We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pay" Manava”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Let's start with the good here - the location is great, on Muri beach protected and great for swimming. There's restaurants within walking distance, but really - hire a car or scooter for your best bet on getting around. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. I also had a great massage.

Aside from the above, we felt a bit let down by our stay at Te Manava. We booked through a third party and weren't aware of the "concept". The concept being that you get your room and you pay for everything else. And by everything - I mean everything except kayak use. Don't go straight in and use the shower - the shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and even one type of soap are $15 each. Want new towels during your stay? $55. Want housekeeping to come in and clean - it costs extra. A cot? extra. 2 hours of internet - $30. Snorkels - extra.

We stayed for 8 nights at $850 per night in a 3 bedroom apartment - at this price, I expected more. In addition, the photos of the interiors on the website weren't matched with the standard of the place we stayed at - it was fine, neat and mostly clean, but wasn't 5 star. We had part of a dishwasher held on with velcro and queen sized beds instead of king size beds.

So in short, the staff were really helpful, the location is great, but the concept didn't suit us and wasn't apparent to us until we go there. I felt as though there were a lot better value for money options that we could have chosen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Kirsty_TAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

A group of 6 of us had a relaxing catch-up for a week at Te Manava and absolutely loved it! Elaine the concierge is priceless - managed to organise the delivery of a bag lost in Auckland airport, bikes for 6 of us one day, always very friendly and helpful.
We stars in villa 6, 3 bedrooms right on the beach and every day woke up to paradise. The villas are spacious, well-fitted and had plenty of spots for relaxation. Pool was rather cool but still well used, unfortunately weather rather overcast & windy during our stay so we didn't make the most of the lagoon but instead explored the island on power-assisted bicycles (a must!!) and scooters.
Worth every cent to stay there and we'd do it all again in a flash.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestOzLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

What an amazingly gorgeous place. We visited for a week with 15 of our family, we took the 3 bedroom beach villa, the presidential villa and the beachfront 2 bedroom villa (villa 2 which I think is the most amazingly gorgeous of all). We were in villa 2 with our two children aged 11 and 13, they had their own separate villa with ensuite bathroom, this opened onto the central pool courtyard and the main villa was beachfront with four poster bed, huge ensuite with glass shower looking onto private garden, large living area, huge flat screen tv, well set up kitchen and wrap around balcony with outdoor furniture and sun loungers. The courtyard was fabulous with dining table and loungers poolside so when it was windy out front we could still enjoy the sun and swimming in the shelter of the walled courtyard. The children all roamed from pool to pool in a mob (7 of them ranging in age from 5-13) it was a fabulous place for a family holiday and the presidential villa was our focal point for meals, being large enough to fit 15 comfortably. The staff were fabulous and the level of service superb. We'd definately return to Villa 2.

Room Tip: Villa 2 for couples or with children old enough not to be watched around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZKB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Te Manava villas and can't wait to get back there. Our family thoroughly enjoyed the peace and comfort of the 3 bedroom garden villa. The pool and bbq area was awesome and we spent a lot of time relaxing there. We took vac-packed meat to have 2 meals at the villa and planned on dining out for the rest of the time, however, we enjoyed our surroundings so much that we bought in food to cook for our last night there instead of dining out again. We snorkelled off the beach a bit further down the road opposite the Fruits of Rarotonga..a lovely little roadside cafe;excellent muffins. The kayaking off the beach from Te Manava was great and we loved exploring the lagoon. The fish and clear water are amazing. We would recommend Trader Jacks for dinner, with great views out to sea from the deck and a good selection of food to suit any budget. We took snack foods, cereal, yoghurt, wine, cheese and meat from home and bought really cheap beer duty free on arrival. Perfect. Our stay exceeded expectations so thank you to all at Te Manava; your friendly and sincere customer service was much appreciated. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Places so rarely live up to the promises made in the brochures and on-line, but Te Manava was an exception. We arrived at night, after an exhausting day of travel, and everything was in darkness, but as soon as we were shown to our two bedroom beachfront villa our spirits lifted. It was beautiful! The mini-bar was extremely well stocked and there was a drawer full of other "necessities" in case you'd forgotten to bring your own. The private swimming pool, though small, is fairly deep and provided a great way to cool off after a day spent on the beach. The view from the villa was beautiful: an aquamarine lagoon that was more beautiful in reality than it was in the brochure. Although therAris a bus service that circumnavigates the island, we hired a car which requires you to visit the police station to obtain a Cook Islands drivers licence. The car hire company will issue a temporary license valid for 24 hours. Don't be tempted to use this temporary license for more than 24 hours because the police set up regular road blocks to check licenses. Get to the police station early as I gets pretty busy. And take your own pen!!!

We loved Te Manava!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustmeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed recently and thought it was fantastic. We had one of the 1 bedroom beachfront villas which was amazing. It was literally a few steps down to the beach, which was white sand and quite private. Panoramic views from the room and deck out over the lagoon and had our own private plunge pool. The room itself was finished to a very high standard and had all the amenities required for self catering - bbq, cooktop, kitchenware etc. The service was excellent. Elaine the concierge was very helpful and friendly and checked on us a few times to make sure we had everything we needed - but not too much - which was great. Muri Beach is really nice and this was up the far end so was a bit more private than the resort end. About a 10-15 min walk down to Pacific Resort if you want to go for dinner there. Would be nice if transfers to Pacific were included to make dining easier, although the first night our transfer was comped anyway . We had a look around the rest of the island and at a few of the other resorts and I can't imagine there being anything nicer than Te Manava, as it was ideal.

Room Tip: All the beachfront rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Everyone loves Te Manava! We had a family holiday here - 3 generations in 3 villas - the Presidential, the 3 bdm and a 2 bdm and we all loved it. The kids had a wonderful time in the pools and lagoon, and loved the games they could have on the beach with it's big rocks. There is a flat area about 50 metres further down the beach which is perfect for ball games. The villas are beautiful, luxurious and very well appointed, with a choice of places to sit and enjoy the sun (or shade) and the magnificent view. We mostly self catered and there were ample glasses, serving dishes, plates, etc and good barbeques. The Pacific Resort is a short walk along the beach and the restaurant there is good. Te Manava staff are amazing - always smiling and incredibly helpful. I cannot find a single fault with this lovely place. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doloresbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
561 reviews
3.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa

Address: Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range: $369 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Road Less Travelled … Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa is designed for those who value independence and privacy while relaxing and enjoying luxury surrounds. Set on the white sands of Muri Beach and overlooking a beautiful crystal clear lagoon, our 5-star villa complex is the perfect location for your island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Manava Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Te Manava Luxury Villas And Spa
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing