We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful holiday away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We meant to write this review after staying at Dorothy's in January. We first heard about Dorothy's from Trip Advisor and all the good comments were true. Excellent value for money. Ivor was so helpful and welcoming, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, and the beach was just a hop, skip, and a jump away. The sand at Muri beach was soft and the water wonderfully clear. Thanks for an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trefynwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Ivor was very welcoming and met us at the airport and also for our return home flight.
The bungalows are spotlessley clean really good accomodation and very near the beach

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks and location, Raro, Muri beach and accommodation perfect for us. Ivor was helpful and informative and very approachable. We wanted peaceful location, privacy with home comforts and the bungalows more than met our expectation. The location is 1 minute walk to the best swimming beach on Raro. We took lilos/inflatables which was an excellent idea as used them loads. Best snorkeling in the marine reserve at Muri or opposite Fruits of Raro. Definately take your own snorkeling gear, as we did. Saw eels, parrot fish, flat fish, a sea snake, angel fish, blue star fish and loads more. Best snorkelling was by far on Aitutaki, where visibility was over 20 meters. Saw giant clams and amazing coral, although not as many fish as on Raro. Also saw a turtle whilst out on Aitutaki lagoon. Possibly the most beautiful island we have ever been to. Hired a moped and roads were all safe on both inner and outer road. Some connecting roads were dirt tracks. Waterfall a little small by NZ standards but we have been previously spoilt! Resterants all very nice although self catered most of the time. Did needles walk and got quite lost and managed to find our way to a different peak which was still spectacular. As you can guess, we did not take a guide! Did not do island night as did all this on previous trip to Samoa but took advantage of fire shows on beach for wedding parties which we randomly stumbled on!!! Was perfect relax which is what Raro is all about.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emgitoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewZealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We just got back from a quick 4 night stay at Dorothy's, what a great little spot it had everything we needed and we cant agree more with the other reviews. Just a short walk to the beach and no road noise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fijitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We have just had 8 wonderful nights in the #2 bungalow..... more than we could of ever hoped for.
We had an early morning flight and Hemi met us, he and his wife look after the place for Ivor & Dorothy and we found them friendly, approachable but not at all intrusive.
We had flower arrangements in the kitchen, bathroom and on the beds as well as a big bowl full of fruit, avocados and crackers, and milk in the fridge with a bottle of water on arrival. There was tea, coffee & sugar and also laundry powder. Basically you can walk in and there is enough to last a day or 2 without having to replenish tea, coffee etc.
The bungalows came with 2 sun loungers, an outdoor setting, umbrellas, beach mats, laundry basket, clothes airer (as well as washing machine, dryer and full cooking facilities etc), there was even a basic 1st aid kit in the bathroom.

The only down side was that perhaps a small couch in the living area would be great. Neither of the safes in either unit worked, apparently they have had constant trouble with them, but I dont think this was a real problem as we found places to 'stash our valuables'.
A folder/compedium explaining things would of been good, for an example there is now a bbq on each front deck with no gas bottle. This is a relatively new addition and apparently it is $40 for the week which we think is great value, and they will drop the bottle off of course.
Our tv had terrible reception but the neighbours was good, didn't matter too much though as we didn't really miss it although to watch the news clearly would of been great.
We will definately be back to stay if we ever venture over again. The location was great, only one house back from the beach front which was a short walk, and because of this when it was windy the place was mainly sheltered. The little touches really mattered, such as getting in on our 2nd or 3rd day there and finding 2 huge papaya in the fruit bowl.
I felt it was great having Hemi and his wife next door as we knew we could ask them about things but they were very respectful of our 'space'.................AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME.

I enquired about other accommodation around the area and this place is incredibly cheap in comparison and from what I could see so much nicer than other places that were 2 to 4 times the price per night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

A Fantastic place to stay on Rarotonga. We had a great welcome from Ivor the owner of the bungalow. It is ideally situated close to Muri Beach, restaurants and bars shops all in walking distance. The bungalow was immaculate & clean and fully self contained with all the facilities that you would need.
All linen supplied but we advise you to take your own beach towels.
Would definately return to stay here it is right next door to the Pacific resort but you do not have to pay resort prices for your accommodation

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

I come to write this review only to find it has all been said before by KiwichickAuckland (previous review) I concur fully we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 18 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muri Shores
Muri Shores
#3 of 18 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing