We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view in the middle of the Bucegi National Park”
Review of Hotel Pestera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pestera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moroeni
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fantastic view in the middle of the Bucegi National Park”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been there with a friend for the 7500 marathon.

We like:
- the location in the middle of the Bucegi National Park. You can start from the hotel a trail and within 3 hours you can reach the "Omu" summit.
- the hotel itself is charming and with the right level of comfort,
We did not like:
- the road from bucharest is long. If you take the road via Targoviste, , you will have part of forrest road for the last 30km and you will need at leat 1h30 to make it.
- the price of the food is expensive in the restaurant and in the area it is almost the only solution you have
- the bathroom which is not at a satisfactory level.

Overall, a great experience there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baptiste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
26
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in May. Room was a bit on the small side and beds could be better, but bathroom was nice and overall it was a good stay in beautiful location. Staff was helpful. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oeliram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtmacsherry
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I would say that I stayed in the best appointed room of all hotel rooms, I ever stayed in.
Total comfort and wonderful decor. The view of the mountains in snow was terrific.
The food was excellent , especially the evening event held in the wooden circular area with a lamb cooked on a spit and hot mulled wine.

Food in hotel very good, only complaint was the tea at breakfast, which came from an urn and was cool. The coffee was excellent. Terrific fast free broadband. Friendly staff and amazing value. Long bumpy drive in from the main road,but worth it. Highly recommended as a summer destination for walking. Hotel spotless and I liked the warning at the door to be aware that there are wild bears in those woods. Spa pool is small but they have a swimming machine to swim.

Room Tip: I guess the higher the floor the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love the location, It's perfect if you want a break into the wild.

The hotel is basic, but good value for money.
The rooms need a little bit more heating during night time as my radiator was on full but the room was not as warm as I want it to be.

The view is incredibly beautiful and you can really relax. The area is nice and clean, I've been for a walk around and it's lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is build at an altitude of 1600m in the Bucegi Mountains. One is surrounded by virgin forests and landscapes. The staff is very welcoming and the restaurant serves great food. The hotel is comfortable and suits the needs of everyone. This is a great place to go with a group of friends or travel with your family. Although the hotel is located in a remote area it is very well supplied and offers services at a high standard, there is nothing that is missing from a modern life.

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and highly recommend it for families, couples, group of friends etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvSeekEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Join with family and friends, good times , friendly staff, very clean in the room, very nice view, is the fifth time here, good improvement. . . (No more rude waiters) and I noticed few painting s on the wall in spa and a few changes in general and is very good. "Papanasi...very tasty", breakfast very good, and consistent, zacusca excellent, the bread choice can be improved. The house keeping girls very careful with the room ( very happy with the cleaning) In the meantime was very good. Thanks

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 30august
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Holiday spent at H. Pestera, Moroeni. A picturesque, quiet hotel clean, neat (in some places would be renovated, is still a mountain hotel is administered quite difficult due to weather conditions sometimes quite heavy). Rooms are acceptable in size, cleanliness. The staff are friendly and good sense to limit the responsiveness of the tourist desires, regardless of origin, social class, etc, etc ... Dining in a restaurant'' Gourmet'', which serves everything that has in menu.
The hotel also has a small spa place, pool, appliances (that works), etc..
If time allows, there are plenty of sights in the area surrounding Babele, Piatra Arsa, Cabana and Lake Bolboci, Padina, Ialomitei + the Hermitage Pestera area, there are many, many fine and pleasure to wear your steps through these places.
You can use the cable (if not too strong wind), to reach the plateau from Babele, or by car, the road is partially paved. The area has a huge turistic potential.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moroeni
5.2 mi away
Ioana Hotel
Ioana Hotel
#1 of 27 in Sinaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.8 mi away
Vila Retezat
Vila Retezat
#4 of 27 in Sinaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Transylvania
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel International Sinaia
7.9 mi away
Lux Garden Hotel
Lux Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Azuga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Hillden Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestera

Property: Hotel Pestera
Address: Parcul Natural Bucegi Cota 1600, Moroeni, Romania
Location: Romania > Southern Romania > Dambovita County > Moroeni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moroeni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pestera 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pestera Is situated in the National Park of Bucegi at 1600 meters altitude, in the immediate vicinity of tha Pestera Ialomicioarei Monastary. It currently has 49 rooms ranging from 57 to 69 euro per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pestera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing