We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Apartment with very friendly hosts”
Review of Muri Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Retreat
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment with very friendly hosts”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have been looking for a nice clean apartment on the cook islands for our honeymoon and we found, what we searched for. Muri Retreat is located about 10minutes walk from Muri Beach on the hillside. From our bedroom we had a great view to the sea and we could see the sunrise directly from our bed - so beautiful! It is clean, very quite and you can relax and enjoy the feeling of the cook islands. The hosts are very helpful and took care of us and gave very helpful tips to explore Rarotonga. There are nice little restaurants around to have breakfast or dinner. If you want to have something local authentic you will feel very comfortable at Muri Retreat. The resorts arround are much more expensive and for us too touristic - spend the money on other activities.

Our hosts Phoebe and Steve made a perfect week for us in Rarotonga.

You should not book Muri Retreat, if you love "all inclusive clubs with animation", or you do not want to walk some minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
100
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Nice location (though mosquitoes are a problem as its closer to the bush). Very helpful hosts. Not a bad room though in common with many Rarotongan lodgings (judging from what others said about other places) starting to need an update and a bit of money spending on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbleblowernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

To anyone who’s thinking about using Muri Retreat… Book it!:
We went to Rarotonga in September 2010 for 10 days and stayed at Muri Retreat. Looking at the house from the front, we were in the upstairs left hand apartment. Our apartment was first class in every way. The bed was the biggest and most comfortable bed ever and we had a wonderfully fitted out kitchen. The bathroom was large and very luxurious, we wanted for nothing. The apartment was immaculately clean, thanks to our hosts, Steve and Phoebe.
We woke to the sunrise over the island each morning and from our balcony we could see the sea breaking on the reef, it was stunningly beautiful. On an evening we ate our dinner in privacy on our balcony with the coconut trees silhouetted in the background.
It is only 5 minutes down the lane to the beach and a further 5 minutes to the shops and a further 5 minutes to Muri Centre, where we hired a scooter and bought most of our provisions during our stay on the island.
We read comments on this website, before we booked our stay at Muri Retreat and we are under no obligation to write these comments now, we just wanted too, if you are thinking about booking Muri Retreat, then book it with confidence, it is 100%
We would like to thank Steve and Phoebe for a fantastic stay, because without a doubt, our accommodation made the holiday. If we visit the Island again, we would without doubt use Muri Retreat without any hesitation at all, utterly first class and our many thanks again to Steve and Phoebe.
Graham & Jennifer Lodge
[--]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England / Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I stayed at Muri Retreat on my trip to the Cook Islands, whilst my friend was on business and was staying in one of the largest resorts/hotels in Rarotonga.

Having visited her hotel and stayed there on my first night in Rarotonga I was not impressed. The hotel was dated, and was not worth the hefty price.

Muri Retreat was a breath of fresh air. It's location was extremely tranquil, and Phoebe and Steve were so accommodating, and went out of their way to ensure I had everything I needed, and more. They were happy to give advice, and give up their time to engage in general conversation, above and beyond what I would consider reasonable.
The room was adequate and clean, and the cooking facilities were great. I was most impressed with the dvd library and the mini dvd player that was provided so you could snuggle up and watch a movie - brilliant idea.
I had some bad news from home during my stay, and had to leave abruptly. Phoebe and Steve took me to their house, let me use their phone and the internet to sort out my flights, took care of returning my rental vehicle, and didn't even make me pay for the remaining nights that I had booked but was no longer using.

Phoebe and Steve make an already great place amazing.
Thank you so much, and sorry it's been so long.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Our recent stay here was awesome, the photo's on the "net" do not do it justice, it's far better quality, Phoebe and Steve are so relaxed and welcoming, nothing's a bother, not that you need anything else anyway. The roosters are in the distance unlike Aitutaki. The swimming pool (salt water) is clean and inviting, their is a black pearl jeweller next door, (yes we had to shop there, good value) hire a scooter and you're only minutes away from anywhere, we will return, many thanks

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renegade53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Ww had 10 wonderful days staying at Muri Retreat in 'Dove', one of the upstairs apartments with views over the lagoon and reef. The accomodation was brilliant. Bright, fresh, clean rooms with filtered water on tap. The shower/bathroom facilities were very good and we found it easy to self cater with the well appointed kitchen. Muri retreat is set back from the beach but it's an easy walk up a short road and away from traffic noise. It is very private and with the setting amongst coconut palms and paw paw and banana trees you really get a feel for being on a tropical island. Steve and Phoebe send guests an info sheet before travelling to Raro so it makes it easy for you to know what to expect. They were gracious and friendly hosts who left us in privacy but checked in regularly to see that everything was alright and they made it clear that if we needed help with anything that they were only a phone call away. We cannot recommend this holiday home highly enough. It was brilliant! We will be returning one day :0)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

From the night we entered our 11 night stay the whole eight of us new we had made the right decision. Perched up the hill away from the road and with a magic view of the sea we simply enjoyed a very relaxed and very well hosted holiday. Steve and Phoebe's stars shone brightly as fabulous hosts the entire time we were there and they both instantly made us feel chilled out and relaxed. We have no hestiation as an entire group of people to recommend visiting the Muri Retreat. The swimming pool on site is an added bonus. Rarotonga is a very laid back place to holiday and the Muri Retreat is the cream on the top.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSBonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#32 of 77 in Rarotonga
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
211 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Retreat

Property: Muri Retreat
Address: Ambala Rd | Muri Beach Village, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Retreat is situated on a private tropical hillside surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens, overlooking the warm turquoise waters of Rarotonga's finest beach...Muri Beach. A peaceful place to relax and unwind. We are a small and friendly adults only self-catering holiday accommodation proudly offering 4 quality apartments that are stylish, comfortable and fully self-contained. Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, stunning sunrises, volcanic mountains, tropical rainforest and plantations.... all from your bed or private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muri Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Retreat Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing