We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at muri retreat”
Review of Muri Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Retreat
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at muri retreat”
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We stayed in the small studio (Omu) on the ground floor in Muri Retreat and enjoyed our stay immensely. Right from the beginning, phoebe and steve were there to welcome us and give us tips on where to go , where to eat and generally the're a fountain of information. They had snorkel gear there too which we were able to us, which was dead handy, and the pool was great for our first few attempts at snorkelling :) And also in the evenings for nice cooling swims, mucho thanks to steve for maintaining pool so well!
Muri lagoon is only a 5-10 mins walk away, scooters are fairly cheap to rent, there are loads of car rental places also, or if your like us you can rent bicycles . There is a great chipper down by sailing club, and the shop next door does great lunch sandwiches, thanks to phoebe for the heads up on that on the first day!
We found our stay in the cooks very enjoyable, make sure and go to one of the islands nights, we went to the one in the rarotongan and it was 65 dollars, very good buffet and show was entertaining. Everyone pretty much takes it easy there and its a great to just kick back and relax, muri retreat has this vibe also largely in part to the owners steve and phoebe who help make your holiday a relaxing one.

Hope to get back there someday, it's a long way from ireland though but we'll be back :)

padraic and susan

  • Liked — it was a self sufficent accomodation and very relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing! it was great
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podge_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I were travelling around the world and booked our first 3 nights accommodation online at Muri Retreat on our stop at the Cook Islands. We were met at the airport and were immediately made to feel welcome on the Island by the local people. Phoebe and Steve (Muri Retreat owners) were at the accommodation to meet us and help us with everything we needed.

We loved the studio room we stayed in so much we went back a week later for a further few days . We stayed in two different rooms and both were lovely. I couldn't recommend this accommodation more for couples and friends.

Phoebe and Steve were wonderfully helpful and kind to us during our stay and went out of their way to fit us in for a couple of extra days at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia - Bay of Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Well......where do I start?

Firstly, this property was perfect for our stay and I would highly recommend to anyone wanting time out, time away or even a romantic little getaway. Muri Retreat is a special little "haven." The accommodation is apartment/studio style and there is even a small saltwater pool for that early morning dip or time away from the beautiful blue lagoon that surrounds the island. Upon arrival at 4am (not a great time to travel), we were greeted by a hand written note from the owners....Pheobe and Steve. Lovely cool water in the fridge and beautiful sweet Mango and Pawpaw which we eagerly ate at breakfast. The first morning there, I walked out onto that deck (The Dove room) and was in awe at the beauty of the lagoon and forever rolling ocean beyond. It was truelly a most beautiful sight. I savoured this view each morning either sipping a hot cup of coffee or enjoying tasteful fruits of the Pacific. The odd glass of wine took place there in the evenings also.

After our visit to Rarotonga, (as another guest once said) "I realised I was born geographically misplaced)! The dancing, the culture, the Vaka Eiva (waka ama / outrigger canoe) 2008 competitions, the people, the seafood, the service and Muri Retreat all complimented our stay. In fact we raved about it so much, so that my sister is planning her wedding there for 2010.

The personal touch, added throughout our entire stay by both Pheobe and her husband Steve, was greatly appreciated and truelly made our stay! They certainly went that extra mile. Lending us snorkelling gear when we forgot ours, bombarding us with my favourite Mangos, and even hanging a bunch of bananas in the hula hutt for all. We will be back......in fact we didn't want to leave!!!! And our first few days home we spent contemplating flying back for the weekend. We may have come home, but we certainly left our hearts there. Goodbye beautiful Rarotonga and see you again soon!!!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the personal touches
  • Disliked — the geckos still scare me, but I got used to them by the end of our trip :)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyJessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My partner and I went to Muri Retreat for a weeks holiday and found it to be really fantastic. Steve and Phoebe were lovely hosts, always willing to help and offer tips for places to visit on the island. We stayed in Onu apartment and were really pleased with how comfortable and clean it was. We had everything we needed and loved our little deck where we could sit outside to eat or read. The beach was only 5 mins walk away and it was nice to be a little distance away, surrounded by the gardens, and with such a lovely view.
I would definitely recommend Muri Retreat for couples or anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.
Thanks Steve and Phoebe!!

  • Liked — Clean and pretty and everything we needed, plus great hosts
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lettielacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Muri Retreat was a great choice for some quality 'me time'. it is located on the nicest part of Rarotonga - Muri and is close to Muri shops. i liked that it wasn't right on the beach and showed the other beautiful side of rarotonga - surrounded by the colourful vegetation and was private, a real 'retreat'. plus, the beach is only on the other side of the road!

phoebe and steve were so friendly and showed me around and got me settled in. the room facilties were ideal and the pool was always in tip top condition.

each room has its own deck to chill out on and everything you can think of is provided. i really enjoyed my stay at Muri Retreat. all rooms are individually decorated with vibrant colours and artwork of the local culture. very cool and unique place. i would definately consider staying at Muri Retreat again if i get the opportuntiy to go back to Rarotonga :)

  • Liked — apartment style
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank megs_arana19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Hi. We stayed for 3 weeks at Muri retreat and had a wonderful relaxing time. It's a great location, close to Muri neach and restaurants etc, but also so quiet. Wonderful units, pool, bbq area and all you could wish for. Was great to be self contained and not have to get out of bed by 10.am for room service. Steve and Phoebe are great hosts, friendly and wonderful people. We will be back, miss the place so much, Kiti and Brucelee

  • Liked — Peaceful and convenient.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kiti1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2008

We have just recently spent 10 days relaxing at the Muri Retreat. We had great weather and spent a great portion of our time in the swimming pool. As Motel Managers we are very fussy about where we stay, and were very impressed with the standard of our accommodation. Our unit was very airy, and had the most amazing views. It was great having breakfast on the balcony looking out at the sea.
Phoebe and Steve were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We will certainly be back.
Colleen & Craig, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand.

  • Liked — Views, peace & Quiet
  • Disliked — Mozzies
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#32 of 77 in Rarotonga
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.1 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Retreat

Property: Muri Retreat
Address: Ambala Rd | Muri Beach Village, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Retreat is situated on a private tropical hillside surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens, overlooking the warm turquoise waters of Rarotonga's finest beach...Muri Beach. A peaceful place to relax and unwind. We are a small and friendly adults only self-catering holiday accommodation proudly offering 4 quality apartments that are stylish, comfortable and fully self-contained. Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, stunning sunrises, volcanic mountains, tropical rainforest and plantations.... all from your bed or private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Muri Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Retreat Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing