We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2013

went back to the inn,John and the people were brillant.Very Friendly place ,food was brillant two
room very good,we had brillant time .Thank you John for making Denises few day there great.
Two friends came mike and pam,we had took them about the red lion inn.They really enjoyed the place and would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalenorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

we had 2 night stay last month and must sayi it was great, hotel full of history and rooms were excellent. Great sellection of local ales and the food was excellent.
Well worth a visit and highly recommended, staff friendly and secure car parking at rear of hotel.

Room Tip: all good choice and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owenracingteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the nearby Old Butchers B&B and enjoyed two evening meals at the Red Lion. They were good value for money with creative touches above your average pub grub style enhanced by well priced, well served beer and wine. The main bar is part of the former local court house with a log fire, extensive book shelves and a relaxing atmosphere. Further back is an agreeable restaurant area. With a good chef and a traditional welcome from the landlord this is a true English inn we shall return to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wendoverian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed over after a day trip to Calais, food was excellent . John and Sue extremely friendly and helpful . Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day ! The room was well equpped , plenty of tea and coffee and shower items . The pub is lovely , open fires and quirky pictures and books all around to view

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardle411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion and eaten in the restaurant many times over the past nine months. It now feels like our local. The staff and owners are so helpful and friendly, and the food is great. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever.

The inn is 'quirky' and many of the features are original. Books to look at on every shelf, lovely clean beds and bathrooms. All mod cons too with flat screen telly etc.

Love it!!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarytheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed over New Year the room was clean and well stocked with tea & coffee & shower bits.
There were plenty of nice towels aswell.The staff were very friendly & helpful. They said at first the bar menu was off but asked if there was any other food we could have before we went out they let us use the bar menu as there were only 3 of us.The food that came was good

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bealey146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as we were meeting friends for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Booked at very short notice and were very pleased with room . Very friendly and welcoming staff and huge and very attractive room . Bed was massive and extremely comfortable . Great breakfast ! Well worth the £85 .

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range: $74 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing