We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING TRIP!!”

Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.88*
and up
Half-Day Muri Lagoon BBQ Lunch Cruise including Snorkeling
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join the crew of the famous Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes on our glass bottom boats for a memorable fun day you will never forget.We provide snorkelling, BBQ lunch, Cook Islands humour, fun and our friendly entertaining guides will leave you with a lasting impression of our Cook Islands people and a smile to put on your face. Can't snorkel? we'll teach you, or view the fish from the comfort of our glass bottom boats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING TRIP!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a fantastic outing!!! We had an absolute hoot on our lagoon cruise! The weather was great, the guys were hilarious & kept us well & truly entertained! We loved the singing, music, & humour! The snorkelling spot was fantastic. Our bbq lunch was amazing! We loved the coconut husking show & tree climbing show. as for the Sarong tying show...I haven't laughed so much in ages! These guys really know how to entertain! We had an awesome 4.5 hours & thoroughly enjoyed this cruise. An absolute must!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    166
    38
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A definite highlight”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My brother recommended this tour to me - we had a blast.

We were in the boat for those who didn't have children with them (no offence intended, but it was appreciated), and had Captain Trouble who was entertaining.

I've never snorkelled before and it was fantastic. The shows they put on at the Motu were funny, educational and well delivered and the lunch was yummy!

Such a great way to spend 3-4 hours (some tourist maps have discount vouchers...you could save 5-10 dollars with one of their vouchers).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glass bottom boat and entertainment”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

These guys really seem to enjoy their jobs. The guides interact with virtually the entire boat, and are witty, entertaining, as well as informative and knowledgable about the islands. This leans towards a snorkeling boat with a BBQ lunch and show after than a lagoon cruise. Great fun regardless. Snorkel gear included.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Hilarious Crew" is somewhat of an overstatement.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'll keep it brief.
Glass bottomed boat ride was great thanks to the clarity of the water and abundance of fish but the snorkel component was way too short.
Lunch was pretty ordinary in comparison with what else the Island has to offer.
Entertainment from the crew was pretty good for the most part (coconut tree climbing etc) but I don't think humiliating paying customers rates as an hilarious activity... Leave the comedy to people who know how to do it.
I will be recommending the other Island cruise option to my friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Raro Trip!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My partner and I recently visited Rarotonga and decided to go with Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes after hearing some great reviews. So glad we did!! It was the highlight of our trip! The staff were hilarious and friendly, great music and amazing food! We would highly recommend going with Captain Tama's Cruizes!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank holls87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing