We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Te Vakaroa Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Te Vakaroa Villas
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Rarotonga is a fantastic place to relax and unwind. We had a wonderful stay at TeVakaroa. We stayed for 10 nights and for most of those, the 6 units were fully occupied. The location is perfect and the views stunning – you’re close to restaurants, a great little coffee shop and a small supermarket.
TeVakaroa has been opened for ~18 months and there’s obviously some teething problems. Our Villa had a broken dishwasher and the sliding doors would not lock. The major problem is their bed linen. Our fitted sheet was so badly stained it should have been thrown out. We were told it was clean and had just come from the laundry – “maybe they hadn’t washed it in bleach”. The second sheet they put on was also stained and one of the cleaning staff told us this was the best one she could find, they were all stained. We found this very unacceptable, however didn’t make a fuss at the time, as we didn’t want to spoil our holiday. On this alone, I would have to think twice before recommending or returning to TeVakaroa. This is our second trip to the Cook Islands and won’t be our last – 3 years ago we stayed at the Rarotongan Beach and Spa Resort – the first night in a standard room and the rest of our holiday in the Honeymoon Bungalow. We had no problems with the bed linen in either rooms.
Muri Beach is definitely the pick of the areas to stay and there’s certainly a lot of great accommodation along the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbro-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Best location on the Island five star accommodation friendly & helpful staff .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubsvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This was our first trip to the Cook Islands and we arrived on a 6 am flight. Booking through Costco we received an early check in of 6 am, which was needed and even though our late check out allowed us to stay until 6 pm, the owner allowed us to stay in the room until 9:30 pm for our midnight flight. They were very accommodating and extremely helpful.

The unit was immaculately clean and well apportioned. The bed was one of the best I or my husband have ever had traveling. But what would make me want to come back would be the porch. You felt like you were in your own private world even when there were people in the unit beside you. Very comfortable couch and 2 chairs on the porch to watch the pool and beach. 12 steps from the pool and a few more to the beach. You didn't feel like you were staying in a hotel room.

The only negative I could find is the pool and hot tub (which I knocked off a star for). The hot tub was never more than lukewarm and the pool was frigid. We were told by one person that it was broken and they were fixing it and the owner then told us that they turn off the heat this time of year. In a week of staying there, we didn't see a single person use the pool or hot tub - they were way too cold.

The only other item that was slightly annoying is that they only staff the front desk until noon. Usually you can find someone wandering around but you have to decide by noon if you want to snorkel or kayak in order to get the vouchers for next door.

However, the spot right on Muri Beach and next to a market and a few restaurants makes this a great location and a great property. As we walked around and looked at the other properties around it, we realized we had made the best decision.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apexdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Te Vakaroa is an amazing property. The amenities, view, and staff are great. Unfortunately our honeymoon was impacted by a family of four also staying here, with two teenagers who obviously do not meet the Adults Only requirement. We were looking forward to a quiet, wonderful honeymoon in a remote and exotic location. We thought we had found it upon arrival judging by everything Te Vakaroa offers. Unfortunately, the laps of butterfly and humpback whale noises from their snorkeling equipment make it hard to enjoy the serenity. The lack of truth in advertising is troubling. The staff did offer to move us to Rendevous Villas down the beach, but it's a 3 star type of place that smelled of garbage, so our best option was to put up with the kids yelling up to the top balcony consistently through the day. Hopefully Te Vakaroa will amend their Adults Only policy to only 21+ ages. Rarotonga is amazing, I would recommend it anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbrianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at Te Vakaroa for eight nights in March 2009. We have been to Raro several times and stayed on Muri Beach every time so we have watched these villas being built and were curious to see what they were like. We couldn't get in to our usual accommodation because we booked late so we stayed in Te Vakaroa. We had problems with two delayed flights but Jeanette at reception and Nick the owner/manager were very accommodating in changing our dates etc so we were very grateful for that.
We stayed in one of the one bedroom villas - there are six villas in total - three one bed on the ground floor and three two bed on the first floor. The villas are great with everything you could think of needing for a self catering stay (restaurants are very close by if you don't want to self cater) - good variety of kitchen gadgets, pots and pans, full oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier - wouldn't mind this kitchen in my home!!! Mini bar prices were not over expensive which makes a refreshing change
The bedroom was very comfy and plenty of wardrobe space in the corridor, even had CD player and radio in the bedroom. Sheets and bedding were of very high quality cotton. Bathroom and shower very luxurious. The lounge area was also beautifully furnished and had TV, DVD player etc. Large sliding doors opened directly onto an outdoor lounge area furnished with cane sofa and chairs.
We found the villa very comfortable clean and luxurious, a lot of thought has gone into the whole place from the smallest detail to the beautiful stone floors and woodwork. There is an infinity pool which gives the impression of being at one with the lagoon which is really only 10 steps away from the property. A day bed and gazebo with lots of cushions completes the feeling of comfort and luxury.
Downsides are minor and few - don't know what it would be like if all of the villas were full as the whole property is fairly small, expect some music at times from Capt Tamas next door but its only at some times during the day and late afternoon and they do play good music and not too loud.
I think this is a lovely place to stay and would recommend it to my friends

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I would definately recommend this beachfront villa to everyone. One of most beautiful places we have ever stayed. We have travelled around to many places and this villa is new and has a lovely infinity pool. All the modern confinences, and applicances. The cleaning staff is excellent and willing to help you with any request. The owner/manager Nick, is very nice friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and will go back and stay again as soon as we can hopefully next winter. If you are planning on visiting the Cook Islands you should plan to stay at this beautiful villa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Te Vakaroa Villas is a beautiful, new and upscale accomodation that I am sure is one of the best on the island. With it's prime Muri Beach front location, it not only has stunning views, but is close to many ammenities as well. We stayed here for six weeks and could have stayed a life time. The owners Nick and Dez ensured our stay was most comfortable in every way. The facility is extremely clean and well kept. Inside the private and secure grounds, the gardens are lush and beautiful. Even though we live on the opposite side of the globe, we will be sure to return soon! A special thanks to Nick and his awesome staff.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeeker020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
0.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Vakaroa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Vakaroa Villas

Property: Te Vakaroa Villas
Address: Main Road, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Vakaroa Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property offers six beachfront villas that face Muri Lagoon. 3 x 1 Brm Villas at the ground level and 3 x 2 Brm Villas at the 1st level each with views across the pool to the beach and lagoon. All villas are highly appointed, with large terraces, full kitchens complete with dishwashers, microwaves, frig/freezers, DVDs, surround cinema with flat screen TVs, satellite TV reception. Blue Tooth connectivity to in room speakers,and WiFi internet connections. Each Villa has its own laundry. A freshwater pool, spa and large daybed are located right above the beach. Welcome fruit platter provided on arrival and complimentary tropical breakfasts delivered to your villa daily, with room service available from the adjoining restaurant. Private car meet/greet and airport transfers $ 20 per person each way are recommended given our property is only manned between 8.30am and 4.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Te Vakaroa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Vakaroa Villas Hotel Muri
Te Vakaroa Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing