We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family day out”

Wingham Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Wingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wingham Wildlife Park is set within 26 acres in which we display over 200 different species... That is more than any other zoo in Kent! Including some species not seen anywhere else in zoos in the UK, Europe and even the world! As well as the all important animal collection we have 2 large play areas (both indoors and outdoors, making them fun all year), 2 restaurants (although one may be shut in the winter season) and a wide variety of animal talks, encounters and experiences!
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“family day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

well worth a visit we went there on a bank holiday monday didnt take long to get in even though ques were long, lots of animals to see, there were 11 adults and 11 kids and we all had a very good day, even hired a wheelchair for my dad and all you had to do was leave keys......would love to visit again

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    309
    88
    35
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is by far the best wildlife park in this area, very good value for money. So many improvements have been made here over the past few years, is almost unrecognisable from the bird park it used to be. My daughter had a birthday party here several years back, and this year she wanted to be keeper for the day, which she thoroughly enjoyed.The food can be a bit on the pricey side, but why not bring a picnic, plenty of places to sit and eat, just be aware you may get pestered by the odd chicken or peacock. Toilets could do with a bit of upgrading, but the childrens play areas are always a big hit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mainly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First the good news, there has obviously been quite a bit of investment here especially with the indoor soft play area/cafe which in modern and clean with plenty of seating and an ideal place to dodge a shower! The park itself is well laid out and caters well for wheelchairs so it's easy to get around and packs a lot into the given area. Ample parking also helps. Overall it represents good value for money compared to a nearby zoo! The only negatives, quite a few of the signs are missing from some cages/enclosures which leaves you guessing what the strange inmate actually is, secondly there's no mention on the website that the Prairie Dogs are no longer in residence having been removed during the harsh winter. These little cuties are real fun to watch and one of the main reasons for our visit. The latest attraction, a Red Panda, was briefly glimpsed as it made it's way into its box to sleep not to emerge again during our 3 + hour stay. According to the signage they are mainly nocturnal so unless you arrive early there's not much chance of seeing the much lauded Panda!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a great park, the layout was good for small children, loved the animals and birds, especially walking through the Flamingo enclosure. Children loved the play park which was great, also the soft play which was big and clean, toilets were not so good. Have marked this down by one star as the food was expensive but not good quality (for example cheap magnum type ice creams at a huge price, cheese sandwich made from very cheap bread etc at nearly £4) . As long as you bring your own food a great place to come to for the day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We love this place as a family, so much so we have purchased the annual pass. The park is constantly evolving with new things to see each time you go. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wingham Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Wingham Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing