We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Wingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a last-minute weekend stay at Witherdens Hall when I was looking to escape London for a peaceful retreat and some enforced relaxation. Being just 50 minutes from London on the train, Witherdens was a perfect choice and easy to get to on a Friday evening.

Set around beautiful gardens the Retreat, Work Space and Chill Space (where I stayed) provided a lovely tranquil setting. I spent the weekend swimming in the heated pool, sitting in the great infra red sauna (with my kindle), sitting in the garden and walking in the surrounding countryside.

The 3D massage and visualisation by Ben Barrett was brilliant, as was the reiki facial by Marilyn (who lives on the site). My time with both therapists was very enlightening.

The owner Louise was very welcoming and it was great to hear about her journey to starting The Retreat. A weekend at Witherdens was the perfect retreat from corporate life and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank StephU51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for The Retreat at Witherdens Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 98 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Retreat for 2 nights (3 days) and it is a wonderful oasis for the soul and body. Beautifully surroundings, inspirational guidance from Louise, the owner, and just fantastic treatments. Everybody there has your best interests at heart and you can be looked after, or left alone. I had the best Reiki session ever with Marilyn. If you want to stop, stand still in time and give your body and soul a rest this is a wonderful place to visit, but there is also plenty to do nearby if you want to walk, shop, look at the sea, and eat delicious food. And, of course, you have your very own spa facilities, on your doorstep, and just for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52JayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a midweek break during the recent snowy weather. The Retreat cottage is snug and warm, beautifully clean and well equipped for self catering. Everyone we met at Witherdens Hall was polite, helpful and friendly. The workspace looks perfect for the courses they hold here and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing. Would definitely return when the weather is better!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAFFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DragonKing'sDaughter, Owner at The Retreat at Witherdens Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you here with us. We are all delighted that you had such a good stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family came from the Netherlands to stay at Witherdens for the Christmas period to be close to us in the same lane. They had a wonderful surprise as the accomodation far exceeded their expectations considering the very reasonable pricing. They had everything they could possibly need as well as real comfort and many added touches. Much thought seemed to have gone into making things pleasing on the eye and the senses. They found it relaxing and a lovely place to retreat to when Christmas festivities became too much.
Although there was not enough time to use the spa facilities or book a massage at another time of year they hope to benefit from these extra treats.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank vicki e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a last-minute break away for us , so we were looking for comfortable accommodation in a pretty spot . We bagged a whole lot more ... Witherdens Hall has a special atmosphere , an energy which is hard to describe, one conducive to relaxation, peace and tranquility and yet energising and up-lifting . The Cook family needed all of the above ! Louise and Craig were fine hosts , with attention to every detail and passing whim of their guests (barbeques , highchairs provided when needed, very lovely brown labradors which we adopted for the duration of our stay, and where else does the owner lend you their car when your husband is working for the day ?!!) . Great personalised , enthused care and attention . Our kids Harvey and Rosa played beautifully with Alice , their daughter, who was very patient and kind with our 2 year old ! Chickens , gorgeous corn-fields , swimming pool , freshly arranged flowers in the retreat, and a great little spa with massage chair and steam shower all helped us to feel more and more relaxed and rejuvenated as the week went on . Then there was the gorgeous and very special Marilyn and Gary next door . Marilyn provided our family with love, warmth, friendship and the most powerful and profound reiki a girl could ask for .... Marilyn is one of the retreat's best assets (I threatened to whisk her away with us ) and definately one of many reasons to return .
A wonderful break - thank you ! :) xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful nights in the Cottage at Witherdens Hall. A warm welcome, real comfort in the Cottage with absolutely everything you could need, and all top quality (including an excellent choice of books!), and a lovely breakfast spread. The sauna, steam room, massage chair facilities were excellent, very relaxing and comfortable. We both had a great Indian Head massage from Steve, and again having that facility 5 metres from the Cottage really makes life easy. Everyone is so helpful, and the peace and quiet makes it an excellent short break, with restaurants, farm shops and everything to hand if you need them. Highly recommended.
Peter Hutchinson

Room Tip: Take the cottage, bright, comfortable, very spacious, beautifully appointed
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My weary husband and I spent a fantastic weekend at Witherden and met Louise and Marilyn the Reiki practitioner. I am heavily pregnant and still working so we needed to just escape, London- friends family and our own heads for a bit. Louise was so lovely and made every effort possible to make this healing weekend happen for us. To be honest the birdsong in the morning would have done the trick in itself, without the whirlpool bath, fluffy towels and warm welcome. The reading material around the cottage lured us both into a deep state of quiet and reflection We had a Reiki session with Marilyn and 3 weeks later we both keep remarking on energy levels and sense of wellbeing, Really amazing sessions and a truly wonderful woman. We cannot wait to return here and plan to do the reiki one trainin later in teh year, or any other training that gives us the excuse to return to this magical place.Deepest thanks. Sue Matthews/Andrew Bromley

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wingham
5.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
5.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
6.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dog at Wingham
The Dog at Wingham
#1 of 5 in Wingham
115 reviews
6.8 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 74 in Canterbury
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat at Witherdens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat at Witherdens Hall

Address: Witherdens Hall Popsall Lane, Wingham, Canterbury CT3 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Wingham
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wingham
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Retreat offers an entirely bespoke experience in a tranquil space.• A beautiful cottage to stay in while visiting the historic area of East Kent.• Tranquility to rest and recharge your batteries• Space for mental exploration to identify the paths you want your work or home life to take in the future. • The opportunity to break through a creative or work block with an experienced executive coach. • Time to resolve a business imperative with an experienced business strategist ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat At Witherdens Hall Wingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing