’s easy to do and so much cheaper) and buy everything else over there. It’s probably as expensive as shopping at your corner store or petrol station so not that bad. Wine is a bit more from about $15.00 a bottle, but beer is reasonable at around $2/bottle which is comparative with NZ prices. Remember everthing is shut on Sunday and Saturday from about 2pm. This excludes some restaurants and resort nights so check up before you go. We cooked most days and nights as they catered for every sort of bowl, cooking utensil you might need. But if you are looking for something easy and reasonably priced Kai time, just up the road is much like a fish & chip shop with burgers. Food was fantastic. The muri Beach resort just behind the petrol station about 5-10 minutes walk away has a new restaurant Aqua and this looks nice, you can sit around the pool – approx $20 for mains.
The apartment is beautifully presented and even had a few books to enjoy on those quiet afternoons. There is a washing machine and line out the back and they even think of the little things like a washing basket and powder. There is ample space in all rooms, the bed is comfortable and the louver windows allow the breeze to flow through. There are fans in both the living and bedrooms in case it gets a bit too hot. The outside is well shaded all days, so if you want a bit of sun there’s the back lawn or a quick skip across the road and down the walkway 30 seconds later you’re on the same beach shared with Captain James retreat & luxury Te Mana villas (which cost an arm and a leg more!). It’s a small quiet little bay, a couple around from the main lagoon. You’ll need to bring your own snorkeling equipment, but I borrowed a kayak off a neighboring property friends were staying at and paddled around to the main lagoon in about 10 minutes, a swim might take 20.
This is not a resort, so no pool, bar or snorkel hire etc, but it is clean, welcoming and just like staying with a welcoming family – which they are; they even invited us one night for dinner and a few cocktails on their balcony with a gorgeous view. I recommend for any couple or a family with one small child. Not a place to party, a place to relax, recuperate, be looked after and take time, in your own place at your own pace.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelalitlbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range: $88 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing