We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ye Olde Cutsie Inn-perfect”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My parents and I stayed here and loved it. The place has loads of character. Very impressed with how they have put modern plumbing into a 13th century building. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Good car parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

First arrived in the afternoon and all was very pleasant and atmospheric. Room was large and staff were friendly. We had booked 3 rooms so that we could all catch up with extended family nearby.

Arrived back at hotel around 10.30 and decided to go up to our rooms since we all had to head off early the next day. We were told the bar would close in half an hour.

2 and a half hours of very dodgy singing from the bar to Frank Sinatra and Robbie Williams amongst others resulted in some very grumpy guests. The singing actually wasnt untuneful but the music was very very loud.

The noise did not just carry to the room above the bar but to the other two rooms as well.
It was so bad we were ready to leave at 1am without paying! Obviously priority is given to selling drinks above guests in rooms.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the furthest room from the bar
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This our second visit to " The Red Lion" Wingham We stayed for 4 nights. 10 March - 15th March

The food is excellent, The staff make you feel so wellcome. The rooms are very comfortable.

Nothing is to much trouble for the staff. It is such a please to stay there. we invited some friends to come along on this trip as it was there wedding anniversary. They had such a fabulious 4 Days. We will all visit "The Red Lion " again soon.

YOU MUST TRY IT FOR YOURSELVES

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dali23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed there for one night and had a meal that was not to to a satisfactory standard for the price, the pasta was over cooked and the cream sauce tasted burnt. As the above comment it was a very noisey pub, and the landlord uses very bad language, the room was at the back of the pub not above the bar and could still hear a lot of noise coming from the bar even after 11pm including music. I would not stay there again and not recommend it to a frend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We booked a four night stay having seen their web page. We were looking forward to a relaxing stay in a period country inn with good food and comfortable and interesting surroundings. It was all as the Web site promised, the room( No 1) comfortable and spacious, en-suite OK, food excellent, very friendly Landlord and staff BUT it all came with with One Big Unacceptable Disappointment - the noise from the Bar each night.
Unfortunately the rooms are above the bar and being an old Inn (c1650) you are only separated from the noise by the floorboards - now I quite like Country and Western but 'Stand by your Man' coming at me thru' the floor at near midnight is not my idea of fun. So my conclusion is that if you have any interest in going to sleep any time before midnight, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heartlion, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Hi there IandDi,
Many thanks for your comments. We’re very pleased you enjoyed the food and service, and liked your room, but so sorry to hear that you were unhappy about noise when you stayed. As you say The Red Lion is a very old building and the sound of a busy bar can sometimes be overheard in nearby rooms during opening hours. We always aim to please and would gladly discuss your comments with you further if you wish. Many thanks again for your comments and custom.
Best wishes,
John & Sue, The Red Lion Wingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FotoFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingham
5.8 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
449 reviews
5.9 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,955 reviews
5.7 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Molland Manor House
1.4 mi away
The Duke William Ickham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: Canterbury Road, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Price Range: $74 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing