We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kids meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sails

Sails
Ranked #6 of 7 Restaurants in Muri
Price range: $7 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian, Fusion, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sails Restaurant sits absolute beach front overlooking Muri lagoon. A varied and creative menu to suit all tastes and special diets. Features live music twice weekly and a new bar on beachfront, the isoBar. Sails can cater to large groups and weddings, a unique and private venue with friendly professional staff. Happy hours daily, live sport on sky TV, wifi, and always lots of water sports to watch whilst eating or drinking.
Fox Glacier
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best kids meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely location! The kids feast was great! Nice to see a healthy kids meal and not just fish and chips. With fruit, salad, cheese, beef skewers it was great. The prawn and scallop Caesar salad was lovely

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsetmotellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    397
    208
    77
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Pretty ordinary fare, average service. Place is showing its age a bit, and the menu while limited was further curtailed as several items were unavailable. Found better quality, choice and prices elsewhere. BUT Nice location, plenty of parking and good views if the screens are up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average meal out ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this place is the fish rosti I would return for this only. We had the breads and dips - what a boring starter. Bland and flavourless. For my main I had the chicken pasta - it was cold in parts and in my opinion did not taste like it had fresh tomatoes in it, the olives had pips in them which meant you had to be careful when eating. The ran out of creme brûlée so I had the apple pie which was doughy and pretty average. This visit was a real disappointment for me. My partner had the lamb shank which was beautiful, maybe I just made bad menu choices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daneka_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great meal, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a really great time at Sails. The fish was excellent and the location great. The staff were knowledgeable about the menu and were cheerful. There was good live music on the night we went, and the bill for a main course and a drink for two was about $85.
Will go back to Sails if we return to Rarotonga

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalql8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice meal, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had dinner at Sails and decided with the lamp rump. It was cooked to perfection. The mash potato with it was very tasty. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Great location right on Muri Beach.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leese78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails also viewed

 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing