We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
bath
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I recently stayed at The Retreat and I was so pleased with the ambience, outlook and quality of the accomodation. Every detail had been considered, allowing us to relax and enjoy the break in the glorious kent countryside. In a word; perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbrisBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We found The Retreat quite by chance as we were trawling the web to find somewhere suitable for children, close to Howletts zoo and also a lovely standard for the adults! The Retreat was just perfect in every way. Beautifully clean and ready for our arrival with organic local produce in the fridge all we had to do was unpack our weekend bags! The kids rushed off to meet the pigs and chickens and check (frequently!!!) for fresh eggs as we instantly relaxed from our hectic London lives. Craig and Louise were perfect hosts and made us feel that we were old friends coming to stay and at the same time left us to get on with things. It was our son's 4th birthday (hence the zoo visit) and when the grandparents came back for birthday cake they too were impressed with the set up. Feeling rather exhausted from the travel down I slept on the crystal bed and think it was the best night's sleep since before I had children! Small touches such as beautiful bed linen and bath salts make you feel pampered and special. It just goes to show that is is possible to stay away with small children and also feel like adults. Weather was on our side for the whole weekend- the kids were outdoors and slept like babies in the car on the way home. A big bonus!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlumFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Witherdens Hall and I would like to say I will definitely be going back soon.
Louise and Craig were amazing hosts and Marilyn's reiki treatment is something not to be missed. It felt welcoming, homely to be here and utterfly peaceful.
We were among the first people to make use of the 'mini spa' facilities on site i.e. infra red sauna and steam bath (only 1 person use at a time) - not my cup of tea personally, but nice to have none the less.
Just few miles from here is a splendid, authentic Ayurvedic Spa for serious spa goers - check out tor spa.
The retreat place is thouroughly organic from the foodstuff to shower gels and dishwashing liquid, leaving you feeling quite nourished mentally and physcially.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpleandsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our own night stay at the retreat was perfect. Craig, Louise and Alice are an amazing family and we feel so privileged to have been treated like family during our short stay. We had an amazing rest and slept more soundly than we have in years. The perfect place to visit local farm shops, beautiful gardens and meet some of the ugliest, yet cutest pigs on the planet was the perfect escape from the city. We are already planning our return and were heartbroken to leave after such a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sag3London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

In a tranquil setting down a small country lane just out side the village of Wingham, Witherdens Hall is ideally located. Incredibly peaceful, it has the most relaxing atmosphere of anywhere we can recall staying, easing away those daily stresses that build up, leaving both my partner and i utterly chilled.
The accommodation was perfectly judged, combining a sense of space with an intimate feel.
Louise was a wonderful discreet host, there if needed.
We shall definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooby4wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The Retreat at Witherdens Hall is a fantastic place to relax and unwind. Set in a quiet village (you won't hear a sound) with light and immaculate rooms, comfy beds (one even has a healing bed where you will have your best nights sleep ever), modern bathroom and kitchen and lovely open plan sitting room with plenty of interesting books to read and DVD's to watch. Close to local farmers markets and many attractions - 10 minutes from fabulous beaches and great coastal towns where you can eat fantastic food. Go to Sandwich Bay and Whistable for day trips. We just loved our stay there, really felt at home and the hosts look after your every needs so we'll be sure to return again very soon. We would highly recommend to couples or families - or even if you want to go on your own to escape for a while.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The converted barn where we stayed was extremely clean, spacious and inviting. The friendly owner had left stunning stargazer lilies and freshly picked raspberries on the table for us and the kitchen was stocked with all the organic bread, milk and cereals you could wish to eat. The surrounding area was perfectly quiet and has a good local farm shop within walking distance. You can also organise for a local masseuse to treat you with various therapies where you say. I found this was the perfect place to relax and escape the stresses of London life.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingham
19.9 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat at Witherdens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Witherdens Hall

Property: The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
Address: Witherdens Hall Popsall Lane, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat offers an entirely bespoke experience in a tranquil space.• A beautiful cottage to stay in while visiting the historic area of East Kent.• Tranquility to rest and recharge your batteries• Space for mental exploration to identify the paths you want your work or home life to take in the future. • The opportunity to break through a creative or work block with an experienced executive coach. • Time to resolve a business imperative with an experienced business strategist ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Witherdens Hall Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing