We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
westonsupermare
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If your looking for luxury then this isn't for you. But if you want decent accomodation with everything you would want then stay here.
Plus points - a washing machine and dryer plus an airer to hang stuff on outside to dry, modern fridge and freezer. Ceiling and another fan in the bedroom. Outside space with BBQ plus chairs and table. Thirty second walk to the beach.
Down points - blooming roosters waking you up at four in the morning!! Air con is extra. Shower took ages to drain away and was in danger of flooding.
Loved the location close to restaurants beach and bus stop but tucked away so nobody knew where you were.
Loved the resident dog who won our hearts over ad stayed with us through the whole stay even coming snorkelling with us!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank combatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I moved to Dorothy's after spending a couple of days at a resort on the other side of the Island. Muri is so much more fun and Dorothy's is great value right in the centre with at least 5 restaurants in easy walking distance. The beach is so close and being able to self cater was a bonus as well. Ivor is so kind and accommodating and the bungalows are clean and cosy. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleWaiheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had 8 fabulous nights at Dorothy's and didn't want to leave. Unit was absolutely spotless. Ivor and Dorothy are great hosts even leaving fruit and water in the fridge for our arrival. The beach is about 30m from the unit and whilst it does not have seaviews (a bonus on a windy day) the outlook is still very attractive and the grounds are well manicured with outdoor settings for each unit. Lots of places to eat handy but we used the BBQ most nights. Loved it and can't wait to go back - would definitely stay at Dorothy's again. Would recommend the two bedroom unit to those with small children as it has a larger self contained outdoor area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki_Rhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What great 10 nights.Dorothys is well located,1 minute stroll to Muri lagoon,2 minutes to Bus or Vehicle hire and a number of nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk.The units are comfortable,well appointed,clean and modern.Ivor and Dorothy are lovely people and great hosts.
This was our second holiday in Raro,our first stay at Dorothy's and we are looking forward to our return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomChristchurchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here in 2011, I went to Raotonga by myself (single female) and found the location fantastic(Muri Beach is my favourite spot on the island),close to everything that I could need(but still felt 'private'), safe and secure, with tidy, comfortable accomodation. Would recommend to friends and would also stay here again.

Room Tip: The roosters were the only dowside to the quality of sleep, but you'll get this in all the islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My partner and I spent a memorable week here in April 2012.

The accommodation was excellent value, in a great location and was modern, clean and tidy.

Would definately recommend and hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 9 nights while attending a wedding that was held at pacific resort. The location and positive reviews made it an easy choice for accomodation. It is in muri which is the nicest area of rarotonga and is between pacific resort and sails restaurant, right in the heart of muri. Everything you need is nearby or a short scooter ride away. Ivor the host welcomed us with a bowl of fresh fruit in the room. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this accomodation. Fantastic location and very good value for money. We didn't have air conditioning as we didn't want to pay the extra for it and this was the only flaw as it made sleeping hard cause we were to damn hot so get air conditioning (don't make the same mistake we did), its worth it in warm raro season! Thanks Ivor!!

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 2 and it was a nice private one, we had some chicken friends in the backyard too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#35 of 75 in Rarotonga
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows

Property: Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dorothy`s Muri Beach Bungalows Hotel Muri
Dorothy's Muri Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing