We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must to do in Muri, Raratonga”

Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.88*
and up
Half-Day Muri Lagoon BBQ Lunch Cruise including Snorkeling
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the crew of the famous Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes on our glass bottom boats for a memorable fun day you will never forget.We provide snorkelling, BBQ lunch, Cook Islands humour, fun and our friendly entertaining guides will leave you with a lasting impression of our Cook Islands people and a smile to put on your face. Can't snorkel? we'll teach you, or view the fish from the comfort of our glass bottom boats.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must to do in Muri, Raratonga”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

OUTSTANDING! A laugh a minute from start to finish, this is essential touring for anyone going to Rarotonga. My husband and I loved it. Awesome hospitality, these 'professional beach bums' work hard to entertain and educate you and help you relax. Snorkelling was outstanding, beautiful BBQ food on 'Fiji' was delicious and what we learnt about Rarotongan culture and tradition was done in good humoured and entertaining way. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boscombe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    162
    38
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unreal Trip - Great snorkleing”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A must do in rarotonga.. Great days fun, snorkling is awesome, the island experience is fab and the crew are fun!! Just see my pics...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"What a Day"”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a day?,It was filled with so much fun,it was one of the best day cruises we have been on so far,it equals Hawaii,Catalina and Fiji tours we have done.The guys are great entertainers and their knowledge of their Island and the Seas is respectfully appreciated.The snorkeling is well organised,the lunch feast was beautiful,the whole trip was well worth every cent,the pick-up and drop off was so appreciated,Well done guys,our highest recommendation for this tour.Picture perfect..A big "MEITAKI".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank polly2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, nz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend..put this on the list!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We've just returned home from a 5 day stay in Rarotonga where we were married. As part of our wedding package, captain tamas cruises provided our transport to the island for our wedding. A few days later we attended the island cruise. The whole crew do a fabulous job at entertaining everyone and the jokes just keep coming. The snorkelling was great and the boat is designed so that access on and off is easy for people of all abilities. The BBQ on the beach was delicious and plenty for all. Sarong tying was great, they do use some people from the crowd to model sarongs and this is also kept comical. They used my husband to model, and taught him some moves for which I will be forever grateful, haha. All in all, great value for money! We've promised we'll be back next year with the KFC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK but . . .”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

... didn't appreciate the undercurrents in the banter of the crew. Right from the start they seemed to be chauvinistic, racist and sexist in an overbearing sort of way. In the meeting area at the beginning men were instructed to "find your woman a seat" and berated in an unpleasant and judgmental way if they appeared not to have done this. At one point I called out "lighten up mate" because of the unpleasant way we were being spoken to.
On the boat, our guide seemed to regard his job as simply being that of a stand-up comic, gave hardly any information about the fish we were going to see, nor did he give any instructions on how to use the snorkelling gear. People were blithely told "We don't do rescues" - very reassuring!! Any suggestion of the possibility of a shark for instance being in the water was similarly joked away.
The demonstration on the island of coconut tree climbing and husking coconuts was fun and interesting. The demonstration of sarong tying was interesting too, but bordered on the cringe-worthy especially in regard to using the garment for men's attire - quite embarrassing and humiliating for the men picked out for this, and involving overtly crude antics by the crew member performing the demonstration (there were children in the audience too!)
Altogether the outing was OK, but could have done without the underlying message that "men and women are not equal" which was poignantly reinforced at a number of points throughout the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing