We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We don't regret the cost for a minute!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Otago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We don't regret the cost for a minute!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our travel agent talked us into taking the 3 bedroom garden villa for 11 nights on a stay 5 pay for 3 night deal, so for our 11 nights we only paid for 6, making the cost of the georgeous private villa much more affordable. We were in Raro for a wedding and so got to check out heaps of other friends accommodation, and they checked out ours, and Te Manava was just so far ahead that everyone wanted to hang out at our place!! Having 8 and 11 year old children with us meant that the air con right through the villa was a fantastic bonus for getting them to sleep at night, and the private massive pool off the lounge was perfect for them to run around and play their own noisy games while we drank our nespresso in the beautiful garden!! This was one of the best accommodation experiences we have ever had and I know that we will come again, as will most of the wedding guests who all thought they would book it next time they were in Raro! The huge villa, fantastic amenities, private beach access and kayaks, lovely lovely helpful Elaine and Thomas, and the wonderful masseuse in the Spa has certainly left us looking forward to coming back. I cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough and can assure you it is worth every hard earned cent, as Rarotonga has some pretty average accommodation at similar and slightly cheaper prices!!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom garden villa is perfect for 3 couples, or a family of 4 - 6, and the swimming pool is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthernScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    23
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
107
174
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hainesport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This review is long overdue, but I am finally getting around to writing it. Better late than never. Me and my wife stayed at Te Manava from December of 2010 until January of 2011 for 12 nights. First of all, Rarotonga was AWESOME. We loved every minute of it. It is off the beaten path and not overbuilt, but still extremely safe and accomodating. We are not the type of travelers that like to be cooped up on resort grounds all of our trip. That being said, make sure you grab some transportation and tour around the BEAUTIFUL island. I still have many images of the landscape, water, towns, lush jungle, waterfalls, people, and our time there forever burned into my brain. I find myself thinking about Rarotonga at least a couple times a week, over 1 year later. It was that good.

Te Manava, from what I saw after cruising around the island for 2 weeks, was the nicest place to stay on the whole island. The prices, all things considered, weren't all that bad. When we booked our room, I believe we were given a percentage discount for booking longer than a week, and also received every 5th night free. We stayed in an oceanfront beach villa for 1 week, and a garden villa for the 2nd week. The views were SPECTACULAR. It really doesn't get any better. UNREAL location and views. The rooms were extremely nice. Marble tile floors, full kitchen with refrigerator, dishwasher, range cooktop, microwave, nice private patio/porch out front with a small dipping pool and BBQ grill. The bathroom was also very nice with a rain head shower. All of the furniture and finishings in the room fit in with the local style. Dark wood, thatch pattern on the bedroom roof/fan, all nice touches. The room also had a nice safe that I used, and the A/C unit performed without problem. I believe the only "negative" thing I can even list is that there were about 6 TV stations. Local news, ESPN Australia, Rugby, Rugby, Soccer, Cricket. But who cares, if you are inside watching TV in a place like this, you are wasting your time and money.

Elaine was our concierge and was extremely helpful. I asked her at least a few questions a day, and she was always available to help me out, or quickly direct me to someone who could. She set up a cross island trek for me and the wife, and let me know how/where to rent my scooter. Te Manava is managed/owned by the same people that own Pacific Resort a little bit up the road, so you can take advantage of a lot of things going on up there; all of the activities/equipment was for use by Pacific Resort and Te Manava guests. The guys up at the beach hut at Pacific Resort were fun to talk to. They taught me and my wife how to husk a coconut and also let me take out the stand up paddle boards into the lagoon. Definitely take the time to learn how to husk coconuts. You can feed some of the local doggies some coconut water and make some friends (we had a few we'd see every day and they'd walk with us). Also it's easy to find some coconuts for a great snack if you are out on the island. The staff were always quick to provide extra towels, goggles/flippers or anything else I asked for. Everyone was always smiling, happy, and pretty quick. The villas also provided complimentary kayaks/paddles to use, which we took advantage of to go explore the reef and small motus (islands) out in the lagoon. The rooms were cleaned daily, and in great shape whenever we came back from cruising around, being in town, or swimming/snorkeling. We had one guest in our bathroom, a small gecko for a few days. He was harmless and just hung out on the wall, for a little while. My only regret is that I couldn't book the beachfront villa for the entire 2 week span. I really did miss the view and looking out on the South Pacific every morning (my own fault because I waited just a tad too long to book).

Overall, I strongly recommend Te Manava as a place to stay. Great property, helpful staff, and amazing location. My wife and I will definitely be back in the future for one of our anniversaries. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Ocean front villa is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCWeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

What can you say brilliant set up ,amazing staff.
This is the third time we have stayed at Te Manava,This holiday was 3 nights in the garden villa then we went to Aitutaki for 4 nights then returned to Te Manava for 14 nights in the Ultimate 3 Bedroom Beach Villa.The garden villas are great for a family as they have everything needed and a really good size pool.The Ultimate 3 Bedroom Beach Villa is brilliant with everything you could need, brand new, spacious, private due to being up from the beach below , the courtyard pool is a really good size.The location is great just a short walk and your at the lagoon to snorkel or kayak or if up early watch the sunrise.
The concierge Elaine as always was amazing, from the time she met us at the airport with a welcoming smile to when she dropped us at the airport on our departure she could not do enough for us ( even find a lost video camera ).Additionally all the villa staff are great Thomas, Ana & Tai nothing was ever a problem for them.We have stayed now in all Te Manavas family accommodation and they are all highly recommended.
Again we were all sad to leave but we will all be back.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I agree with Kirsty from Tas. Beautiful well appointed villas but can't be classed as 5 star when you don't even get a complimentary cup of tea,you pay for everything!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AandC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My now husband & I got married just out the front of the beachfront villas by a formation of huge black rock & it was just beautiful. Of course with the permision of te manava our wedding planner/photographer Melanie Cooper arranged the whole thing & the photos are stunning. Close enough to town yet far enough away to be very private. If luxury is what u want u will find it here!! Highly reccomend the beachfront villas as the veiw is picturesk:). We enjoyed the privacy quite & that we could come & go as we pleased & barely saw anyone else. Help was just a phone call away & the staff are very friendly & helpfull. Cant wait to return to beautiful Rarotonga & we will deffinatly stay with Te Manava again x

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haua2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just returned from a 2 week vacation at Te Manava, Muri Beach, Raratonga, Cook Islands. The Ultimate Beachfront Villa was really spectacular. Private access from the villa to the lagoon beach, with use of canoes waiting out the front. The villa was beautifully appointed, extremely clean, with a full kitchen - micro-wave, gas cooktop, oven and dish-drawer dishwashers. There was a private courtyard with a pool, laundry and BBQ area. A second bedroom with ensuite is a separate pavilion within the courtyard to give total privacy if needed. Plenty of outdoor furniture around the pool and on the front balcony. The view is magnificent and the lagoon really spectacular. Lots of areas to explore while snorkeling. Reef shoes are a must. At Te Manava you can select the services you require as an added extra. We pre-ordered a breakfast package and BBQ pack which was delivered prior to our arrival which was a great way to start. The staff at Te Manava were really wonderful - very helpful and so friendly. Elaine the concierge cannot do enough for you. They really want you to enjoy your time with them.
(Te Manava is affiliated with the Pacific Resort which is leisurely stroll along the beach. Meals activities, etc can be booked back to your room.)
If you are looking for an adrenalin filled holiday, this probably would not be the place to go. There are quad bike adventures, fishing and diving trips available as well as lagoon glass bottom boat trips, kite surfing, paddle boarding etc. Everything is done on "island time" which only adds to the calmness of the island. The Island bus service (one bus clockwise, one bus anti-clockwise) will pick you up on the roadside and drop you off anywhere along the route if you do not have a car/scooter hire. Vehicle hire is cheap but petrol is expensive. You will need to attain a Cook Island driver's license to drive here - cost is $20 and a great souvenir. The whole island is only 32k around. It is about a 20 min drive from Te Manava to Avarua, the capital of Raratonga. Here there are restaurants, shops, supermarkets etc. The local markets are on Saturday mornings and something not to be missed for a taste of the local foods and culture.
The Cook Islands are famous for Black pearls. Many shops sell them, but if you are purchasing, be sure to go to an accredited seller. Black Rock is a great spot to take a picnic to and watch the sun set. The sunrises and sunsets on the island are magnificent.
The local beer Mututu (lager and pale ale) is really enjoyable and the brewery is about a 5 min drive from Te Manava. They will package up a carton or two for you to bring back.
The only thing we were disappointed about was the lack of seafood. Fresh seafood is hard to get which is surprising for a south sea island. Most of the seafood is imported from New Zealand. We were told direct flights from Brisbane to Rarotonga will be starting soon, which will make it even easier to get there. At the moment it is a stop over in Auckland from Australia.
For a truly relaxing holiday this is the perfect place to stay. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4bearsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Let's start with the good here - the location is great, on Muri beach protected and great for swimming. There's restaurants within walking distance, but really - hire a car or scooter for your best bet on getting around. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. I also had a great massage.

Aside from the above, we felt a bit let down by our stay at Te Manava. We booked through a third party and weren't aware of the "concept". The concept being that you get your room and you pay for everything else. And by everything - I mean everything except kayak use. Don't go straight in and use the shower - the shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and even one type of soap are $15 each. Want new towels during your stay? $55. Want housekeeping to come in and clean - it costs extra. A cot? extra. 2 hours of internet - $30. Snorkels - extra.

We stayed for 8 nights at $850 per night in a 3 bedroom apartment - at this price, I expected more. In addition, the photos of the interiors on the website weren't matched with the standard of the place we stayed at - it was fine, neat and mostly clean, but wasn't 5 star. We had part of a dishwasher held on with velcro and queen sized beds instead of king size beds.

So in short, the staff were really helpful, the location is great, but the concept didn't suit us and wasn't apparent to us until we go there. I felt as though there were a lot better value for money options that we could have chosen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kirsty_TAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa

Property: Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Address: Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cook Island's newest and most luxurious private villas managed by Pacific Resort operator of Australasia's & the Cook Islands Leading Resorts - World Travel Awards 2007 & 2008. Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa is 5-star luxury accommodation, set on the beautiful white sand beach of Rarotonga's stunning Muri lagoon, offering an exciting new choice for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Manava Luxury Villas And Spa
Te Manava Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing